We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got robbed there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Uppsala Vandrarhem

Uppsala Vandrarhem
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Uppsala Vandrarhem to your Saves list
Uppsala Vandrarhem
Kvarntorget 3, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Tvedestrand, Norway
1 review
“We got robbed there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

We was robbed while we slept in this hotel. Luckily we woke up when the thief still was in our room, and he ran away before all our things was stolen. A very scary experience.

The hotel did not take this happening very seriously. They just refunded the payent for the following night. We spent that in another hotel of course.

We believe this was done by one of the staff. We locked the door, so it had to be unlocked by a key in addition to the keycard.

We would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel is now renamed Uppsala Kvarntorget Hotell. I understand it was formerly a supermarket which went broke and was later converted. Can you believe the room does not have a telephone! Neither does the hotel, between 8 Pm and 7 AM. The phone in the brochure rings at their branch somewhere near the airport and there is no one to pick up or transfer it to the hotel reception (dont forget the rooms dont have telephones!!) Room is fairly OK with a good bath attached. No service. Three very old PCs with CRT monitors offer free internet access, thank God. I think the hotel is mainly used by students as a temporary haven till they get accommodation!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed for one night. Did not meet Charlotte or Robert in person, the 30's couple who have opened this new hostel, as all arranged by phone: all very efficient and helpful, which a personal check in call from Charlotte, access and directions all easily arranged and confirmed by SMS. The hostel is a large, spacious, detached house from the 1800's, in a quite corner. Originally owned by a religious organisation, and at one time used as priest accommodation, it has a preservation order on it and has just recently been restored to a high standard, preserving many of the original features, and clearly has alot of thought put into it. All white inside, wooden floors throughout, rooms which are airy with good proportions, and really good sturdy doors & locks on each room. I stayed in one of the 'hotel room' and hired sheets/towel from the hostel ( as is a usual in Swedish hostels). Great feather duvet on the bed. Wifi access throughout and a well stocked kitchen ( equipment) and dining area. Quite, clean and with a good ambiance. The location is great, right in the centre, near to the station, and one can walk to the large supermarket, Hemköp, about 10 minutes down Kungsängsgatan, which is open every night until 22:00 hrs ,( a big plus in a town where things close relatively early). I really liked staying here and the price was really good for Uppsala. Wish Robert and Charlotte all the best in their new venture and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Stayed at this hotel/hostel for a few days. It's near the train station, good restaurants and shops. The place is new and secure, with more amenities being added. We stayed at a hotel room on the ground floor which was basic but pretty and cozy. There's a common area on the second floor where you can help yourself to breakfast, Wi-Fi, and the TV. Young owners Robert and Charlotte were welcoming and nice. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uppsala Vandrarhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppsala Vandrarhem

Address: Kvarntorget 3, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vandrarhem Uppsala occupies a historical 19th-century building and offers affordable accommodation in the center of Uppsala. Vandrarhem Uppsala has different size guest rooms, as well as dormitories. Shower and toilet facilities are shared, and guests are welcome to use the kitchen to prepare meals. Bed linen and towels are available for a small charge and there is free internet in the entire building. The hostel is 400 meters away from the Uppsala Central Station and a number of restaurants, bars and shops can be found in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Uppsala Vandrarhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uppsala Vandrarhem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.