We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gothia Towers

Save Saved
You added Gothia Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gothia Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 65 hotels in Gothenburg
Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our family really enjoyed this hotel. It was well situated in walking distance to downtown and only a few steps away from Liseberg and Universum .The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful.
We came early hoping for an early check in, but the room wasnt ready before 16.00 local time. They stored our luggage while we enjoyed ourself at Liseberg the whole day.

Room was nice and clean. Had a great view over the amusement park Liseberg. Splendid! Quiet and comfort room.

The breakfast buffet had lots of options and was delicious. An especially good hotel for families.

Good parking options.

P.s We recieved a mail within couple of days.The hotelsecurity manager, Inger Hansson, apologized for the waiting time. Great service!

Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    336
    123
    39
    17
See reviews for
84
139
37
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I spent a couple of nights here and it was well worth the money as my wife and I had a very enjoyable stay, despite several thousand excited teenagers staying in the hotel and surrounding area taking part in the Gothia Football World Cup 2011.

Modern, the Towers stood out as the tallest building, so was easy for us to find just off the motorway as we were driving there. Parking costs extra but is well managed. A bus station is nearby with very reliable trams and buses.

Reception staff were very welcoming, professional and were fluent in English. We stayed on the 7th floor having been offered the 21st - the view wasn't as good (but still good), but the quick lifts did struggle to ferry a hotel full of guests quickly so a lower floor helped ensure we didn't waste too much time in lobby halls.

Our room was n't the biggest but was of a high standard and with en-suite was relaxing and clean, with internet access. We had breakfast delivered to our room - this arrived on the dot and was excellent. Order enough and you'll have your lunch too. Order too much and you can store some in the mni-fridge.

Coffee and a 'free' mexican buffet were provided in the ground floor bar and restaurant.

It was disappointing nor to eat in the 23rd floor restaurant as we hadn't booked, although the hotel literature didn't suggest this was necessary. Teenagers running around the corridors at 1-2am briefly woke us, but otherwise our stay was quiet and relaxed.

I'd stay again in this lovely welcoming hotel and city.

Room Tip: if you want a great view of Gothenberg go for the higher floors, but the lower ones for quick and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here one night travelling through Gothenburg. The location is really great and the view overlooking the Liseberg amusement park is wonderful.

The rooms were great, but breakfast service was very crowded and disorganized. But all in all, we'll be back:)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The location of this hotel cannot be faulted with easy access to the city & very close to the Lisberg. I usually stay here when I am in Gothenburg on business as facilities are good, rooms, whilst a bit small are more than adequate. Bathroom in room was a bit "tired" and pillows could be better, but at least you can make a cup of tea or coffee in your room. Excellent extensive buffet breakfast. Lifts can be slow. Not often you find a hotel which caters well for families & business travel in the same location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

You cannot beat the location of Gothia Towers. There is a bus/tram station right outside the exit. But also it is within a 20min walking distance of the centre of town. If you're looking for a bit of fun the Liseberg amusement park is on the other side of the street and the Universum Rainforest/Zoo is also in the vicinity. The rooms are nice, nothing extraordinare, but what you expect from a hotel this class and price range. If you a lucky enough to get a room on one of the higher floors, you'll have an outstanding view of the city. In any case give yourself the experience of going to the restaurant and bar at the top floor. Service was outstanding and all requests was met with a smile, and rooms was always kept clean.

Room Tip: As high as possible with view of city and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

They first impressions are everything. Well on arriving at Hotel our reservation was confirmed but our other family member was not listed as arriving until 2 days later in spite of the fact we had confirmation from our agent. They said hotel was full.We were tired and after 30 minutes getting minutes of getting very upset and my daughter saying she needed to sleep after a long journey and did they want her to sleep on the floor they eventually allocated a room. They said a manager would be on duty the next morning.

My wife checked our room which had a dreadfull outlook over roofs and considering we were staying for 10 days this was not on. They again aventually allocated us a room with a decent view.

As to the rooms they are acceptable and clean and typical of Swedish decor and thus functional.

Is this 5 star. Not really.

We then asked about getting an evening meal and were told their restaurants were fully booked but we could try turning up. We tried the Italian and they asked if we had booked and kept us waiting ansd then said they had a table. When we sat down many tables were empty and never got occupied. As to the food this was not exactly typical Italian and somewhat off the wall stuff more like Heston Blumental. Taking into account we were tired and had a bad reception experience we had hoped for something better now. However the service was snail pace and food portions sosmewhat minute and pricey. Would I recommend their Italian restaurant, No.

The next morning at reception again no manager available and it seems the front reception staff have to deal with everything and frankly this was just not good customer relations and we were let down from the onset.

breakfast was acceptable and good quality and some of the staff both friendly and helpful.

Overall this Hotel seems more geared to conferences and so probably they do not to worry to much about individual travellers and the service they require.

We tried eating out and the service and quality were far superior and prices much lower.

Room Tip: Make sure you get rooms overlooking the Liseberg grounds and on highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Hotel Gothia Towers is a spectacular hotel in a great location, right across from Liseberg (amusement park). The town is a little sleepy at night, but may be more lively on weekends. High rooms have a great view, especially those facing the unique Liseberg grounds, which are especially pretty at night with tens of thousands of lights. The rooms are very well appointed with some of the best furnishings and bathrooms that I experienced anywhere in Scandinavia (including two pillows on each bed). Wired Internet in rooms isn't terribly fast, but works well nonetheless. The breakfast is quite good, especially the one in Heaven restaurant on the 23rd floor, which is only available to those with higher executive rooms. The staff is incredibly accommodating, though the front desk staff (there's no concierge) doesn't seem to know the city well in terms of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gothia Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothia Towers

Address: Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#15 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gothia Towers 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothia Towers have over 700 rooms and 4 restaurants and bars and is located in central Gothenburg, right in the thick of things on Korsvagen, just a couple of blocks from the restaurants and nightclubs on fashionable Avenyn. We are close to the city centre with excellent transport links, right next to Scandinavia's biggest amusement park Liseberg, Scandinavium and everything the entertainment district has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gothia Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gothia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gothia Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.