We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sanctuary & full of possibilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Beach Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Beach Village to your Saves list
Samui Beach Village
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“A Sanctuary & full of possibilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011 via mobile

SBV

Beach - only downside HOWEVER Tha fact that there are no crashing waves and pure White sandy beach means it's much more quiet and unspoilt with only a handful of locals keeping to themselves and other holidayers going for a long walk into the water as tide comes in just before sunset.romantic and/or meditative. Incredibly you can walk for over 200yards or so into the water and only be up to your knees. Ideal for kids. Amazing view of the aspect of Laem Set beach from a good distance. Koh Samui is beautiful to look at from the water. We visited Lamai beach once (10mins shuttle or scooter ride - so 
easy) and thereafter were happy with the pools and quiet sanctuary of the resort which truly feels like a TINY village. SBV beach is fine to walk on and clean enough. If it were a perfect White sand beach with crashing waves it would not be the hideaway that it is. 

Staff - Sweet staff. Attentive and not in your face. Management are English & Australian as well as Thai. Owners are English & Thai. 

Rooms/Villas: stayed in a groundfloor Ocean room for 7 nights then moved onto a Villa called Rimhaad for last 2 nights. The 10 ocean rooms are a superb idea. You feel part of a tiny community of guests who will say hello or leave you to your privacy as you relax in the plunge pool and sunbeds you share with guests staying above or below you. We came off peak (May) and were at one point the only guests in Ocean Rooms. Only annoyance: Orchid Resort across the way (other side of the tiny bridge that separates you) has a restaurant that is visible. Staff aren't very professional but are harmless. You can use Orchid resorts 2 fab pools or just stick to SBV's own Clubhouse pool & facilities. 

Clubhouse: it's a 5 minute walk from all villas and Ocean rooms. It includes the large pool, tennis courts, games area, gym, spa, restaurant and reception. This is what you will see when you enter the resort in their own branded and clean and comfortable vehicles (if 
you let them arrange your transfers). There is a golf cart staff use and they will give you a lift to your room as and when is necessary. Otherwise the walk to and from is lush with spectacularly kept plants & trees (it's jungle remember) and the walk helps digest the menu which should be award winning. Porrn I think is the head Chef and she is the cutest loveliest lady. Very humble. 

Food: menu for lunch and dinner very diverse and tasty as well as serving halal meat (big plus for us - they must source from the Muslim village nearby which I never caught sight of - the locals really keep to themselves in this unspoilt beautifully lush and green area). Breakfast is basic but the fruit, coffee and service are all so pleasant it wasn't an issue.  Continental brekkie as well as Eggs all available as well as vast shakes (smoothies) and fresh juice.

Resort next door (X2 resort) has an amazing chef&menu and the interior design is impressive to say the least. There are tons more local restaurants that SBV recommend in the guest info you receive. Rockys is another. Cliff Bar .... Wow! Samui Beach Spa Resorts Renaissance restaurant is a must to visit. Think that's the name. It's in Lamai. Great vegan,raw and other stuff on internationally renowned menu.

Location: yes it's not Lamai or Chaweng but if you want to explore all you have to do is hire a scooter via SBV for 250Baht perday (fiver) and away you go. Independent! Or use the free daily SBV shuttle service. Taxis are available but no point. Just get a scooter! Lamai was enough for us. Chaweng we drove through and looked way too touristy. 

Value for money: in the resort you're looking at a lunch or dinner (soft drinks included in this approx) for 2 ranging from 600Baht to 1200Baht which is only about 12-24quid and the food is superb. Village burger is amazing. The Veg pizza very nice. All Thai dishes are mouth watering and way better than UK Thai restaurants like Mango Tree. Most the time our meals were only approx 14quid for both of us.

Spa: Louise and the other main massage therapist are so so so professional and forthcoming. ESP after our disappointing experience in Bangkok. The Spa at SBV is very respectable in size and decor and serene to be in. Incredibly clean. 5+Star to be fair. Very high standard for food and spa for sure. 

Tennis court - huge. 

Table tennis - fun. 

Pool table also I think. 

Clubhouse Pool is very adult and clean and good for relaxing in as well as swimming. 

