We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in paradise for the Dobrovolskis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Beach Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Beach Village to your Saves list
Samui Beach Village
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Holiday in paradise for the Dobrovolskis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from a beautiful, intoxicating holiday with my family and another family of 4 from SBV. We stayed in baan oasis and had plenty of room to move and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. The kids had a great time in the pool and enjoyed mixing with other families at the club house. The tennis court, pool table and table tennis kept them entertained whilst we adults endulged in one or two yummy cocktails. The tours recommended by Phil were fantastic and well organised. The one ingredient that makes SBV so wonderful is the staff. From the poolman to the house help, to the waiters, kitchen staff, Noi the babysitter, the security man and his rooster and reception staff, we say a big thank you. A special mention to James, Chang, Kenji and Eak(chef) for their friendly service and for also allowing us a glimpse into their lives. Thanks for the smiles and chats. Finally a big thank you to Jane and Phil for ensuring we had a family holiday to enrich our memories for ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Samui Beach Village, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Tanya D,

It is so wonderful to hear that Samui Beach Village, the villa, the place and all our staff gave you an amazing holiday and memories to take home with you.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share you experience with others and we hope that you come back and visit us soon!

Kind Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    82
    27
    11
    16
See reviews for
228
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were 14 (6 adults and 8 children) staying in the villas Tawan and Leelavadee for 12 nights during Christmas/ New Year 2012/13. Absolutely no complaints what so ever. Phil, Jane and Sophie went out of their way to meet all our needs.
The villas had no hidden suprises, very clean and all appliances worked.
We can definately advise families with small children to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Samui Beach Village, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear PatrickBarbe,

Was wonderful having your family stay with us over the festive period and we are very happy that Baan Tawan and Baan Leelavadee were the perfect villas to accommodate your needs.

Jane, Sophie and myself are always very happy to assist all of our guests and ensure your holidays are exactly what you wished for - thank you for your kinds words and we do hope you recommend us to family and friends!

Thank you again for the review, much appreciated

Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had the most amazing holiday experience at Samui beach village with my family last summer. We were greeted warmly upon our arrival, after being collected from the airport, arriving in an oasis of beauty, peace and tranquility. Our villa was impressive to say the least, with incredible attention to detail offering every home comfort. The villa was immaculately clean and kept this way throughout our stay by the very friendly and help full staff. The location of the resort was excellent being close to many places of interest, never the less, Samui beach village resort offered a host of excellent facilities such as games centre, tennis, gym and fine dinning whilst nestled on a beautiful unspoilt beach. I would consider the whole experience as excellent and wouldn't hesitate in recommending Samui Beach Village Resort to anyone. A big thank you to all the staff, who made our 2012 holiday so perfect and look forward to returning very soon..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Samui Beach Village, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Helen L,

Thank you so very much for writing such a glowing review.

We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much and even more thrilled to hear that you may be returning soon! All our staff will ensure your next holiday will be just as good, if not surpass your last one.

Until your return!

Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Let me start my review by saying we had booked and paid for 7 nights in an ocean room and we left after 3. Even though we were leaving so soon, on the day of our departure not one member of management came to talk to us and ask us why we were leaving - being in the service industry myself, I found this incomprehensible. Surely, you realise your guests are unhappy if they cut their stay short? During our stay, we saw two British people that we think were the managers, but they never came to introduce themselves or to chat to us. Having stayed at another resort in Koh Samui before this one which was owner-managed, we were sorely disappointed by the attitude here. The Thai staff are all very friendly though and also very helpful.

The main reasons we left this resort for somewhere else are:

- Cleanliness. The rooms themselves were not completely clean and we found the clubhouse to be really dirty and full of flies. The ladies room didn't have hand towels or anything.
- Attention to detail. There is no turn down of beds at night or any little special touches and the shopping list we required was not supplied to us in our room. This was extremely frustrating.
- Grounds. We found the grounds to be unclean, bits of paper or plastic bottles were strewn along pathways and the ocean rooms face a river tributary that washes up a lot of rubbish every day. This rubbish was never collected by the ground staff and could simply be picked up every day to ensure the river/beach area looks inviting - again, I feel this is a bad management issue.
- Ocean rooms are very small and look a lot bigger on the website. Also, the beds are extremely uncomfortable and very hard. They also don't technically face the ocean - they face a sister resort's restaurant, even though this doesn't show on the website.

Even though we have stayed in various big resorts around the world, this resort just lacked the basics for us, making it very average and certainly nothing special. There are much nicer places to stay on the island, as we have discovered.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed SBV for 7 nights at the end of November with another family in Baan Chang and had a great time (despite the weather). The Villa was perfect for the two families of 4 where we had plenty of room to spread out. The staff (Toon, Benz, Lae just to name a few) are a real asset and go out of their way to help and make you feel welcome. The food in the restaurant was plentiful and varied with something for everyone.

Special thanks to Phil for his suggestions from a special meal at Rocky's to the friday night markets at fishermans village.

We are all looking forward to another holiday at SBV.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Samui Beach Village, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear mrdean13,

There is nothing better than reading a review titled 'we will be back'!

Wonderful to hear that the staff were helpful and you loved the food and everything else, as well as the recommendation of Rocky's and Fisherman's Village! The walking street market is great fun for food bits, trinkets and drinks as well as people watching.

Hope to see you on your next holiday and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review!

Kindest Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just completed a wonderful 2 weeks in Ocean 7 & 8! Most relaxed we've been in a long time! This was the perfect spot for our family vacation. Best things about our stay were the location (quiet and away from the hustle/bustle), great food and the happy and accommodating staff. Thanks SBV! We plan to return again.

John & Anna

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Ocean Rooms but will probably try a villa on our next visit.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Samui Beach Village, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear John and Anna,

2 weeks is the perfect time to ensure a relaxed holiday and Samui Beach Village is definitely the place to be if you are looking to unwind and forget about work and the daily grind.

It's wonderful to hear that the place, the food, the staff and everything else was as you expected and needed!

Until your next relaxing vacation!

Kindest Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thank you to all the wonderful staff accommodating the myriad requests of a 17 person family reunion with multiple arrivals, villas, and ages ranging from three months to - well to much older! A special thank you to Lift for all the coordination of airport pickups and filling requests that included finding a small Christmas tree for the children and turkeys to cook. Also thank you to Jet for arranging the off site activities The elephants were a hit! Please extend a special thank you to all the housekeeping staff and the restaurant staff, including James for arranging milk shakes by the pool for a large group of children who keep chaning their minds between chocolate, vanilla and strawberry. The inclusion of breakfast gave all the moms a relaxed way to begin a vacation day and the massage gifts were a treasured break for all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Samui Beach Village, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear j e,

We were absolutely thrilled we could be a part of your 17 strong family reunion!

The staff are fantastic with children, and all guests and we are thrilled that they made your stay extra special....and we are even happier that the Mum's squeezed a bit of relaxation in with the breakfast :)

Please come back again soon....next family reunion?!

Kindest Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Beach Village

Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Beach Village 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Beach Village is a beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms with beautiful Ocean views, along with a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa, complimentary Water Sports, a FREE Children's Club and more....All with over 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. Ideal for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or your perfect beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Samui Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Beach Village Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.