We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical motor hotel; relatively aged - and in the middle of nowhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hojdgatan 3, Karlstad 654 68, Sweden   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A typical motor hotel; relatively aged - and in the middle of nowhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location of the hotel is in the forest, 4 km / 2.5 miles outside the city centre of Karlstad. The nearest neighbor is an OK/Q8 petrol station (which sells some basic food products, fast food, newspapers etc. as well).
The main express road E18 connection the two capitals Stockholm (Sweden) and Oslo (Norway) passes by the hotel, approx 150 m away (hidden behind the trees…though, you may possibly hear the sounds of heavy trucks passing).

I was friendly welcomed and registered by the young female clerk at the front desk. Being a BW Rewards Platinum member, I nevertheless experienced a lack of knowledge and dedication. I had to ask for a newspaper and for information about the Wi-Fi connection. Furthermore, when I asked if she possibly could up-grade me to a better room, due to the Platinum level of my member card, she had to check the manual if that would be possible according to the rules. She confirmed, after having read the manual that an up-grade in fact is one of the advantages for guests having a Platinum card (which I already knew myself). However, as - according to the clerk - no better/larger was room available due to a fully booked hotel, she could not help me.

Hmm…..when I was looking at the limited number of cars at the parking outside the hotel late in the evening and early the next morning, I really had my doubts about how many rooms really were booked that night!

The room itself was a single occupancy room at the third floor, very dull, very impersonal and very old-aged. It should really need a renovation. The madras was too soft for me, and the curtain didn’t really cover the window. The bathroom was “ancient”…maybe from the 70’s. With only a very tiny shelf to put your own belonging.

The breakfast restaurant (i.e. the same as the evening restaurant, which even is used as a dancing restaurant during some weekends) is very spacious. It has a large flat-screen TV-set on the wall, typically for many basic hotels.
The breakfast itself is basic…actually, I can’t recall anything that answered to, or exceeded, my humble expectations.
The number of Swedish newspapers was very limited – and only one copy of the second largest morning paper “Svenska Dagbladet”.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
13
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July '12. The room was completely OUTdated and we asked for another room as we were here for a much needed date-trip and the bed was two single 90 cm beds. The clerk in the reseption was no way near coopoerative and the response we got was that we were allowed to push the two single beds together... The location is no way near central and is located near a busy road that we could hear even with the windows closed (the good thing is, after all, that Sweeden closes early in the night so it is not so noisy after 9 o' clock).

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel is nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in May 2012. The overall impression is "dated". Nothing has changed here since the 80's or early 90's.The room was OK in size but totally dull in design. The bed, against a wall, was of regular 90 cm's size which is OK if you're not moving too much in your sleep.The restaurant is of poor quality, a souless large empty (at least when I stayed there, weekdays in prime business season) space with an overpriced evening buffet of two overcooked hot dishes and a wet and soulless sallad buffet as the only evening choice. The location is however the true drawback with this hotel, far outside the city centre so there are no walking distance alternatives to the dull supper apart from a snack at the nearby petrol station.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The good: clean, free spacious parking, free wifi. The bad: noise from pool late in the eve. Room needed facelift. Location is not very central, good with car though. The ugly: a really annoying live band playing during the evening buffet. Breakfast: juice was watered out and sour. Bread from yesterday. Had to fetch coffee from the lobby as the stuff from the machine in the breakfast room tasted horrible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Stayed tree nights, but would have left earlier if we hadn´t prepaid. The rooms are ok, but the location of the hotel is not! With no air-condition in the room, we had to keep the window open at night. And the hotel is located close by the freeway, and the trucks and car kept us awake.
The internet connection was unstable and slow when online.
The pool looks nice on pictures, but is only about 90-100 cm deep. The hot tubs also looks good, but we found one was without water and the other wasn’t hot..
And be aware; we were promised a discount when we arrived, but didn’t get it at checkout.
For us the stay was ok, but we´ll definitely find another place to stay next time in Karlstad!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxholm
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

The hotel is located in the outskirt of Karlstad so a car is essential. We found the staff being very friendly and helpful. There is a heated outdoor pool and a jacuzzi which were much appreciated. Free internet in the lobby and if you bring your own laptop (wireless) you can use that one in your room. On the con side you will find that the hotel esp the long corridors is somewhat worn, and will need new material in the near future. Nevertheless, we booked via an consumer´s organisation that we are members of, and found a very good price for two night including a very nice buffet breakfast. Priceworthy we would say. There are a lot of interesting sites to visit in the vicinity - well, provided that you have access to a car, of course. The surrounding nature is in some places breathtaking. The enclosed pictures were taken at the Rottneros Park not far from Karlstad. It´s worth a visit.

  • Liked — Access to a balcony from our room
  • Disliked — Hard to say
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gjovik Norway & Kansas USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

My family searched for a hotel in Karlstad that has a swimming pool and is family friendly. We booked a weekend stay at a Best Western due to the great rate and amenities offered on hotels.com. Upon arriving at the hotel we were told that our room would be offered at a different rate, and that the policy for children's rates would also be different. When we told the desk clerk we saw the rate and amenities on Best Western and also on hotels.com, we were told that it didn't matter to the desk clerk. She said the hotel does not honor the rates and amenities offered on any website other than the hotels own site.

The clerk was rude and told us she didn't care whether we stayed at the hotel or not and that she can offer what ever rate she chooses and she chose not to offer us the better rate. When I mentioned that there were only four cars in the entire parking lot she became hostile. I was trying to add the second part of my plea that maybe customer service is a factor in the low number of guests, and she said she didn't care what anyone thinks.

Needless to say say we were out of country guests and it was already evening, we stayed. The next day our room wasn't cleaned and the hotel closed the pool, spa and sauna facilities to a rowdy group of men. When we told the desk clerk that the reason we chose the hotel was for the rate - which wasn't honored, the family friendly cleanliness which wasn't offered, and the pool which wasn't available, we were told that we could call the manager and complain. We did call the manager, who we were later told is also the owner. The owner has not called us back.

The desk clerk did say that only 34 people were staying at the hotel during the weekend. The hotel is a large hotel, conference center. There was one desk clerk, one hotel service person, one cook and we never saw how many maids (but since our room wasn't cleaned during three days I am not sure if there were a sufficient number). This hotel is like a big hollow shell. Old, outdated and dark, and somewhat deserted and dingy.

We were finally offered a free bedtime snack for the inconvenience, and our son got to swim for 1/2 hour. This hotel is an awful choice for any visitor to Karlstad. The tongue lashing we received and the rude and wreckless "customer service" was insulting. I would not recommend this hotel to any level of visitor, family, couples, older travelers or business.

  • Liked — Since it was almost empty it was quiet.
  • Disliked — The rude and incompetent (my opinion) staff.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens

Address: Hojdgatan 3, Karlstad 654 68, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karlstad Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gustaf Froding Hotell & Konferens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.