We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comwell Varbergs Kurort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comwell Varbergs Kurort to your Saves list
Comwell Varbergs Kurort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nils Kreugers v. 5 | Box 152, Varberg 43253, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Picture Perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Came all the way from South Africa and have never experienced a hotel as beautiful, peaceful, or accommodating as this one. The staff were incredibly friendly and the food was heavenly! The breads and the deserts hit the spot, however, they never made us feel guilty. The salad buffet was exceptional, with tremendous variety! The restaurant staff were prompt, dedicated, and downright lovely. An overall picture perfect experience. We will definitely recommend Sweden, Varberg, Kurort to our friends and family in South Africa!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    55
    41
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
88
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent our wedding anniversary at Varbergs Kurort and made the most of the saunas and pools. It's a nice place to relax and a beautiful location by the sea.

The buffet dinner was very nice, better quality than most buffets I have been to! And buffet breakfast was also good, the warm dishes were fresh and had a good variety although they could have had a few more different cheeses & meats.

Parking was a bit of a problem - day trippers to the beach had taken up all the parking spaces although they're not supposed to - there was a parking guard who wasn't really doing her job. If you have to park somewhere odd, ask in reception for a permit to display in the windscreen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grindsted
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Varbergs Kurort is placed very nice 25 m from the sea. Has got very nice facilities for relaxation, wellness and different forms for training. Ok breakfast - not one of the best I have seen but ok. Nice and quiet place. If you like jogging you find some very nice jogging routes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkenberg, Sweden
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our team came to the hotel for a two day conference and started off with a lunch buffet.
The buffet was really nice with a number of options to choose from. No problems to find your favourites. After lunch we went for the conference room located in another building. The afternoon coffee was served in connection with the conference room. There was a selection of things to eat including fresh fruits, juice, cakes etc. The service in the conference quarter was really good. Our rooms were located in a building close to the main building. The rooms in this “Villa” were of good size, nice bathroom and nice bed. The pillows are the only thing to complain about. In the evening or team had a pre ordered dinner. The food was tasteful and the service was good. The next morning there was breakfast buffet with a great selection of breakfast food. The only complain was that the traditional egg and bacon was changed to egg and bacon that was clustered together in a “pancake” without taste. I have been a guest in this hotel/spa before and it’s a nice place to stay for a couple of days and it’s a good place for relaxation and “battery” charge. The location by the see is really nice and is a walking distance from city centre of Varberg.

Room Tip: Rooms at the "Villa" are of better standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Booked a one-night stay with spa and training with a friend. We didn't make use of the trainingfacities since I've been there once before alone, for a two-night stay. Unfortunately I started to get a cold so the sauna should do wonders. There were lots of people and not everywhere at the spa saunas were places available. When I was there 7 years ago the steamcabine had a ceiling with stars... At least what I can remember.
The dinner, buffet was good had I been Ble to eat any of the main courses. I couldn't, lactose intolerance, but the professional staff ordered a lactose free main course plus dessert for me. I felt special with this kind attention. So I enjoyed the food and was impressed by the personnell.
Breakfast: unfortunately no cheese that I could eat. The rest was perfect.
The room was small, rundown, the shower very small and should be re-done. Due to my cold I couldn't sleep at all, but it was a nice stay and I recommend this hotel and spa but be aware, lots of children around!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddevalla, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic place if you want a wellnes spa experience just by the sea. My wife and I stayed here over our last wedding aniversary. Try at least one of the spa offers it is fantastic.
Both the evening bufé and breakfast are just fantastic, and really worth the price.

Take the time and go for a walk/jogging trip along the seaside.

Room Tip: Don´t book the so called "Suit". Much better with a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is my second visit within a year at Varbergs kurorts. This time we accepted a weekend offer without using the spa facilities. We came to the hotel at Friday afternoon and started off with a coffe and and a nice chocolate cake in the bar nearby the reception. It's very nice to sit and look out over the sea and just relax.
The room we recevied was located in the main building and was a quite small room with a shower made for extemely slender people. It was impossible to turn around without hitting the walls. The interior in the bathroom was not inspiring.
Before dinner we went to the gym to exercise. They have a well equiped gym with many different machines. No problems to find your favourites.
For the dinner we choosed the buffet as it was very good last time. This time it wasn't the same level. It seems they are afraid of salt and spices. The food looks very good but you often find it quite tasteless. They have a big buffet and it really looks good. The best was the duck breast the pasta and the clam chowder. The dessert and the cheeses looked good but didn't taste a thing.
The breakfast had also high and lows. The bread, the yougurts and the cherry jam was very good. The cheeses didn't taste a thing and the juice was more water than juice.

To summarize: We still like the hotel but we think they need to step up in order to have us to come back.

Room Tip: Try the annex. It is a little walk from the main building but the rooms are large and have a high st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comwell Varbergs Kurort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comwell Varbergs Kurort

Address: Nils Kreugers v. 5 | Box 152, Varberg 43253, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comwell Varbergs Kurort 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Comwell Varbergs Kurort. Nowhere is the spa tradition more important than at Varbergs Kurort on Sweden’s west coast. There has been spa activity here for more than 200 years and the guests continue to pour in as much for the experience as for the innovative ideas. We believe that is one of the reasons we have received awards such as Europe’s Best Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Comwell Varbergs Kurort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comwell Varbergs Kurort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.