We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel in Karlstad, Sweden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Karlstad City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Karlstad City to your Saves list
Scandic Karlstad City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Drottninggatan 4, Karlstad 65224, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good central hotel in Karlstad, Sweden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for one night as part of a coach tour. Single room was large with a small double bed. Air conditioning in room. Very small balcony - could not sit on it - overlooking the courtyard where there is building work underway. Comfortable bed, slept well. Ironing board and iron in room. Walk in shower room was fine. Was there on a Sunday and no restaurant facilities in evening. Several restaurants and take-aways near by including McDonalds, Subway and Burger King. Breakfast choice was good - take a tray and clear away yourself afterwards. Whilst the workmen are there you are unlikely to be able to sleep in in the morning if you have a courtyard room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    60
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
25
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel usually has good deals on their website, including breakfast, wifi etc. Also good service from the staff. and good location in Karlstad city center. Thats the good part.

However, the rooms are rather basic with not much atmosphere. We had family room towards the backside of the hotel. Really dull. There is no coffee/tea, minibar etc. in the room. The extra beds and sleeping couch set up for additional guest are of very poor quality. Basically its just a place to sleep and nothing else.

The breakfast was very dissapointing. Bread, rolls and pastry was limited and the quality very poor. The same with fruit. Hot courses was of very poor quality in taste and freshness.

Finally, the hotel charges +100 SKR to use the hotels parking area. That was dissapointing. We parked on the street (free of charge), but part of our car was during the night destroyed. It would be good customer service to offer hotel guest to use the hotel parking area free of charge. I beleive we are not the first one to have had this experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

The foyer area of this hotel is lovely. A great place to have a drink and relax.
The rooms are exceptionally average. Ours had a pair of old socks from a previous guest in the corner. It gave the impression of slight uncleanliness.

The location is fine and it has the advantage of an underground car park at about £10 / night. The disadvantage is that it's incredibly tight to get in and out of unless you are on a bicycle. Get a hire car with parking sensors if you want to avoid scraping your paintwork.

Massively overpriced for what it is, the hotel avoids a two star rating due to free Internet and its nice foyer area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

(For details about why we fled the Bilan, see my review there.)

The Scandic City (not Winn, which is across town) was a delight from the moment we walked through the door. The desk staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful; both Sara and Camilla were a ray of sunshine, day and night.

The lobby is reminiscent of a W Hotel (without the painfully hip attitude). The dining area is more of a communal area, since meals are served buffet style. Breakfast included endless options--very expansive, very tasty.

The room was a Standard Double, with lots of sun and plenty of space, including a luggage table between the entry door and closet that fit my huge suitcase easily (an electrical socket was there too, making it easy to recharge my iPhone and iPad each night before slipping out the door in the morning). The beds were very comfortable.

And talk about quiet...! I was stunned upon opening the drapes on my final morning to see a garbage truck directly below my 5th floor window...and barely a quiet "whump" could be heard as its motor ground away, lifting and dumping trash can contents into the compactor. That alone gets 5 stars in my book.

The bathroom in Scandics are fascinating to me, since they utilize collapsable shower walls. That, good lighting, a heated towel rack, and heated tile floor, made the room a winner.

The closet is sufficient, but not huge. Ended up taking the ironing board out, then leaning it on an out of the way wall to gain more space. Oddly, there are no dresser drawers in the room--only the two shelves in the closet, plus two larger shelves in the long desk unit. Was plenty of room for me, so no worries there.

There's a bus stop 1/2 block away, which made running around easy. The hotel sits right on the edge of the central village area; no bus was needed unless we traveled further out.

Elevator access to rooms requires swiping your keycard in the elevator--something I appreciated and wish all hotels offered.

The only negative I can offer is that the floors weren't as clean as I'd like in the bedroom--not filthy, but definitely dusty. This is one of the downsides to wooden floors, unless they're swept daily, then no shoes allowed from outside. Pack and pair of slippers and you'll be fine.

Everything else was clean, clean, clean.

Also be aware that Scandanavian hotels do not supply washcloths, shampoo, conditioner, or lotion. Pack your bath puff and necessary liquids to fill the void (liquid soap dispensers are provided in the shower and next to the sink, just like Aloft Hotels in the States).

My stay at the Scandic Karlstad City was one I'll remember fondly. Am definitely glad we left the Bilan and headed here. Might have been the single best decision of the entire trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I liked the small balcony in my room overlooking the courtyard. Even though I had a single bed, the room was spacious, quiet and clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed 1 night on 24 july 2011 in this nice hotel in Karlstad located near the Cathedral. The room decor was pleasant with free internet / wi-fi connectivity at rooms. All the city attractions are in close proximity from the hotel including the shopping street and cinema hall complex with a Mcdonalds next to it. The breakfast was standard but could have more variety if items such as hash brown, meat ball and more egg preparations are added to it's usual menu. The toilet had only basic toiletries with liquid soap only.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Typical average hotel. Stayed here from 26/12-27/12 in connection with the Eric Prydz concert near by. Location is OK. The sauna/jacuzzi-area had a scent of beer and alcohol, there were empty cans and bottles everywhere. Disgusting, the staff should do regulary cleaning here to make sure this does not happen.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Scandic Karlstad City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Karlstad City

Address: Drottninggatan 4, Karlstad 65224, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel)
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Karlstad City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Karlstad City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Karlstad City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.