We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sloppy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Karlstad City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Styles Karlstad City to your Saves list
ibis Styles Karlstad City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vastra Torggatan 20, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden (Formerly Ibis Karlstad City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
A TripAdvisor Member
“Sloppy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel times on time from 2003 until now. I try to stay at IBIS or Mercure whenever I travel, perhaps 50 Accor'nights a year.

IBIS Karlstad needs an upgrade: Breakfast is old, bread is cold, coffee undrinkable as the so called 'Juices'. Cheese, ham, pate' etc are often old and the vegetables not clean. No bacon.

Room is low-standard IBIS - that is OK but the cleanliness and the room cleaning is below average! No change of glasses, wastes left in the room, the floor is not washed etc..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    34
    37
    1
    6
See reviews for
14
22
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Sweden is not an easy task - but they can be found.
We were making a short visit to Karlstad and wanted a budget hotel - the Ibis turned out to be a pretty good choice.
Located centrally, less than 10 minutes walk from the rail station, and close to all of the city's amenities, the Ibis is a fairly typical chain hotel.
With a small reception and bar on the ground floor, guest rooms on the first and second, and a breakfast room on the top floor.
The staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke very good English.
The room itslelf was larger than we expected (more of that later), with one double and one single bed. Facilities are basic - a built-in wardrobe space and desk - one chair, and a flat-screen TV (which includes English-language channels). The beds were warm and comfortable, with extra pillows and an extra duvet supplied. The bathroom was OK - a decent shower, and soap dispensers by the sink and in the shower. Adequate towels provided.
Good points: the room was quiet - some street noise, but very little from the rest of the hotel. Heating was very efficient - we actually had to turn it down! Breakfast buffet (charged extra) was reasonable for a budget hotel - but the fruit juice was awful - avoid! Lots of local information available in the lobby. There is a lift.
Less than good points: no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Internet available, but at an extra cost (and quite expensive). There is a club about 150 meters from the hotel, and when it closes late Saturday night, it is noisy (round about 2 a.m.).
Two tips: check room rates on the Ibis website before booking - we got a special weekend rate (20% off the usual room rate) which was cheaper than any of the usual booking sites. The standard offering is a double-bedded room - we asked for a twin-bedded room instead, and those rooms are quite a bit bigger. Worth doing if you need a little extra space.
Our visit to Karlstad was a brief one, only two nights, and we did not spend much time in our hotel room, so the Ibis was a perfectly adequate choice for this kind of stay.
There are several other options in the town, and if you were staying longer, it would probably be worth exploring those. But for a budget stay (less than £50 a night) this was a good option.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room instead of a double - these are larger but the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great value for money hotel. Only negative point was the ventilation fan, which was a bit too loud. Nice breakfast. No disturbance from other guests. Comfortable beds. Free wireless would be appreciated though.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landskrona
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Spent two nights at this hotel in July, 2011. Must admit that my expectations were quite low as the price was very favourable. But to my pleasure to hotel was excellent value for money. The rooms are on the small side and there are no frills. But we asked for separate beds and got one small double bed, ok for couples, and one extra bed.

The shower/toilet area was small, but adequate and the flat screen TV was ok, with a limited selection of channels.

The best with this hotel is the location. Only a few minutes from the city centre, one minute from the tourist information and minutes from the Klarälven park area. Walking distances to almost everything! The breakfast on the top floor (?) also proved to be better than expected.

My only criticism would be aimed at the pillows! They felt like lumps and weren't nice at all. The beds, however, were of good quality. I wouldn't hesitate to come back, though. My grading is based on the price of the hotel....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Styles Karlstad City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Karlstad City

Address: Vastra Torggatan 20, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden (Formerly Ibis Karlstad City)
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Karlstad City 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Karlstad City is located in the centre of Karlstad, 500 m from the railway station and 16 km from the airport, close to restaurants, pubs and the regional museum. The hotel has 61 rooms and puts at your disposal a buffet breakfast (large time slot), a bar with a snack service open 24/7, free WiFi and public covered parking. Pets accepted. Tennis courts are 3 km away and a golf course 7 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your ibis Styles Karlstad City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Styles Karlstad City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.