We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and kindness from staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Gillet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Gillet to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Gillet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dragarbrunnsgatan 23, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Uppsala
Tranas, Sweden
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great service and kindness from staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Probably the most friendly hotel staff I ever met in a Swedish hotel. Very, very good! Felt like home from check-in, during the stay and breakfast, and even when picking up my bag many hours after checking out. A central located hotel with nice rooms and style! This is really THE choice in Uppsala!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Wow Rickard, you are spot on! This is how we wish all our guest to feel after a visit to our hotel! Welcome back - hope to see you in Uppsala again sometime soon! / Helena, Clarion Hotel Gillet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    105
    46
    18
    4
See reviews for
36
95
13
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A central hotel in Uppsala. Room was small but adequate but for a double room I would except two rather than one duvet!! Also the bathroom was not very clean with some wall rust. They could perhaps be renovated? Good breakfast with a variety of healthy options. Staff polite and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello Eleni, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Sounds like you stayed in our mini-double rooms, which sometimes has one duvet prepared, but if so can easily be made up with two by our staff. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast at Gillet, it gives you a great start of the day, doesn´t it? A warm welcome back /Helena, Clarion Hotel Gillet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great room, really nice bar and restaurant with good food and nice drinks.
The pool is quite old and the water is pretty cold, but they have a warm sauna you can use afterwords.
The breakfast was great with plenty of choices, they even had waffles!
I can really recomend this hotel if you are planning to visit Uppsala. The bar across the street from the hotel is very nice at night.

I will come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hej Niklas, thank you for sharing your feedback, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Welcome back next time in Uppsala / Helena, Clarion Hotel Gillet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Tried the Clarion Gillet even though I normally stay at Scandic. The staff was very helpful. However, it took several tries in both elevators for the keycard machine to work - quick swipes didn't work, had to try longer swipes, trial and error. This should be fixed so that it is responsive and easy to use! I looked forward to a dip in the pool in the spa but the water was cold!! The staff there agreed that it was too cold for comfort but they couldn't explain why it was cold. There was no time to wait for it to be warmed up (nor did they offer to do this). Before taking a dip I wanted to to use the exercise room but after I changed in the spa (the only changing rooms other than the hotel room itself) I had to trek all the way to the other end of the building to a lower level floor, go through conference room space (where people where having business workshops in full attire, and I in my shorts and t shirt and socks, and trek again to the other end of the building (right below the spa it turns out but no quick way to get there) to end up in a tiny room with mats, some running machines but no weight machine to speak of, just some dumbbells. Really cramped space. How were they thinking when they organized the placement of the fitness and spa activities? I left there decided to continue with Scandic - the ones I've stayed at the (more spacious) gym is at least next to the pool! So simple!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hej JR, thank you for sharing your feedback! We are happy to hear you experienced our friendly staff, as this is very important to us at Gillet and something we are really proud of.
You are right, our gym is small and maybe not in the most convenient place in the hotel. We recently moved the gym from the SPA area as it was so hot and humid there, and placed in a smaller area. We are looking into possibilities to extend our gym, bring in more equipment and make the atmosphere better. My hope is that you would like to try us out again! If you decide to do, please get in contact with me and I´ll make sure to show you around and listen further to your feedback. / Helena (helena.bovin@choice.se)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Following recent renovations of rooms and lobby/restaurant area, the hotel offers a very warm environment. The restaurant/lobby areas are particularly nice, warm and welcoming.
Rooms have been done up. New big flat screen tv, but choice of channel very limited. English and Scandinavian options only. Should open up to a wider inter cultural audience.
An extra set of towels would be nice, not just the one.
Breakfast offer in the restaurant is pretty amazing and you are spoilt for choice. Highly recommended.
Staff always very friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi, so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Gillet! Thank you for your feedback re the choice of TV-channels. We shall see what you can do about that! An extra set of towels are always available at the reception, so just a phonecall away! A very warm welcome back next time you are in Uppsala / Helena, Clarion Hotel Gillet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I arrived at the hotel at around 1:45 pm a Saturday afternoon, and left after breakfast the next morning.
(The highlight during our stay was our visit to the Uppsala City Theater during the evening were we had pre-booked tickets to the enjoyable performance of the play “Hedda Gabler” – written in 1890 by the Norwegian author Henrik Ibsen).

