We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamnplan, Varberg 432 44, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Fregatten)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was happy with my stay at Scandic Fregatten.
The hotels location is great, you might even have a view over the harbor, depending on your room.
The hotel appears to be fresh and modern, however you can tell that its not the latest and greatest.
Of course it is nice with the free dinner. That really made me come over to Clarion being a Scandic frequent guest lately. They really spent effort on variety and freshness of the food.
Another highlight is the whirlpool and Sauna in my opinion. Ssshhh: They even offer free beer here ;-) Could you imagine a more relaxing situation after a stressful day?
But a big minus during my stay in room 203 is the cleanliness.
I don't know if the cleaning lady had a bad day almost every day, but it was dusty and dirty whenever I came "home" during that week. She doesn't dare to refill toiletries either.
A bit sad. Otherwise I would have given a 5 star rating perhaps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    51
    25
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
48
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goteborg
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In this hotel chain, all of the "Collection hotels" offer a free dinner buffet. Have never been able to understand the logic between the hotels with free dinner or the other ones in the same chain.... Prices are about the same. This vegetarian has always been pleased with the selection. And price! This hotel is quite well situated for visiting the city, walking 200 m to the harbor and catching the fishing boat,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

On a cold snowy night my satnav took me to this hotel, arriving at 11pm it was a beacon and I was very glad to arrive. A large very Scandinavia styled hotel next to the railway station and in the heart of town. Great service on check in, large room with wet room, bar and Internet. Breakfast was great with huge selection on the hot and cold buffet. Mine was a flying visit but I will stay again if I find myself in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the train station side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landskrona
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent two nights here for a weekend in the end of August and had all in all a very nice stay. The rooms are more than 3 stars, but are dragged down a bit by the not so good ventilation system and two other things; "thick TV" and only dispensers in the bathroom.

Cleaning and householding very good. Breakfast excellent and other service pleasant. Location is great, with proximity to the ferries to Denmark, city centre and the famous fortress. You can also walk, in a few minutes to the railway station. So for those arriving without a car, this option is perfect. However, for us the proximity to the railway station wasn't that good. We had a room facing the railway tracks, 25 metres away. And with comuter trains and freight trains running around the clock it was difficult to get a good nights sleep, especially considering the fact that we had to have the windows open due to the previously mentioned under-dimensioned ventilation system.

The beds where nice and comfy, but the pillows a bit "uncosy". But, extra pillows, which is nice.

Corridors of the hotel had wall to wall carpets to it was quiet and the corridors were filled with historical and interesting objects from the harbour. Very nice.

This would to me be a 4 * hotel if it weren't for 3 things: Only dispensers in bathroom, poor ventilation in room and "thick" TV. Rooms were very fresh!

Room Tip: Go for rooms to the west! Then you will not have to think about being disturbed by trains during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Due to an error by another hotel in Varberg, we were saved by the Fregatten!
The rooms are a good size, well decorated and the beds are very comfortable. We had rooms overlooking the railway and didn't hear the trains at all during the day or night whilst in the room. There is a lot of choice for breakfast, but it's not the biggest of breakfast areas for the number of hotel rooms it has. We went up to the spa on the 3rd floor (where the gym is also situated) and used the sauna and jacuzzi. However, they do not provide towels and my friends and I had a cold walk back to our rooms as we were not aware that you have to take the towels from your room up to the jacuzzi and sauna! Price wise, it was slightly cheaper than the other hotel we were going to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayutthaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great hotel for vacation and business.
Nice and clean rooms with comfortable double beds in double rooms (double top mattress).
Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner from buffet. Wide selection from breakfast buffet, great bred, rolls and a lot of bio products. Dinner buffet is often one hot dish accompanied by cold cuts, cheese and fruit.
"Barista" area with gourmet coffe, laté and teas available 24 h.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Fregatten is a decent hotel, but nothing more. The rooms are spacious and clean,, and their breakfast is quite good. On the negative side is the location just next to the railway - if you get a room facing the railway, you can expect to be waken up quite early. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or any room service, but rather a dinner buffet in the evening. The buffet is ok, but you get fed up if you stay more than a few days. For business travelers, their laundry service is quite poor - they simply have the clothes washed, but not ironed. In other words - quite useless.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten

Address: Hamnplan, Varberg 432 44, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Fregatten)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Varberg
Varberg Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.