We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Hotell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Strand Hotell to your Saves list
Strand Hotell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drottninggatan 2, Norrkoping 602 24, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Norrkoping
Surrey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I booked a night at the Strand because it was within a lowish budget and very close to the station. It is both very good value and in a great location overlooking the river. On arrival I was very pleasantly surprised. It's a bit like going on a blind date and ending up with a duchess, very refined and elegant, possibly a little older than expected but up for a good night out . The hotel is like living in a Karl Larsson picture, with furniture and character from a bygone age. The rooms retain their individual character but are equipped with modern bathrooms. The shared areas are exceptionally presented and the breakfast was excellent. Dinner is not served but there is an excellent bar over the road which serves food till late. This was a business stay but the Strand gets the ultimate accolade of wanting to return on holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different - if staying for a long period you will need a room with a larger wardro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
30
4
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

A very special hotel with taste, warmth and elegance. If you're tired of the predictable standard hotel, this is a great choice. You feel immediately at home in the room and the breakfast is definitely better than the one I usually eat at home!

Room Tip: The switch for the television set is on the top of the TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 10 days in the two bedroom apartment on a recent visit to Norrkoping. We were absolutely delighted with our experience. Lena and her staff were helpful and courteous without fail. The breakfast was typically Swedish and consistently of a very high quality. We needed our own cooking facilities and the apartment offered a full kitchen and large fridge, perfect for us and could easily accommodate a family of 5 or 6. I have stayed in a variety of hotels in Norrkoping and the Stand Hotel is definitely my best experience. It is well located, the rooms are full of character, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

A hotel with history and character. Each room is different. Shared sitting, dining and library areas are a treat and give a feeling of a more restful time long gone.Wifi works well and is free. Truly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes character and history rather then same and known.

Room Tip: Rooms are small and personally decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having read the reviews we decided to try out this delightful little hotel on a visit this week to Norrkoping. It is so well situated in the town, being and easy walk from museums and good restaurants. My misgiving was to book somewhere without air conditioning, however any minor pitfalls like this and the highly eccentric elevator were more than made up for by the charm of the place and the delightful owners. It was also spotlessly clean. Good breakfast and lovely room with a great view of the canal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a wonderful experience staying at Strand Hotel! Emelie at the front desk was very kind and welcoming for us and our small dog. Our spacious room even included an old Swedish porcelain stove! Strand Hotel is the perfect location for exploring Norrkoping which offers beautiful walks along the river with lush parks filled with fragrant flowers. Located just a five minute walk from the train station, Strand Hotel is extremely comfortable and quiet. The breakfast buffet was quite impressive with Swedish meatballs and waffles! Strand Hotel provides the perfect base for exploring this charming town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Standing in front of the building I was a bit uncertain if I made a good decision booking this hotel. BUT the owner gave us a warm welcome, offered tea in the cute sitting room, showed us our newly renovated room and told us a story about the name of the room. It's the cutes room ever, small but clean, very compfy beds, and with a new bathroom. We r in love with it :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strand Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotell

Address: Drottninggatan 2, Norrkoping 602 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Ostergotland County > Norrkoping
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Norrkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Hotel is centrally located in Norrkoping, overlooking the river. The building is a beautiful 1890s house with the elegant tiled stoves from that era preserved in several rooms. In the cozy salons one can sit back with a cup of coffee after a busy day out and about. During weekends the popular Afternoon Tea is served in the Salons. Strand Hotel is located about 300 meters from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Strand Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.