We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large room, iffy location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falkenbergsgatan 3 | and Molndalsvagen, Gothenburg 412 85, Sweden (Formerly StayAt Gothenburg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% discount
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“large room, iffy location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Large room with no clock and no coffee/tea however have microwave, fridge. The location is iffy at best, as they share a parking lot with a second hand store and supermarket. In fact once we found the hotel, we would not even go in, as the neighborhood did not look very safe. We were unable to find another hotel in town so we ventured back to this property figuring it was 1 night only. Once inside the hotel was decent, 3 star in US standards. However had quite a few gluten free options at breakfast which was a plus. This hotel is not center city and will have to drive about 2 miles, or take train to get to town

Room Tip: Do not expect to walk downtown from this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    96
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
87
33
6
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Estocolmo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here two nights, two adults and two kids. We are used to different types of standards as we travel at least two-three times a year around the world and always try to find best value for money. That is, not luxurious but still clean and fresh. Now to the problems (at 1400 sek/night these issues do not exist at other hotels):

1) Breakfast: Tables left dirty, food was not fresh, fruit was from tins, orange juice was not fresh, unhygienic self service

2) Room: room was not cleaned during stay, floors were left dirty, beds were not made, missing toilet paper, bathroom was not cleaned, shower left dirty, sink dirty, toilet as well.

The explanation we got was that this was custom for them!?

Please avoid this hotel or at least ask at reception to get a money back guarantee in case they fail on these two issues!

Both adults ended up with bad stomach, of course not possible to prove it was from the breakfast...

Best regards

Fellow travellers

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

For our stay we stayed in the suit with the sauna, which was an awesome additional. The room was large, with a bedroom with 2 single beds, and a pull out sofa, a kitchen, living area and large windows. The room was clean and modern, and service was excellent. The only downsides were the lack of air conditioning (although a fan was provided), reasonably limited breakfast options and limited amount of TV channels (ie, limited sports channels for tennis). Overall our stay was a pleasant one and the cost of the room was reasonable. We would happily stay here again, if our stay didn't coincide with Wimbledon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is very good value. The room has a small kitchen, with fridge, microwave and hotplate and is equipped for 4 people. Ideal for preparing light meals.The hotel is above a large supermarket which is very handy. The room was spotless. Buffet breakfast was included in the price with a good selection of food.The front of house staff were very friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is not in the city centre the tram station is very close with a frequent service.
The theme park is only a few stops from the hotel or a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We chose to stay in this hotel during my husband’s official tour to Gothenburg, wherein I accompanied him for 2 weeks; & our experience was really memorable. Though not centrally located, it’s very close to the tram station. Hence, it was very convenient for me to move around on my own even when my husband left for office. Every room has a kitchenette & we mostly prepared the supper time meals ourselves. They have a restaurant but the food is typical Swedish, as such not so suitable for Indian taste; & expensive too. The rooms are quite luxurious & very spacious too; at times our room was a little noisy though, since it was road-facing. Their service is best in class, very prompt in everything; we asked for an iron-box & they immediately provided. Cost-wise also I feel it’s very, very reasonable, it came to around INR 4K per night, unlike most other places in Europe. Another good thing about this hotel is that they provide free cycles to move around the city! Overall we had a wonderful experience & we look forward to staying there again if we visit Gothenburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is located some what outside city center (ca 10 min by taxi). It is in an industrial part within a supermarket complex. Not many restaurants around.
The rooms are well appointed and have a kitchen.
The lunch restaurant is pretty average.

Would recommend this hotel for a long stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Nordjylland, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A perfect hotel where every room is actually a small "appartment". Equipped with a small kitchen so you are able to prepare simple meals. The hotel is clean, and the staff is friendly. It most certainly can be recommended, the only downside is the quality of the pillows. They are probably the cheapest ones you can find. Synthetic and not very good for the neck. Other then that - perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen

Address: Falkenbergsgatan 3 | and Molndalsvagen, Gothenburg 412 85, Sweden (Formerly StayAt Gothenburg)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen!Our 149 fresh hotel rooms vary in size from 32 to 60 square meters. All rooms are equipped with their own cooking facilities. If you choose one of our superior rooms you can enjoy a roof terrace view facing Gothenburg's event street. In our suites you get the opportunity to enjoy your own sauna.The hotel offers conference rooms, relax facilities, laundry and a restaurant. There is also a supermarket in the building, perfect if you want to cook for yourself in your room. Even if you are here for business or enjoying time off with family or friends, there is every opportunity for a great stay with us.From the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen, the heart of Gothenburg's event street is within 15 minutes walk, with Liseberg, The Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre and Scandinavium as pearls on a string. If you prefer to take a tram The Avenue is just minutes away.Our 24 hour reception service ensures your best possible stay. All rooms have dining area, sofa beds, bathrooms, with fully equipped cooking facilities, coffee & tea, flat screen TV, a hairdryer, an iron & ironing board and Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.