We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel, opposite the railway station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Best Western Plus Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsgatan 44, Halmstad SE-302 45, Sweden   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Halmstad
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel, opposite the railway station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

I had a spacious room on the top floor, and the wireless internet worked well and was free. Decent service and a 10 minute walk to the city center. The breakfast was good. My only complaint was the slow checkout process.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
16
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The trains keep you up all night, especially the freight trains which tend to move through around 4am. There is no airconditioning, so you have to choose between fresh air and sound pollution from the trains. The rooms are very, very modest in size and furnishing, the common areas resemble an ageing college dorm.. Worst price/value for your money hotel in the world.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronneby, Sweden
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This hotel are good situated straight over from the train station and 10 min walking distance to town centre. Noice free so no problem from the station. Good parking oppertunities on the street outside (free during evenings/nights, half of Saturday and all of Sundays). An above average swedish standard breakfast included in the price. Nice personnel. The only setback is the "free" internet. Free - yes, but very slow and the signal strength is very low all over the place. But besides this, the hotel are a solid choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We were a bit dissappointed when we arrived on a hot summer day. The room was warm and stuffy, and there was no air conditioning. The maid should've opened the window a bit at least. And our room was also quite small.

One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because of the advertised free internet. But we soon discovered that it as so s-l-o-w. It was impossible to use. We asked if it was possible to upgrade the internet. And it was, at an extra cost of course. But it was impossible to log off the old user (with the slow internet) and log on with the new, faster user. We tried to get helt from the reception, but they didn't know what to do. This just isn't good enough, if you ask me.

I was almost certain that I would not recommend this hotel. But then again... The breakfast was great (and included), and it was the cheapest available hotel in town (not considering B&Bs, hostels etc). So, under doubt, I put "yes" under recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010 via mobile

Nice hotel with service minded staff. Rooms are ok+ even without air-condition. Playroom for kids on first floor. Good menu in restaurant. They serve great Tapas. Cousy backyard for summer evenings. Short walking distance to city centre (7-10 minutes)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

The hotel staff here is very friendly and helpful at all hours. I had a nice room on the 4th floor. I thought the train station across the street would be a noise problem, but with all windows open I did not notice it. The Rail Station was very convenient to the hotel when you come from the Copenhagen Airport by rail, just walk across the street and you're done. The Grand Hotel has a very nice morning breakfast and they also have lunch and dinner as well. A nice bar area to share stories with colleagues into the night. I will come back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

Large, old-fashioned in a nice way hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Reasonably near the centre and very near the train station.
Lovely breakfast.
But unbearably hot, stuffy room when the sun shines in all day ( no shutters ) and no air-conditioning so that I could not sleep well at all.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Plus Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grand Hotel

Address: Stationsgatan 44, Halmstad SE-302 45, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Halmstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halmstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Grand Hotel is located in a quiet area of turn-of-the-century buildings. Its rooms are designed in a classic style, all with mini-bar and cable television. All rooms are available with modem hook-up. Our restaurant provides a full range of meals from a generous breakfast buffet to popular lunches and beautifully cooked dinners. In the lobby bar, you can enjoy a coffee or refreshing drinks or check your e-mail from our courtesy link. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Best Western Plus Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halmstad
Halmstad Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.