We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXCELLENT HOTEL - I AM A FREQUENT VISITOR!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangardsgatan 24, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% discount
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Uppsala
Lancaster, PA, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT HOTEL - I AM A FREQUENT VISITOR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I lived in Uppsala for 18 years before moving to the US. Now my family and I stay at the SVAVA HOTEL on every one of our visits to Uppsala.
The Hotel is right in the center of town, within walking distance of everything!
The Staff is excellent, very helpful and friendly. The rooms are excellent and very clean; the beds are very comfortable. Note that they are not all the same size and I would recommend that one ask for a larger room if you want one. The Breakfast is excellent. They offer free dinner every evening from Sunday-Thursday. The Free Internet service is very good. The only complaint i would have is that summer days can be very hot in Uppsala, and the air-conditioning system in this hotel needs an overhaul.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
14
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed here for a week while working at the NFA. Its within walking distance of most businesses in the area since it is a small town. The hotel itself is pretty standard. I don't require much. I stayed in a small room, with a small bathroom. It had a single bed and a small bathroom. Also, it had a desk area.

The breakfast was good, there was no fitness center, but jogging trails everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stay in hotels in Uppsala rather frequently and this is one of our absolute favourites. If you arrive by bus or train, the hotel is ideally situated just across the street from the railway station. If you arrive by car there is a public parking garage just around the corner from the hotel entrance, but unfortunately there is no hotel garage. The hotel is ideally situated in central Uppsala and all the sights, shopping and restaurants are easily reached by foot. The rooms are of average European size and nicely decorated. The whole property is in a very good state of repair and very tidy. According to my opinion, the breakfast buffet is a little above average Swedish standard, both regarding the variation of food and how it is presented. The hotel has a small bar in the lobby but no restaurant, but that is no problem as there are plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood. If you are planning a visit to Uppsala, I can sincerely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Close to the Uppsala train station. I arrived on a flight from the US in the morning, and were able to have a room ready for me for check in within a half hour. They had very good complementary breakfast in the morning. Reasonable walking distance to the University and the Uppsala castle for touristy activities while there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights.. very friendly staff and comfortable bed, clean bathroom. The room is not very spacious though. The hotel is very close to the central station, just a 2-min walk. You can also easily get buses to Stockholm, for example. Didn't try the breakfast, so can't comment on that. There's a decently maintained sauna too!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Good to stay in that hotel. Just near to railway station. I felt good environment with friendly staff, spacious bathroom. English spoken fluently throughout. The staff are friendly and happy to be of service. Rooms small compared to US, but best beds and excellent location. The location of the hotel was close to everything including a mall with lots of restraurants and a supermarket. I would love to be in this hotel again. I can recommend people to choose this hotel for their holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

This is a cute hotel in a very nice location. The train station is across the street, and the hotel is just a very short walk to downtown Uppsala. The staff was helpful and the hotel is cute, but what a surprise when you get to your room. It's about he size of a shoebox!!!! Okay, may be a bit bigger, but gosh it's small. It has everything you need: twin bed, desk, chair, closet, bathroom, but it's just not a comfortable place to stay for a long period of time. Fortunately, I was out the large majority of the day and evening so I really only used the room for sleeping. If you're uncomfortable with small spaces I would NOT recommend this hotel. I don't know if they have larger room, but I was there with colleagues and we all complained about the room size.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava

Address: Bangardsgatan 24, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.