We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grythyttan - standard as an ordinary motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of c/o Grythyttans Gastgivaregard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added c/o Grythyttans Gastgivaregard to your Saves list
c/o Grythyttans Gastgivaregard
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Prastgatan 2, Grythyttan 71281, Sweden (Formerly Grythyttans Gastgivaregard)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Grythyttan B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grythyttan - standard as an ordinary motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Room standard is ordinary. Room service with champagne was good. view from room was ok. total stay equal to below standard and expectation. no service during the evening. Internet and TV not working due to thundestorm (!!).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We - I, husband and our dog - stayed two nights over Easter in room 42 (one of two rooms in one of the small cottages). The place is lovely and very relaxed and friendly. Our dog, who is very sweet and well-behaved, was welcome everywhere in the Inn, including the parlour and the restaurant, which at first raised a few eyebrows but then was much appreciated also by our fellow guests as a sleeping dog lends even more calm and coziness to a room.

The food was excellent, the dinner the first night the better of the two. We had the suggested wines and as not novices but not experts enjoyed them very much, also especially the first night when the wines were far more special, older and odder (and expensive) than the second. The courses and wines were presented by the chef and sommelier before seating each night.

The only thing we would have liked to have seen bettered was the attention to the afternoon tea buffet, served between 3-5 in the afternoon. We arrived at around four both days to find they had run out of or were running out of either scones or cupcakes, the two breads on offer. We did not see the plates refilled and while waiters sporadically turned up to take drink orders from some of the guests, we were not among the lucky ones to be asked if we wanted an afternoon drink. Still, had we gone to the bar in search of scones or a drink I'm sure someone would have seen to it.

All in all we had a lovely experience and would recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42, one of two standard double rooms in one of the small cottages. Cozy and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Wonderful service with fantastic food in what we thought was tranquil old style Scandinavian surroundings. This was totally spoiled by noise and drunken behaviour from the hotel owned bar/ pub "Stallet" . This stayed open until 1am with loud music, only to be made worse at closing time when a further hour of noisy drunken behaviour continued. We would never recommend this place for an overnight stay as our special day was totally ruined. The hotel needs to decide what sort of atmosphere it is trying to create.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed two nights in room number 1 on Grythyttans inns in July.
A fantastic place the room was elegant and comfortable, nicely furnished, large and had a nice bathroom with both shower and bath.
We ate gourmet dinner in the evening, four fabulous dishes and Anna Our waitress was both knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast was good and there was plenty to choose from. Everything was structured in a nice way, and the coffee was served out of a big old copper kettle. Nice with all these details.

The young man and woman at reception was very service minded and friendly, while the elderly lady who checked us out should go to charm course. When we wanted to be nice and praised the room we stayed in she replied, yes it is a nice room, do you really booked it! If you pay 6000: - for two nights without blinking, then you know what you booked.

One thing that can improve the service at the bar. It took us 30 minutes to get a drink and it was just us sitting in the lounge so it should not take such a time.

But over all a very, very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to c/o Grythyttans Gastgivaregard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about c/o Grythyttans Gastgivaregard

Address: Prastgatan 2, Grythyttan 71281, Sweden (Formerly Grythyttans Gastgivaregard)
Location: Sweden > Orebro County > Grythyttan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grythyttan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — c/o Grythyttans Gastgivaregard 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your c/o Grythyttans Gastgivaregard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage c/o Grythyttans Gastgivaregard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.