We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Scandic in ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Winn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Winn to your Saves list
Scandic Winn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Norra Strandgatan 9 - 11, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Oxford
Level Contributor
188 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good Scandic in ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed in many Scandic hotels and this one is typical of the high quality they provide. I do not agree with a recent reviewer who says it is 'tired'. The hotel is bright and clean and all one could wish for in such a class of hotel. The rooms are a good size with good facilities and the restaurant is good, with the bonus that it is open until 22.00. The location is superb: 15 minutes walk from the train station, 5 minutes from the conference centre/concert hall, the Varmlands museum, and the Lars Lerin museum, and less than 10 minutes from the opera house. Recommended: you will not be disappointed. Tip: pay in advance to avoid check-out queues.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back avoid the possibility of street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    47
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
29
22
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, we used the little parking area just across the street, which was not very expensive compared to the fees in other Swedish cities.
The staff was friendly, although we had to change our room because of the ventilatory noise, which is a well-known problem there.
The room and the bathroom were of medium size and very clean.
Our breakfast was delicious.
Unfortunately, the elevator did not always work with our room card.

As we only stayed for one night, we did not use the fitness room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the ventilatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I'm not sure who this hotel appeals to. It certainly isn't romantic and isn't really up the standard for a business grade hotel. Breakfast is filling, but basic. The competition (Elite Hotels) has raised the bar, and Scandic needs to lift their game.

Although the lobby area is OK, the guts of the hotel just feel old. The hallways have mismatched tiles, the rooms, although clean, are old (see pictures) and feel like you are stepping back into a hotel from the 1980's. Bathroom lighting is poor. The wall-attached hair dryer didn't work and buzzed all the time, but instead of fixing it, hotel management just left an extra hairdryer in the closet. TV was absolutely ancient and the remote control had seen better days (see photo). Power cable for the trouser press was humorously long. Internet worked, but was not fast enough to handle streaming video.

And please, hotels, if you want to save money, use two dispensers for shampoo and soap. combined Hair & body gel is just crap - it's bad soap and it's bad shampoo. And the hangers... Is hanger theft really such a problem that you need to annoy your guests with the anti-theft hangers? Please, just 5 SEK to my room bill and give me a real hanger that I don't need to fight with.

Good location though. Lots of free street parking in the area and there is a big public lot across the street (although it was filled when I arrived at 7pm).

Room Tip: Ask what type of room you are getting... The room I received did not look at all like any of the pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Freindly staff, clean rooms, basic and pleasant.
The rooms are out of IKEA, but are clean and quiet. There is a small fitness room, but it is also clean and has the basics for a decent workout. There is also great running right outside the door, as there is in all of Karlstad. Breakfast is good and more than basic. There is also a restaurant and pub. The pub is nice. Didn't try the restuarant.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room. There are views to an internal courtyard, but do not let a lot of sun in mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Booked this hotel based on tripadvisor's reviews and it turned out to be a really nice hotel. We arrived in the "city of sunshine" in the rain so we stayed in. There's a pay parking lot right across from the hotel so we put in enough coin to last till 10am the next morning.

When we checked in to our two rooms, one for our 3 kids and one for us, we were told that there's a mini fridge in our room, not the kids', and there are complimentary snack and drinks for us. We did not find the mini bar so we inquired about it at the front desk. We were told that it was removed from our room because they ran out so I suggested that maybe they could put together a complimentary basket to replace it. The front desk clerk agreed that she could definitely put one together and we could pick it up after our coffee and dessert at the bar.

The bartender did not appear to be happy to see us showing up at 9:30 when the bar closes at 10. My husband told him we'd be having coffee and desserts so he was quite abrupt with my daughter when she asked to see the food menu. "You don't need a menu for dessert". When he brought me a strawberries with vanilla ice cream, I received 6 half pieces of strawberries for 60 or 80 sek. 3 whole strawberries!!!! The bartender was quite concerned when he found out that my husband was allergic to the sprinkles on the chocolate cake he brought so he brought my husband the same dessert I had and he had almost double the amount of berries. Inconsistent in their food quality.

The rooms were interesting, very Ikea and sparse. My children's room has 2 twins and 2 built in murphy beds and the room was quite small so it was quite jammed once one of the beds was pulled down. Our room was huge in comparison, with 2 twins and a sofa. The bathroom has a shower that's walled off to one side without door/curtain. One thing they have is a wall mounted soap dispenser (shampoo/body gel) in the shower and they don't provide anything else so ladies, bring your own hair conditioner and soap as some of these pumps can be very perfumed. Face clothes is a luxury here, most hotels don't provide them. The beds are extremely comfortable but the pillows are quite small.

The breakfast next morning was very good. I can't eat a lot for breakfast but I can appreciate the spread for those who can.

This hotel doesn't look like much, no flash, on the outside, but it's a solid place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My family stayed there for 2 nights. We enjoyed our stay there, the room was clean and nice.
We liked the food for breakfast and also the food in the restaurant was tasteful.
Everyone who worked there was service minded and helpful. Internet was a little bit slow sometimes but mostly it was fine. we would like to go back there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here for two nights during a conference. I felt very welcome when I arrived and I could have my room immediately even though I arrived early. The room had a very stylish decor, and the only thing missing was a fridge. The location is very good close to the city centre and to the river.
Breakfast was excellent and and I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Karlstad City
Scandic Karlstad City
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Bilan
Clarion Collection Bilan
#1 of 18 in Karlstad
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scandic Klaralven
Scandic Klaralven
#7 of 18 in Karlstad
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Clarion Hotel Plaza
#3 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Winn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Winn

Address: Norra Strandgatan 9 - 11, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Winn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Hotel located in town center, 1 km from train station & 18 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Winn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Winn Karlstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Winn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.