We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprisingly Pleasant Outcome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kvarntorget

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kvarntorget to your Saves list
Hotel Kvarntorget
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kvarntorget 3, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Uppsala B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Surprisingly Pleasant Outcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

So this is a bit of a tale.Please try and make sure you read all of this review so you get a full story. :)

When we arrived in our initial given room and entered the bathroom, we were quite horrified as there was an overwhelming smell of sewage lingering in there. It was pretty powerful so we complained and were moved to a different room. This room was fine, no unpleasant smells.

You get a single Nordic sized pillow and 2 towels each. The room is pretty small, windowless and has a desk for one in a double room. Nothing glamorous but it was pretty clean and we were content to stay there. The shower is a little strange as it is like the ones you find at a public swimming bath and you have to keep pushing the button intermittently to keep it working. Our shower fixture was also broken so we couldn't adjust the height of it.

During the night, though generally pretty quiet, because the walls weren't too soundproof, the sound of doors opening and chairs moving could be heard quite clearly. We slept pretty roughly and stopped at the front desk to complain in the morning.

The manager we complained to was very apologetic and asked us questions to find out if it was possible to issue us a refund. It turns out that, unless you book directly with the hotel, a refund is usually not possible. We had booked with Expedia.com which means that all the profit does not reach the hotel and the terms and conditions would not enable the hotel to refund us.

So the manager then offered us another option of compensation, which was to buy us lunch and drive us to the airport. We were a little stunned at this but eventually accepted the offer and left our luggage at the hotel while we did a spot of shopping before we left.

Now, not to encourage the acceptance of such offers from strangers abroad but this was a case where the outcome was positive; he did indeed buy us a lovely lunch and drove us to the airport! Though not the best hotel experience, we were certainly impressed by his empathy and eagerness to make us feel compensated. Nice guy.

So there you go, the decision is yours to weigh up. :)

Room Tip: Maybe try and choose one that isn't too close to the dining area on the ground floor to avoid as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a Hotel that is combined with a youth hostel. I stayed at the hotel part. Helpful and friendly staff. I was there a little bit too early since it was stated in the confirmation that the rooms are not avaliable before 3pm, however, my room was already clean so I could get a key and drop my luggage there.
The room was clean with a window out to the back onto a parking lot, however, it was quiet. Clean bathroom. Nothing fancy, just functional. Internet in the room was included and worked well. It was a 15 min walk into the city center/train station. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was continental and also here nothing fancy: Just a breakfast. If you are just looking for a bed for a night and do not bother having a nice walk into the city center, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Clean and confortable rooms (even if most of them don't have windows on the outside), good breakfast. Good value for monney.

Restaurants and shops very close.

Really nice and helpfull manager and staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The room and bathroom were clean. But for what we paid, it was disappointing to have no bath or hand towels, a broken shower that squirted water on you and the bathroom fan buzzing away all day and night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

the price-performance ratio does not match. The staff is sometimes rude, not helpful. There were no bathrobes, as promised. The dirty mugs and glasses were not
exchanged or replaced. Tea and coffee were not filled the room. Currently being built in and around the hotel. It's noisy. Outside the hotel are very many cigarette butts. The hotel is more of a hostel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Quite the worst, filthiest youth hostel i have ever stayed in. It was shockingly expensive, full of winos in the corridor and unbelievably dirty. I spent an hour cleaning the floor of our room as my wife was so upset by how like a doss house it seemed. My boys found it laughably bad but were a bit unnerved by all the strange, glazed eyed men roaming around.
It should be shut down. I have stayed in some grimy places in New York City in the 1980's but this was worse than any of them...and yet we paid the equivalent of a luxury B & B here in the UK. Uppsala Vandrahem....you're having a laugh....at our expense.

Room Tip: Choose another youth hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This property contains both a hostel and a hotel. This review is about the hostel. The two parts of the property share a large sun garden/atrium with tables of various kinds, chairs, easy chairs and places to socialize.

I stayed in a private room in the hostel for 8 nights. It was quiet. The bed was comfortable. The hostel room was clean (cleaning staff are at work every morning). Bathrooms and showers--shared but private--are cleaned daily and reasonably clean.

The common kitchen is large and adequately stocked with pots, plates, silvrware. There are two refrigerators, three sinks, two stoves, three large round tables.

I would stay in the hostel again; this is a well managed property and quite secure.

My age: 49.

My average ratings indicate this is not a first class hotel, or a hotel at all, just that it was neither exceptional nor in any way bad.

Hostel private room nightly runs well under $100. Sweden is an expensive destination.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kvarntorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kvarntorget

Address: Kvarntorget 3, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kvarntorget 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Kvarntorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kvarntorget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.