We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty to look at but poor in rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad to your Saves list
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kungsgatan 22 | Box 317, Karlstad 651 08, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty to look at but poor in rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in October, nice looking exterior and bar but the room was pathetic. My company booked it and it wasn't as cheap business class as you could book online for a standard room. The room was not much bigger than a cupboard the bed was a disgrace and the bathroom was small and dirty I would have insisted on a move but it was late when we arrived so just went to the bar and bed. The food served wasn't up to much either bar meals only and the vegi burger they made me was un-eatable. I would not recommend this hotel try somewhere else in Karlstad . Breakfast not much better.

Room Tip: Insist on a large room when booking apparently a lot are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    77
    33
    12
    2
See reviews for
23
63
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This hotel is located right in the center of Karlstad, next to the main square and the river Klarälven, with all shops and restaurants nearby. There is an art museum with works by Lars Lerin, a fine water colour painter from the area, within a few minutes walk.
The hotel is nice and friendly, with modern rooms (at least the one I had). My bed was a bit soft, but I slept well.
The breakfast room is huge, but a bit too dark - the lights could be better.
The buffet was very rich with many nice things to choose from, and there were newspapers available that could be borrowed if you preferred to read while breakfasting. In the summer it's possible to use the tables just outside to have your breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are more noisy, since the Bishop's Arms pub and restaurant is right below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We impetuously decided to get off our train to Stockholm at Karlstad and found a room at Elite. When the sun rose the next day we found out what a charming town this is and how nice the hotel is too. Very good, spacious room, excellent breakfast and in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

When going to Karlstad we chose to stay at the Elite since we earlier have stayed in other Elite hotels as well as this, and think its good value for money.

The check-in were smooth and quick with very service minded staff who also gave us good directions regarding parking availabilities in the city Center.

We had booked a “Superior room” for two people and the room we got on the second floor was well decorated with a bed, two small chairs and a desk. The view from the room was pretty ok since we the saw the river outside, but also a roof top.

The room was good, except from the bed. First and foremost it was narrow to be a double bed. Second it was a bit worn so my wife felt every movement I did during the night, resulting in a not so good sleep for her.

The cleanliness level in the room and bathroom was good.

The breakfast area was spacious and nice with a lot of tables to choose from. As always on the Elite hotels the variety and quality is very good.

The checkout procedure was also without hassles and I left the hotel with feeling that the staff really wanted me back as a guest.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We only had one night at this hotel, but would have been happy with longer. It's right in the centre and handy for bars and shops and as it looks out over the waterways it is central for the Solapromenaden walk which we did. We ate at the adjoining Bishops Arms and had good swedish food. The breakfast was varied and fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eidsvoll Municipality, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Walking distance from the railway station, the hotel itself is very accommodating. The location, the scenery, the staff, the rooms were as expected. Breakfast was alright but nothing extraordinary, although a hotel of choice when staying in Karlstad.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed here for one night in mid July. Front desk staff not overly friendly but we were helped when it was needed. Room was a classic modern one that had great view, but was also so small that for the price charged, couldn't help but feel ripped off. Comfortable but small beds, as expected for this part of the world. Elevator was of the kind that was used in the early 20th century; while it was definitely interesting and elegant to ride in, it didn't fit in with the contemporary image the hotel strives for with its design. Breakfast was great for Scandinavia and was also served in the classy restaurant on the ground level.

Overall an OK hotel for Scandinavia.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad

Address: Kungsgatan 22 | Box 317, Karlstad 651 08, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Stadshotellet Hotel Karlstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.