We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gothia Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gothia Towers to your Saves list
Gothia Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Gothenburg
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Very disappointed!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Begin with the positive things:

* No extra charge for room service if you live in a Sky room.
* Very kind, helpful staff everywhere.
*Fantastic restaurats and bars.
*Felt very safe and comfortable at the hotel.
*Details such as bathing products, low costs at the mini bar. That the door to the mini bar was hidden.
*Really comfortable beds and bed sheets.
* A very cool lobby, elevaters, restaurants, beautiful view.

The negative things:

*Began with a standard room which proved to be ful. A lot of plastic details and the materials looked really cheap, like IKEA furniture. I was supposed to have view over Ullevi but could hardly see it at all.
*The bathroom looked like a cabin at a ordinary flat.
* When I upgraded to next level, a Sky room, it was basically like the first room. It costed 300 SEK to upgrade. The only different thing was that you got free room service.
*When I wanted to upgrade one level from the Sky room, the concierge told me that it basically thesame and that they did not have any available rooms until next week.
* The breakfast was not anything special at all. The food was wrapped in plastic and looked like airplane food.
* The ice machine and the ice bucket were absolutely ugly.
* If it weren´t for the special rates I would run to the next hotel as fast as I could...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    378
    158
    50
    23
See reviews for
169
222
46
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Currently there are 2 two towers with the third well on the way to completion. Its convenient to the centre of Gothenburg , Amusement park and the Exhibition centre is also located in the building. The hotel is comfortable and well run - there are 3 restaurants catering for all tastes( all relatively expensive)
I was given a room in the second tower - a nice well appointed room. it was typically Swedish, functional, simple and modern.

I did have one MAJOR complaint - work men started in an adjacent room at 6.30am - negating the main reason i decided to stay at the property - (staying here gave me an extra hour in bed)

my complaint was dealt with and i was moved the second night to the older of the 2 towers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I agree with some of the previous posts, the hotel is tall, shiny and stands out. It's in a good position for transport links, or a short walk (15 mins or so) to town. My only but is that if you up on the top floors I am sure the view is amazing, however on the 5th floor we had a great view of the neighbours roof & air conditioning unit! So if you're going ask for a high floor! The highest you can get without having to pay more! The big plus was that it is tidy, clean enough, though not immaculate, but the breakfast is a real treat! Lots of choice, fresh and very clean area. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. A nice hotel in a lovely city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very clean, very simple rooms(no surprise, very ikea). Great buffet breakfast but the real pull is the top of the hotel bar. Amazing views over the city and great drinks(old fashioned is recommended). If you can get a room sub £70 then you've a bargain. Good location too.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the view, duh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I agree with Totti K If you are at the conference centre next door, it is an ideal location and as mgips says it is a giant IKEA. It is clean, minimalist, tidy and efficiently run. all of the staff were helpful and friendly. as poplar cottage says the safe on the floor is a bit of bind, especially when that area is not well lit.
My only complaint would be the (i think it is called) Dream 23 bar on the 23rd floor, which was understaffed for the amount of people using it.
Oh, and no swimming pol or gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki - Finland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying one night at Gothia towers hotel in Gothenburg in April.

I attended a conference in the same block and was extremely pleased over room, price and especially service.

Connection to the exhibition and conference are was effortless due to direct access from the hotel lobby to the conference area.

Room was very basic, nothing fancy, but decent rate and everything worked. Wireless was free. Television could have had more channels, only news channels, but since I had no time to watch it besides late evening, it did not matter too much.

On the 23rd floor there is a nice bar and restaurant, which I recommend to try and see for a beer if nothing else.

But the reception staff was great, best thing in the hotel - absolutely. Nice, helpful and very attentive. Made a great impression when I arrived and same thing as when I check out.

Room Tip: There is a construction going on in the hotel. If you plan on sleeping late, make sure you ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Gothia Towers could be the official IKEA hotel. It covers a vast amount of territory and holds large spaces, but those spaces are well traveled by the hordes. Aesthetically, the hotel has a clean, minimalist look, which I came to like: blonde wooden floor, blonde furniture, low bed with simple bedding, and a design that attempts to maximize the impression of space. Overall, my room, and most everything else, was ruthlessly clean.

The other standout is the free, fast, and powerful wifi throughout the hotel and even in the adjoining conference center and around the outside perimeter. I was able to Face Time my wife in the US and the reception was perfect, with minimal interference. Only in the elevators could you lose wifi service.

Breakfast is the make or break point between 3 and 4 stars. The first day I ate in the general dining area on the 2d floor, which can be summed up in two words: cattle call. The big tables reminded me of a college dining hall, only without all the options. The second day I upgraded to concierge class, or whatever they call it, and dined in Heaven 23 on the top floor. I'd equate it to the difference between an airline business class lounge and the general seating at the gate. The room was much smaller and less crowded, and there was plenty of personal service. I can't recall if the actual food was different, but it certainly was more available, more attractive, and less picked through in Heaven 23. If you like turkey, try the sliced turkey breast they serve at breakfast. Along with the hard-boiled eggs, it's a good way to get lean protein in the morning.

Everything else in the hotel was good to very good. Despite someone commenting that the hotel is in an austere neighborhood with few restaurants around, if you head in the right direction there are several excellent restaurants within a few blocks, including Dinner 22 and Meet (which I also reviewed if you're interested).

The elevators are touch and go. If the hotel is crowded, you might have to let a couple pass by. I resorted to taking the express elevator (along the outside of the tower) to 23, then taking one of the four "local" elevators down to my floor.

The only other element worth commenting on is the gym situation. They are apparently building a sizable health club, but in the meantime they have a small room containing just a single bicycle and treadmill. Even then, they have to escort you to the room to let you in. This is inexcusable in such a big hotel. The saving grace is that you can buy a pass to a gym around the corner (5 minute brisk walk) for 45 kr (about $7.50). It mostly contains free weights and weight machines, with only 3 treadmills, bikes, and elliptical machines apiece. You also need to bring your own towel. Other than that it gets the job done.

I would stay here again, but only if I could eat breakfast on the 23d floor

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gothia Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothia Towers

Address: Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gothia Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothia Towers have over 700 rooms and 4 restaurants and bars and is located in central Gothenburg, right in the thick of things on Korsvagen, just a couple of blocks from the restaurants and nightclubs on fashionable Avenyn. We are close to the city centre with excellent transport links, right next to Scandinavia's biggest amusement park Liseberg, Scandinavium and everything the entertainment district has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gothia Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gothia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gothia Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.