The receptionist at duty - a dark haired, pregnant, probably not yet 30 years old female - was indeed very friendly and professional. Her attitude would be the best model for many of her colleagues at front desks in the hotel industry.
She was in fact the hotel’s most positive asset that we experienced during our stay..

In the basement of the building there is a very large public (!) parking garage. We got a valid ticket from the hotel reception when we checked in; the cost for parking the car is SEK 180:- for up to 24 hours, i.e. very expensive.

Our room was situated at the 2:nd floor, with a nice double bed (though, the two pillows were not my style). The room was situated (so to say) at the backside of the building, i.e. towards some kind of a court yard. Perfectly fine to us, as the pedestrian streets at the other three sides of the hotel may be very noisy during the nights….especially during weekends: Uppsala is (as you surely know) a well-known student city and the party factor is therefore very high.
The view from our room was partly quite nice (except from the dull back yard), as we could see most of the very large cathedral, built in gothic style (in fact, it’s one of the three largest cathedrals in northern Europe).

The room itself had, as the rest of the hotel (i.e. the reception area and the restaurant), a very modern interior (see pictures), which I found nice. The standard of the room was adequate; as was the bathroom. However, the bathroom floor has no heating…which consequently appeared to be very cold.
Also (as a frequent business traveler) I missed a writing desk in the room where it would be able for me to put my PC for doing some work. Furthermore, the halogen reading lamp above the left side of the bed was out of order.
There were some indications at the ceiling and at some outer corners in the room that the plaster had seen its best days….as it had cracks or had disappeared.

Until 3:00 pm every Saturday and Sunday the hotel’s restaurant serves a brunch (the cost is SEK 199:-/adult). As the time already was around 2:00 pm, we particularly inquired if the food would be available until 3:00 pm…which was confirmed by the receptionist at the front desk as well as by one of the waiters in the restaurant.
Honestly speaking, I was very disappointed about the selection! We could hardly find anything special....i.e. anything extra beyond what you usually will find at well-sorted breakfast buffets…and what we actually found at the buffet next morning. The only two extra dishes they had at the brunch that we actually couldn’t find the next morning were the meat balls and the chicken wings. Apart from that – you could find the same the same/similar items; such as the salmon, the scrambled eggs, small sausages, the brie (cheese), herrings, cakes etc, etc.

When the clock reached 2.55 (!) pm, and we still were eating, the waiters suddenly grabbed the curtains in front of the brunch buffet and almost demonstratively closed the entry to that area.
I found their action and behavior directly customer unfriendly!

Any mature and thinking employee would off course first have come over to our table and friendly asked us if we would like to have some more before closing the brunch.

Regrettably, their behavior says so much about the whole place….and we left the restaurant with our conviction that we will not return ourselves - and we will not recommend the brunch to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi, thank you for sharing your feedback! I am glad to hear you had alot of positive inputs from your stay with us at Gillet, but I would also like to get in touch with you as it seem that you and your wife didn´t have time to finish your Brunch properly. Please e-mail me at helena.bovin@choice.se and I will help you further.
Very best wishes / Helena, Clarion Hotel Gillet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planetE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As a regular visitor of Sweden, and particularly Uppsala, i know pratically all hotels in and around Uppsala. The Clarion Gillet is probably one of the top3 hotels in downtown Uppsala. It is outstanding in terms of customer service. The staff i superfriendly. And the bar&restaurant area are very nice. Howver, you can see the hotel is a bit older because the room size is not any more up to standard. If you want to spend this money, then the brand new Raddison near the trainstation is absolutely the preferred choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking your time to leave a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoy our superfriendly staff and customer service. Did you have time to try out our new restaurant concept Kitchen & Table by top chef Marcus Samuelsson?
Our rooms comes in different sizes, you should definitely try out the next room cathegory the next time you stay with us! It will be more comfortable and give you more space.
If you send me an e-mail before your next stay with us I will make sure to welocme you and show you our different room cathegories. Hope to see you soon! / Helena, Clarion Hotel Gillet (helena.bovin@choice.se)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Gillet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Gillet

Address: Dragarbrunnsgatan 23, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Gillet 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Gillet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Uppsala
Clarion Uppsala
Uppsala Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Gillet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.