We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical 3-star experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vastra Torggatan 1a, Karlstad 652 25, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Hamar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A typical 3-star experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I booked a single room (509) for two nights, Friday to Sunday. The room was quite spacious and ok.

The bathroom was, like many other 3-star bathrooms, quite dull. The bathtub was approx. 1 meter long and 1 meter high (!). I practically had to climb up into the tub and it felt like showering in a bucket.

In the summer time, you might want to keep the window open. However, there's a drop off spot right outside the hotel's entrance, a (slow) street light, and a parking house entrance/exit, so it's a bit noisy. However, this might only be a problem during warm periods when you need to keep the window open.

The hotel's located in the town centre, 300 meters from the town square. Also next to the train station.

I used the parking house - which was quite expensive (because they charge you 24-7)

Having stayed at Ibis several times, I think Ibis is a better choice than Savoy. The rooms are better and the parking facilities are better. However, at Savoy you can eat dinner and have a drink outside the hotel's entrance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
7
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in Oct. 2011 for a few nights.

The location is great - central town, close to the train station and car parking just across the road. Reception is located at the bar, which also doubles up as the breakfast area in the morning. The service from the staff is friendly and attentive.

The room I stayed in was clean and tidy just of a low standard, looking very tired and dated. It had a single bed (which seems to be the norm in scandanivia) a cheap desk area with a TV and a trouser press with the cable cut off so it didn't work. The bathroom was a wet room with a toilet and seperate shower area.

I didn't eat in the hotel in the evening so I can't comment on the menu but the breakfast menu had a good selection and the food was enjoyable.

Overall the poor standard of the room means I will not be returning to this hotel which is a pity as the location and staff were both plus points.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Spend one night. Not for the first time heree. The first was at 2006. So for me the main thing was the location and parking area. It is perfect. Too many places to park the car and the location gives you many different directions to start driving. As in 2006 to many cameras on the highways:-)
I took the cheapest room, no smoking, with breakfast. The breakfast was as usuall in scandinavia. The room is small, but clean, nice towels in Best Western chain.
This time there were many people with pets, and this is allowed to come to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for one night and we liked it. It´s close to the railwaystation (2 minutes) rigth in the Centre of Karlstad. We were in Karlstad to see the opening nigt of the musical "The wedding singer" (a really great show, ve really loved it !) and it took us just 10 minutes to walk to the theatre. It´s also close to a lots of restaurants and shops.

Our room was nicely furnitured and nice colours. We love hotelrooms when they have wooden floor and NOT carpet. The beds were very nice and the room was clean. The bathroom was not so big but it was clean and nice.

The staff were friendly and we could use internet for free at the reception.

This is a hotel that we can recomend and to a good price !

Mats and Lasse

  • Liked — The price compaired to the hotel and the location
  • Disliked — We have not really anything to complain about.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

The hotel is centrally located in Karlstad, easy to reach by car or if you arrive by train (next to the central station).

Parking in building next to the premises.

Reception/lobby is combined with pub and breakfast area.

Rooms and guest areas are a bit shabby and show signs of tear down (august 2006). Rates are inexpensive though.

Decent breakfast.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms, public areas
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Bilan
Clarion Collection Bilan
#1 of 18 in Karlstad
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
0.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Clarion Hotel Plaza
#3 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Karlstad City
ibis Styles Karlstad City
#12 of 18 in Karlstad
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Vastra Torggatan 1a, Karlstad 652 25, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Savoy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Karlstad
Karlstad Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.