We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well average Scandic, which really isn´t that good...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hotel Uplandia

Save Saved
You added Scandic Hotel Uplandia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dragarbrunnsgatan 32 | Box 1023, Uppsala 75140, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Uppsala
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well average Scandic, which really isn´t that good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Rooms are tiny, but newly refurbished. Hotel was fully booked over the weekend so breakfast was a mess and strangely enough breakfast is only until 10. The service was mixed but I could feel they were understaffed. Might now stay here again if something better comes up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    30
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
6
17
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I stay at the Scandic Uplandia several times per year even though I have other choices. The rooms are in two "classes" the older rooms which are more than adequate (and most seem to have a small refrigerator) and the newer "designer" rooms. Closet space in the new rooms is - well it is a couple of hangers on the wall and and there are no storage drawers. The older rooms have somewhat more storage. Either way they are comfortable.

Breakfast is good with several choices. The breakfast area is usually crowded during the week - it seems the military must have a contract with the hotel because there are always men in military uniforms at breakfast. The hotel also has a bar and dinner service. In addition there is a small snack area for take-away coffee, sandwiches and sweets. Wireless internet is free in the sleeping rooms and there is a computer/printer set up available in the dining/reception area.

The hotel is very well located for the car-less area and all the things you would need. Public transportation is also excellent as you are on a bus line and a 4-minute walk to the SJ train (you can get to Stockolm in an hour).

The best part of the hotel is indeed the staff. I have been coming here for years and many of the front desk staff are the same. Always helpful, they are very friendly and accomodating. (One time last year the hair dryer in the bathroom died - shooting quite some sparks in its death ritual) and I went to the front desk to ask for another one. They delivered one about 10 minutes later and funny, but when I returned to the room the next day I suddenly had several hair dryers in the room!

I won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrineholm
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This hotel as all Scandic hotels keep level of the brand and gives service on the really high level. Maybe hotel does not look impresive from outside, but it is defintelly worth to stay. Good rooms, designed in the swedish way, keeps room nice and comfortably to use.Great breakfasts. So many hot and cold dishes to choose from. Everything best quality.
Good hotel location, only 500 meters from Uppsala walking path, shopping center just on the other side of the street. About 5 min walking distance to Centrel train station.
100% recomendation

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Hotel in general: Hotel staff was nice, breakfast was good and the hotel was near everything, shops, rastaurants, and a walking distance from museums etc. We had superior room, which had more space than than an ordinary room. Bed was very comfortable and there was good flat tv. BUT bathroom and the toilet seat wasn´t very clean, room carpet had big areas of dirt in it, you could hear everything through the walls, and which was worst, there was no fridge or air conditioning, only electric fan. We were lucky that the weather happaned to be a little rainy, otherwise it would have been very hot. There was also no safety deposit, or extras like lotions, bathrobes, tissues, extra drinking glasses, and no bottle opener. The room also had like hospital feeling with all the white colors. And it was supposed to be superior room and the price was high. So unfortunately I can´t recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I visited Uppsala on a research trip to a local museum mixed with a little break with my boyfriend. We chose the Scandic Uplandia as it was a short walk both from the museum and Uppsala station. The location was excellent, very close to the main sights (cathedral, castle, river), shopping (a mall is opposite) and many good places to eat.

We booked and pre-paid online, and check-in was quick and completely hassle-free. Our room was a standard double, and although it was quite small and basic in terms of extras, it was kept spotlessly clean and the bed was ridiculously comfy. There was a flat screen TV with various channels. The bathroom had a decent shower and soap dispensers. It was a 'wet room' set-up where the shower is not separate from the floor, which I don't particularly like as you get wet socks (!) - but again, it was kept very clean and these kinds of showers aren't uncommon in Scandinavia anyway.

Breakfast was offered for a really long period (7:00-10:00). It was a large buffet and there was plenty of choice, including hot items like sausage, bacon and eggs, plus toast, rolls / bread, cereal (a 'make your own muesli' was my fave!), yoghurt, fruit and cold meats. There were also plenty of drinks, coffee, different teas and juices. There is also a bar and restaurant, although the restaurant is closed during the summer period and was closed when we visited. The reception area also has a small shop with sweets, drinks, sandwiches, postcards and other little things.

The hotel has a refurbished gym and sauna in the basement, which my boyfriend used during our stay. He said it was modern, clean and offered a bike, running machine, multi-gym and weight machines, with TVs to watch.

Free wi-fi was available, which is a bonus if you are working, researching somewhere to eat or want to check-in for your flight online; there is also a PC in reception where you can surf and print. There was also tea and coffee available during the day in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

I stayed just for one night in this hotel. The room is extremelly small.
As we were in a group, the check-in was very quick and organized.
The hotel is well located, with restaurantes, pubs and shopping from a walking distance.
Breakfast is just ok.
I didtn have time to check other amenities.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

We had booked the two-room suite and were very happy with what we got - almost an appartment, because we not only had two rooms, but also two bathrooms (one with shower and tub, the other with shower) and a corridor. There was plenty of storage and wardrobe space, which is essential if you travel to Sweden in December! The rooms were pleasantly uncluttered in classic nordic design. -- There is liquid soap in the bathrooms, but no "take home" body lotion etc., which is fine by me.
Staff was pleasant, breakfast buffet was good, I like the fact that you could simply take a bike to get around town -- I'd certainly book that hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Hotel Uplandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Uplandia

Address: Dragarbrunnsgatan 32 | Box 1023, Uppsala 75140, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Uplandia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Six-story Hotel located in town center, 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Hotel Uplandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Uppsala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Uplandia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.