We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tradition, yet modern in the city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad

Save Saved
You added Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kungsgatan 22 | Box 317, Karlstad 651 08, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Karlstad
Solna, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great tradition, yet modern in the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed New Years Eve and were received by friendly staff. Check-in was rapid as was the check-out the next morning. The room was budget price and also budget size. Rather narrow bed for two but we had been warned when booking so no hard feelings there. The small room was quiet and clean, recently refurbished.

Very rich breakfast buffet included in the room price the next morning. Everything you could ask for and then some. Do-it-yourself Belgian waffles as well.

The hotel is right in the center of the city with nice walks along the riverbanks or shopping if you prefer.

Room Tip: Make sure that you specify if you want a large room, a bathtub etc. since rooms are different. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    80
    35
    10
    2
See reviews for
19
54
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad is a nice and historical hotel located in the center of Karlstad. The "deluxe" room was spacious and comfortable, yet quite affordable at about 900 SEK a night.

The English restaurant/pub next door had a great atmosphere and the food there was great.

We saw some indications of wear and tear that really should be fixed, but overall this was a very nice stay at a great hotel, which we probably will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed only one night on our way up north in Dalarna,
it cost only 1000 kr. (aprox. 95 euros) for two persons in a very nice room incl. a
big, very good breakfast with everything you could wish for.
The hotel is located down by the River Klarälven in the middle of the city, close to shops
and restaurants, the Hotel has also a very nice Pub "The Bishops Arms" with lot´s of
beers and good food.
We put our badge "Revied on Tripadvisor" on the roomwindow, because we liked it so much!

Room Tip: Select a room facing the river, Grand view, less noice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The building itself is impressive, originally build in year 1908. The present owner, the Elite Hotels, renovated the interior some few years ago - which now is updated to a modern standard. As a visitor, you may be a bit impressed of the grand reception area, the great staircase welcoming you inside the hotel, the restaurant…yes - of the great architecture. Even (most of?) the rooms are renovated to a modern standard.
I know, because I even stayed a number of times at the hotel…especially at the time (some years ago) when it was a Best Western hotel.

I was not impressed by the welcoming when checking in. The female receptionist seemed to be a bit nonchalant and absent-minded, in spite of the fact that I was the only guest present. I didn’t have the feeling that I got a warm welcoming.
And I really think that you, as a guest checking in to a hotel, automatically should be asked if you would like to have A) a log-in to the internet, and B) a newspaper!

My room wasn’t especially big, however, the view - toward the “Klara” river passing right outside the hotel - quite nice. The hard-wooded-floor was fine, the desk (where to work) sufficient, the bed was a double bed, the TV-set large, and the bath-room quite nice.
You could notice that the room had been renovated…maybe in a hurry (?), as the craftsmen’s work wasn’t too impressive everywhere.

During the evening I visited the pub “Bishops Arms” at the ground level of the hotel. They have a large selection of beer and whiskey, as well as some food. I had a terrific, very large and well tasting Caesar salad. The interior of the pub, i.e. the whole surrounding and setting of the premises, are very nice!

The large restaurant where the breakfast is served is a quite impressive room. However, I wasn’t really impressed by the range, and the quality, of the food served. Additionally, the hotel didn’t seem to have turned on the heating system. A combination of those two facts made me leave the restaurant without reading my morning newspaper to the last page.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arrived late but was served properly and swiftly, room was fine to international standards. Bar dowstairs excelent with lots of high bookshelves providing a homely atmosphere. Beds were OK (a bit soft perhaps) and breakfast as one could wish for!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel in central location. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is good, as would expected. Some of the rooms are dated, but most have been remodeled, however, even the dated room I have stayed was pleasant.
The small gymnasim, however, is a waste of space. If you need a workout they can sell you a pass for a local gym. Running around Karlstad is good in every direction.

The Bishops Arm Pub is a welcome on-site addition with a great atmosphere and a wide selection of draughts from around the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view. If you are a Beatles fan, ask for the Beatles room, which also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have stayed at the Elite Plaza hotel in Gothenburg several times earlier, so we didn´t expect anything less going this Elite hotel. Our expectations were met: the location was perfect; close to shops and restaurants, but still in a quiet "corner" of the city. The rooms were also nice; we booked a family room, and that was really spacious and nice.
The hotel had focus on kids this summer; they had their own "check-in" desk where they could make a drawing when they arrived, they also received some colors and a book. The little playroom at the hotel was also perfect for out two-year-old.
The breakfast was a nice surprise: a huge selections, and more importantly; the bacon was done just right! ;)
Overall: a nice hotel to a decent price. We´ll be back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad

Address: Kungsgatan 22 | Box 317, Karlstad 651 08, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Stadshotellet Hotel Karlstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.