We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bed, free WiFi, not so modern rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Plaza

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vastra Torggatan 2, Karlstad 65225, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Karlstad
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful bed, free WiFi, not so modern rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Let's begin with the pros:
- The lobby is very cozy
- The breakfast buffe is good (but there are better) but quite crowded
- Free WiFi
- Big, cozy beds with wonderful gigantic pillows
- Minifridge
- TV
- Access to jacuzzi and sauna

And now to the cons:
- The rooms wasn't very fresh
- The windows couldn't be opened (and the air in the room was terrible)
- The hairdryer was almost antique, it was glued into a drawer
- It was quite noisy because the room had the windows towards the restaurant
- There are so many people wanting to use the jacuzzi so there is a big queue for that. I think it would be better to be able to book it.

Would I stay here again? Well, yes if I could pay the price I did (large discount). But to the normal price? Probably not.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    27
    20
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
18
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Skane Lan, Sweden
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I was there for 1 night and the name mislead me, I hoped for a higher standard, but found a basic standard hotel.
When checking I ask for parking and they told me they had an arrangement with the parking house across the street, I should just drive up to the 5th floor and leave the ticket I received in the reception at the dashboard.
The room is a good size and the bed had nice comfort level. The bathroom was also a decent size but as the rest of the room it was in need of an update. The staff was okay friendly, just lacking a bit in the service area. I eat at the restaurant in the hotel and ordered a steak well done, but it came medium rare instead.
The breakfast buffet was okay with a wide range to choose from.. But the staff couldn't keep up and tables was not cleared and cleaned very fast.
When I picked up my car from parking house I had recieved a parking fee ticket, so I went back to the reception and asked them to explain why, then they told me I had not parked in the special hotel spots, but since they had not informed me about this and since there are no signs in the parking house explaining this, it's really hard to know.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We chose it due to the highest Choice hotel certification. Even we just had an overnight stay on our way to Gävle, we will never stay there again. Imagine, a room with an awful bar chair arrangement instead of a simple desk & chair; a "paper on the wall" instead of a wall picture; the "construction" placed under the ceiling is for heating or air conditon; a "funny chaiselogne" instead of a couch; 100% smoke free room where the rest of the cigarettes were covering the roof outside the window; no wonder the entire room smelled smoky. The lobby was furnished with modern art furnitures (obviously, the management must have got it for free) - the wing chair my wife tried to use needed badly repair. The breakfast was alright but do not expect any ecological surprises. In regard of parking, follow the advice of the flower shop owner (use the parking house across the main road instead of the parking house across the hotel main entrance, it`ll just cost you 60 kronors instead of 160). Sorry, Clarion you need to improve. On our way back we stayed at the Elite Stadshotellet, a truly 4 star hotel at a 3 star rate!

Room Tip: Sorry for my advice, but do find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here two nights in 2010, when Holland beat Uruguay in the semi final of the World Cup. We did not like the first room we were given. It was in front of the busy road, and furthermore there was still a spare bed folded up in the room. The room we moved to was at the end of the corridor overlooking the breakfast area/inner court on. In the bathromm there was a window looking out at the space at the side of the hotel. It was a quiet room so we could have a good nights sleep. That always is the bottom line for me, being able to sleep without disturbances. The room was big, the sort of room you find with people that have too many rooms in their house. Old, but still with a feeling of comfort that goes back some time. Hotel was okay all in all. Breakfast adequate, staff helpful and friendly. Park house just over the road. Good enough for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in room 210 for two nights. The room is right above the hotel's entrance and facing the intersection Hamngatan/Västra Torggatan. My friend is a heavy sleeper and slept well. Me, on the other hand, was bothered by traffic noise on Sunday morning. (It was a rainy day, which made the noise worse.)

The bathroom was fine, except from the ventilation valve up on the wall. Obviously, it hadn't been cleaned for at least a couple of years, and made a quite disgusting detail. I expect more from a plaza hotel. We only payed SEK1275,- for two nights, breakfast included, so I guess we got value for money overall.

The room was fine enough and the beds comfortable.
The hotel's reception area was quite nice and the breakfast too.
Parking house (not free) right outside the hotel's entrance.
Location (except from traffic) is good, right in the middle of town centre and right across the street from the train station.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, make sure you book a more quiet room than 210/rooms facing Hamngatan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollabrunn, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We planned to stay 5 nights and have ordered well in advance - we received two rooms with no day light with the view to dirty breakfest tables.
After intervention we could change one of the rooms - not even better. As the buses stop there with people just stying overnight they start their airconditioning about 6 am infront of your window....The rooms were not cleaned, when arriving the toilett was completely dirty and we had to call for service which finally arrived 30 minutes later. Breakfest was a disaster - when the bus tourists took everything for their tour - nothing remainded for guests coming later. Service Staff was not able to keep the breakfest tables clean. Asking for napkins - service did not what to understand or did not understand what they have to do, etc. etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

At first I want to thank the director Martin Samuelsson and his staff for the hospitality, shown during our stay in the Clarion Hotel Plaza in Karlstad.
Tonight my wife and myself enjoyed a fantastic diner during the last evening we stay in Sweden: this was a perfect example of a very positive memory.
The room we stay in at this moment, the dinner, the service of the staff, every detail will contribute to the recommendation I'll give to everybody who plans to visit Karlstad in Sweden, the beautiful country we have spent three weeks travelling in!
Verien Slippens & Donald Uhrlep

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Plaza

Address: Vastra Torggatan 2, Karlstad 65225, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Plaza)
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Plaza 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Plaza is a full service hotel in the heart of Karlstad. The hotel has been under renovation 2013-14 and today it's the most modern hotel in the city with a brand new look. We offer 131 rooms and suites, 11 conference rooms, relax area with gym, jazuzzi and sauna and our popular restaurant - Kitchen & Table. Our fantastic staff dare to be different and will greet you with passion. It won't take long before you feel like home when staying with us. We wish you a warm welcome to Karlstad and to Clarion Hotel Plaza! Clarion Hotel(R) - Service with Passion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Karlstad
Karlstad Radisson
Clarion Hotel Karlstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.