We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Merlot

Bistro Merlot
Engelbrektsgatan 34, Gothenburg 411 37, Sweden
+4631201021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 797 restaurants in Gothenburg
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Last week, I made a reservation @ Bistro Merlot, as it was my birthday, the owner gave me a very warm welcome and sugessted me to take the lamb as main course.

The lamb was delicious, so good, it melted in my mounth, so good. This is something when you are in the area, you have to taste.

Once again, I was surprised of all the delicious and find food that i got served!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    71
    31
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Last week I have visited Bistro Merlot together with my girlfriend. We got a warm welcome from the owner and good guiding when ordering our meal.

Althoug there were a lot of people, we were not left alone and contiously we got the attention from the personel to keep us updated about the food and the surroundings and what was going on in Gothenburg.

The food was served very good, we ordered the chicken and the duck. Both were excellent. Specially the duck that in some restaurants can be dry, had a very good taste. After that there was time for the dessert and the Choclate fondue, that is just wonderfull.

Nice place to hang out, they serve the food very quicly and with high quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Small and nice place. Very friendly staff, even when the restaurant was filled with customers, the waitor still was attending to our table in the corner. The food was great, with a very nice presentation. Located near the main street. Only dislike, if important to you, is that the view from the restaurant is into a boring crossing street from "avenyen".
Note: when we got there the restaurant was almost empty and they had sent home a waitor, but only a hour later the place was packed and they had to call the waitor back. Probably ok without reservation, but would not take the risk on a cold swedish night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“small but very cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Been here several times during my visits to Goteborg and I have never been disappointed . Good food and drinks for a fair price. Nice to sit , only inside as the terrace is not very big . But recommendable and You should try it too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was recommended this by a friend of mine who lives in Gothenberg. It was a little over priced but the food was really good and the staff were great. I would recommend this to anyone and I will be back again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Merlot also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Bistro Merlot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Merlot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.