I would recommend this place. It is definitely on it's way to becoming a luxury resort but honestly not necessary. It's got an unspoilt yet clean and maintained feel in a great serene location. 

There are stray dogs everywhere in Koh Samui. The few in SBV are very well mannered. I didn't stroke them! They kept away from me even though I love dogs. 

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    79
    26
    9
    16
See reviews for
214
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beerwah, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We were not aware the tide in koh samui goes OUT at least 500m, for 6 months of .the year. Spoilt it for us. Had to hire car to look for swim beach (didnt find one). Pool nice.
Main building /big pool not part of resort! went up there anyway. nice. Had some sort of mini zoo there, animals in tiny cages. TIGER in tiny cage!! native people in k.s. al lovily and kind.Be aware, rubbish everywhere. food very nice. alot of damage due to recent flooding.

Room Tip: hire a car. make sure you go when tide is IN!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meash, General Manager at Samui Beach Village, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear Jesse95Alex00,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Koh Samui here on Trip Advisor.

It is true that for a few brief months of the year, the tide here on Koh Samui can recede to shallow depths. In our experience here at Samui Beach Village, it creates interesting water and rock pools for children and adults to explore and wide open spaces for football, cricket and leisurely sunset walks or early morning jogging. The white fluffy sand and tranquil surroundings are great for kids to play in, away from the crowds of Lamai and Chaweng.

For those who enjoy swimming at this time of year, we have a large pool at our Clubhouse, along with fitness facilities and tennis court. We also provide complimentary shuttle buses into Lamai three times daily to provide additional convenience for our guests.

The nearby Tiger Zoo is not affiliated with Samui Beach Village.

The flooding did cause some damage on Samui back in March, and thankfully, we were not affected by it. The city municipality have been working hard rectifying roads and drainage and we are pleased to inform that the weather has been hot and sunny.

We do hope you get the chance to visit beautiful Koh Samui again. Wishing you all the best from all the team here at Samui Beach Village.

Luke Salway
General Manager
Samui Beach Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We booked the Ocean Rooms for 5 nights for our honeymoon. The resort is a good half hour from Chaweng – suitabality depending on your plans. And it’s a much quieter secluded spot which you will appreciate when you see the bustle of Chaweng.

The Ocen Room was extremely clean and well maintained and had all the basic amenities and the luxury that one could imagine. It was at a stone's throw (literally!) from the private beach. We had our own dip pool, cleaned daily by a team of friendly house-keepers.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. In particular, Fiona, Chaai (one of the taxi drivers) and the security guard (who smiled and saluted every time we passed him!).

We hired a bike, from the SBV office (very quick and simple) and were able to get about round the whole island. SBV also arrange for various tours in & around the island.

The Spa packages offered are simply out of this world. I can go on & on about possibly the greatest vacation of our lifetime that we had as a couple. I would strongly recommend a stay at the Samui Beach Village for anyone who is looking for a perfect holiday experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed in Ocean room Villas (2 nights) and Baan Suay villa (5 nights).

Ocean rooms are well furnished / comfortable and well located (front of the beach). Actually a good value for week-end or short stays.

Not sure is this a matter of season but the beach directly in front of the village was not very suitable for swimming (reefs are 300-400m away so water does not flow back during day time) so you need to walk just a bit. Other wise beach is clean, with beautiful sand.

Baan Suay villa is very well designed and ideal for a peaceful retreat with kids. Only regret is actually the additional bungalow which eats most of the garden. Breakfast in the villa is good (pastries could be better). Concept of shopping list is an excellent idea, allowing savings from usual expensive mini-bars.

Restaurant facilities are adequate, with 2 restaurants serving decent Thai and western Food. Club House is new and provides a Gym, Tennis (good lighting!) and other games. Its organisation could easily be enhanced but I guess this is part of a run-in process.
Reception staff is very helpful in helping car / motorbikes rentals and other tours.

Last but no least, compliments to the private chef. Very nice person and wonderful cook !

