We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak and Stilton Pie Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Old Road | Worcester, Clifton-upon-Teme WR6 6DR, England
+44 1886 812226
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: British, English, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: The New Inn re-opened in May 2009 and the new landlord and landlady, Dave and Shelagh, are always on hand to give you the warmest of welcomes. They are extremely knowledgable if you are unsure which is the best tipple for you!Described as a 'hidden gem in the Worcestershire countryside', The New Inn is the perfect place to go and sit with a pint of beer from the selection of excellent Wye Valley Brewery ales, guest beers, a choice of fine wines and a variety of soft drinks.The views across the Worcestershire countryside are arguably the best views, from its elevated position, anywhere in the country. A variety of excellent fare is on offer both in the bar or in the dining area. Our homemade menu consists of starters, main meals and side orders. There is also a wonderful Char Grill and a good selection of desserts, there is also a traditional Roast Dinner served from 12.30Pm on Sundays.Children are welcome at the New Inn and the menu can be adapted to cater for the smaller appetite if so wished!
Haslemere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Steak and Stilton Pie Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

OMG! What a pie. The New Inn served up the best Steak and Stilton pie I have ever had. I have to go so far as to say it's in my top ten food worship moments ever. Then I was fortunate enough to go back the following day for their very good Sunday Roast. Feel very lucky to have dined here and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelagh G, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Molewoman - thank you very much for your adoration comments about our homemade pies. So glad that our Sunday roast went down well too. Look forward to seeing you again soon so that you can try a different flavour filling in your pie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromyard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great Steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The New Inn has a wonderful welcoming atmosphere and is a true 'locals' pub. They cook a great steak and its great value. We were disappointed that the starters all seem to be straight from the freezer and into the fryer. This may have changed by now. The main courses are all much more home made. We didn't have pudding

The New Inn also holds a the best mower race in the area! Its well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelagh G, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments about our food, particularly the steak that you had - our meat comes from Gladwins family butcher in Bromyard. Our starters and desserts are all homemade as well. Glad that you like our venue for the mower race too. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food & a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stumbled across this hidden gem whilst visiting a local friend. Delightful home made food at a good price, with a great view overlooking Worcester. Will definitely be back soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelagh G, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feed back about our pub. Glad that you found us as we are not on the main road. Yes the view is awsome but glad that you liked the food too - open 7 days a week. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have been here several times this week and found the meals to be excellent. The staff are friendly and very helpful. This village pub is well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelagh G, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you Janice M for your comments - it is good to know that our food satisfied you and that we are appreciated for what we do. I will pass your comments on to the staff. Do come back with your family any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better steaks than Marco Pierre White's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is our local. Always clean, welcoming, friendly. Excellent pub grub (review title is true - from experience!). Good value for money. Excellent views across the valley. Lovely to sit outside in the summer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Wichenford, Worcester
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.