We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good use of old prison” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Bilan

Save Saved
You added Clarion Collection Bilan to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Bilan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Karlbergsgatan 3, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good use of old prison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice hotel with a history. East to find, Hood parking, short walk to city. Good rooms. Fine breakfast but can be busy/crowded. Nice with a museum in house. Friendly staff and free wifi. I like the connection with the buildings history.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    40
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
47
Solo
0
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I chose the hotel for my stay because of its history. The building was surrounded by high fence and the interior was also made in a style of prison. Downstairs was a museum, where could be seen how the prisoners lived there. The historical moment was really nice extra. Although it is said that the house is haunted I didn't notice anything:)
The room was big enough with a double bed. The bed was really-really comfortable and ideal for having a good sleep. Ironing equipment was available in every room which is not so common and came as a pleasant surprise. I was distracted by quite loud noise of the ventilation system.
All day long coffee and cookies were available near lobby. Breakfast was tasty and with a good variety. Also free dinner was included in the price.
The service was good and friendly.
Overall, I enjoyed the stay there.

Room Tip: Don't select a room with single bed, it's really tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is in the central parts of Karlstad,it was a prison before and it´s rebuilt in an nice way.
The room was clean and fresh,nice furnitures,wi-fi and a big restroom.
A warm welcoming atmosphere,photos from the old prison on the walls and a museum in the basementfloor.
The concept offering coffe almost all day and a generous evening-buffet is a hit.Tasty food,salads and deserts and a ecological breakfast,could not be better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Clarion Collection Bilan for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable stay. We received a warm welcome upon arrival and because we were celebrating an anniversary, the personnel had placed a nice welcome basket in our room, which was a really sweet touch and very much appreciated.

The bed wasn't huge, but it was comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and very modern. The room had really high beamed ceilings and two large windows. There was a desk with a chair and an armchair. There were at least 15 channels on the flatscreen TV.

Both the breakfast and dinner were wonderful! The buffet was constantly replenished, and the kitchen/serving staff were friendly and kept all the tables cleared. There's afternoon coffee/tea with cake every afternoon and fruit available all day. The dinner was a very tasty hot entree and a nice variety of salads every day, along with a dessert.

Each time we met the cleaning personnel in the hall they greeted us and asked how we had slept. Our room was very nicely cleaned every day.

The hotel is a very short walk to the city center and very easy to get to by car or train. You can park for free in the lot next door (you can get a permit from the reception desk) or park in the hotel's lot for SEK 75 per day. We opted for the free parking :)

Karlstad was a really nice city. People were friendly and the city was pretty. In the summer you can take water busses which are a nice way to see the city from a different angle. At the tourist office (in the library) you can buy a 1 or 3 day pass that is good for both the regular busses and the water busses. We didn't use the regular busses because the city is so good for walking.

Hope this review was helpful :). Enjoy your trip to Karlstad!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is in all fairness a decent 3 star hotel. Ok, maybe they haven't got slippers and maybe you can hear traffic noise in some of the rooms, but come on - it's in the center of the city!

I have stayed in this hotel 5-6 times and find it very nice and convenient. Like stated, in the center, free parking (!), fairly modern. It's not a 5 star wanna-be, and it delivers as expected (and better) for a 3 star, and that's why I rate it "Average". A little improvement here and there, and they'll soon be touching the "Very Good" rating from me.

I have tried both the breakfast buffet and the evening buffet and at that price it's quite all right. Off course you can find better food in the city, but not at that price. And there are lots of healthy choices too.

I see other reviewers comment about the service. I'd say it's usually ok, never bad, but not top either. You don't feel special when you walk in the door, nor when you leave. They lack that little extra.

I'm very picky about beds, and the beds I have slept in in this hotel were actually very nice.

And I do recommend a trip in the basement to see the prison museum and the prison cells, just as they were when the prison shut down in the fifties. I do believe it is possible to spend the night in one of them, if you got the nerve… Rumors have it the hotel is haunted, so maybe you'll have a special and memorable night.


The Bilan hotel is all in all a good alternative, not fancy but fair. Much like the city itself…


If this review in any way was helpful, I appreciate the feedback so pls hit the Yes button if you think so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I was quite disappointed with my stay at this hotel. The room was very small, almost cramped, and there were no doubt that this is a former prison! As the hotel is surrounded by busy streets you didn´t want to open the window which made the experience a bit claustrophobic. The room was a bit noisy even with the window closed and as the doubel bed was pretty narrow the sleep quality wasn´t very good. The hotel is slightly outside of the city centre and there are many hotels more centrally located. Dinner was included by paying 10 euro extra but the buffé was pretty bland, it´s better to go to a restaruant and have a proper meal. There were many organic products though, also in the breakfast buffé which was OK. The staff compensated for the pitfalls by being friendly and helpful, and the common areas are more spacious and OK decorated. This is not enough to make me come back though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was really excited to stay at the Bilan; those positive vibes were shot down in under five minutes. Our reception at the desk was chilly at best; the room (reserved as "Double Bed Superior") was small by NYC standards, and not remotely like any of the photos on their site. Low ceilings, very tiny windows mounted high on the wall, only 3' of space on either side of the bed, an itty bitty desk more suited to a college dorm room, and no place (nor space) to set out a suitcase while you unpack or re-pack. Poor lighting only made what was a depressing room more so.

This was, without question, the most uncomfortable room I've been in ever, in any country (that says a lot since I travel heavily for work).

We moved to a new hotel the next day (Scandic Karlstad City), and couldn't have been more pleased (see my review there).

Room Tip: Try the Scandic Karlstad City or the Elite--both much better choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Bilan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Bilan

Address: Karlbergsgatan 3, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Bilan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Collection Bilan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Karlstad
Karlstad Clarion
Clarion Collection Karlstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Bilan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;