Room Tip: Get Villas closer to the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My husband and I got married here last month along with almost 40 guests. I booked all our guests into 6 beautiful villas – Baan Flora, Baan Lotus, Baan Chaai Haat, Baan Leelavadee, Beach Village House and Baan Sabai. We stayed in Baan Flora with some of the bridal party. Baan Flora was definitely one of the most impressive of the villas with a great outdoor entertaining area – perfect for group functions!
From the very start, the service at the resort was exceptional. We all arrived in drabs on the weekend and Fiona and her team made sure each were welcomed individually and showed to their villas. They organised a group lunch for those who had arrived in time. On the second day, after the majority of our guests had arrived, we had a welcome party at our villa. This was definitely a great start to what was an amazing week overall. We had pre ordered softdrinks with the resort and guests had brought with them some bottles of wine and spirits. And I had agreed on the menu and pricing with the resort earlier. They even provided brown rice at my request! The resort staffed the function with bar staff, chef and cooks to prepare all the food and look after all our guests. They cleaned up all the plates and came back the next day to clean up after the party.
Throughout the week, our guests had a beautiful time. The resort organised a fishing trip for those keen to go. And one night we organised all our guests to get into town for dinner – they provided transport there and back. Villas were cleaned daily and overall were of a fantastic standard. And as each villa had a shared kitchen and lounge area all our friends and family could relax and spend time with the rest of the guests, whilst also each having their own rooms and bathrooms. We had guests ranging in age from 6 to 75 and everyone loved the resort and had a wonderful week.
Wedding was sensational. It was an incredible day and staff were on hand all day to ensure everything went as smooth as possible. Whilst it was a little tedious to try and organise it all from Australia, wedding coordinator Jade managed to put it all together on the day, and my new hubby and I and all our guests truly had the time of our life.
Our last evening we had another dinner party at our villa which our parents decided to cater. Staff still helped set everything up and looked after us. Of course, service is not free! And we did have to pay for all help, but relatively it is affordable and I found the cost reasonable in light of the thoughtful service and that I didn’t have to worry about a thing! And I normally do worry!
Thank you to all the staff for a week to remember! Thank you to our domestic daily angels, to Jade, Jane, Fiona, Ben, Warooni, and all the wonderful staff at the kitchen and bar!
A couple of tips – wedding videographers Creatia were fantastic and immensely professional. Happy with photographer Danai also. We liked that the resort was a good half hour from Chaweng – but this might not suit everyone. We only went into town a couple of times, so didn’t bother most of us. And it’s a much quieter secluded spot which you will appreciate when you see the bustle of Chaweng…
Also, the Club House restaurant was superb. Eating there was always fantastic, but ordering in was a little tricky sometimes because their English wasn't great. i ordered brown rice and got a bottle of wine once! But overall great fresh food reasnable priced for a resort. Don't go to the adjacent Orchid restaurant - terrible service and food. The wedding reception was actually there but the SBV staff took over and did all the cooking and service so it was FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

This place is amazing!!! The views are incredible, The staff are lovely, everything about Samui Beach Village is fantastic!!!! Jane, Wahruni and all the staff, thankyou soo much for the experience of a lifetime. We would advise anyone and everyone to stay at SAMUI BEACH VILLAGE. We will be back next year and possibly every year after that. We LOVED it !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We were part of a wedding party and stayed at Samui Beach Village for a whole week. It was wonderful and credit must be given to the fantastic staff who work there. Nothing was too much of an ask and they were 100% accommodating and responsive to all our needs. Complete service with a smile. Made our stay there very relaxing and enjoyable.

We stayed at the newly renovated Baan Flora and the location is amazing. Right on your doorstep is the beach but we barely got past the door step, given our private pool, sauna and large entertaining area. Not to mention the very popular and romantic wooden swing at the front. The layout of the place is fantastic and great for relaxing or holding private parties. It is a little bit out of the way from Chaweng but the staff will happily organise transfers for you if you need to go to town.

The only slight problem we experienced was with regards to one of the bathrooms of the bedroom. The light and hot water kept switching off but this was probably just a problem with the switchboard. There was a bit of the smell sometimes when flushing the toilet but hopefully they have rectified this now. It wasn't bad enough to make the stay horrible!! Maybe just check they've fixed this before booking.

Otherwise I have no hesitation to recommend this place and it really contributed to one of the best holidays away I have had.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Beach Village

Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Beach Village 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Beach Village is a beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer both luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms, along with a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa Center and more....All with 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. FREE Children's club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Samui Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Beach Village Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.