We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven ! would definitely come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui to your Saves list
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116/1 Moo 2, Tambon Maret, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Heaven ! would definitely come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

What a great resort ! totally worth every single dollar we spent. The hotel is superb, rooms are spacious, modern and totally lovely. Living room and kitchen are big as well. Washing machine, drier, and ipod dock are also availble. The pools are amazing and it is so peaceful there. We stayed there for 2 nights in the 2 bedroom seaview suite and would definitely come back there next time.

The service is great, staffs speak English very well. Their in house resto (Beyond the sea) has a great food with reasonable prices. Breakfast are served at beyond the sea at 7-10.30am.

We have nothing to complain about. Totally in love with this place although it is abit far from the tourist area (Chaweng). It took us about 30 mins to Chaweng, but they provided shuttle bus to chaweng twice a day (at 11am and 5pm) for free (one way only - hotel to chaweng). Besides that free shuttle, they can also send you to your Chaweng for 600bath one way or Airport for 1000bath (about the same price as regular taxi).

Room Tip: higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear nayuthia,

Thank you for such a generous review, it was great to read that your experience was faultless and that you found our team to be truly amazing. What a compliment this is - I am sure the rest of the team will also be very pleased to receive such feedback.

It is pleasing to know you enjoyed our spacious, luxurious and well-equipped room and as they were designed with these key qualities in mind and attention to detail is certainly at the core of all we offer. I am also happy to hear that our team were the warmest you have encountered, I am delighted to see their dedication and personalities are shining through.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that it is very soon indeed.


Warmest Regards,
Chawalit Rungsirinatee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    92
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
163
89
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Travel Feb 2012 with husband and 5 yr old kid, stayed from Feb 10 to 13 (4D3N). Room 331 Single room sea-view.

Our first trip was around 8 yrs ago and we were amazed at how much Koi Samui had changed since we last came. This time round we have a kid, and so we chose Shasa because of its children facilities. We were definitely amazed at everything we experienced there.

Do take the hotel transport, the roads are narrow and there are not much traffic sign to guide you. Taxis are great, but they are not along the road when you need them, so we took hotel transport which cost 1000THB per trip (you need to add 10% service charge and 7% VAT) to and from the hotel.

Our arrival on Fri was late at night around 9pm, so we ordered room service, 2 pad thai (chicken and seafood) and a children's meal (chicken soup glass noodle). My son finished his soup noodle and its his first time having glass noodle. Our pad thai was fantastic, and we did not wait long for the food to be served in our room.

My son had a wonderful time at the Kid's room, it have lego, blocks, drawing and coloring materials. It's a pity we missed the Kid's planned activities. I think you need to book the Kid's activity at the reception. We also could not use the Wii game, as no one was around to help.

We had a great time at the swimming pool too. There are 3 pool in Shasa, the pool nearest the beach has a kid's pool. The changing room is below the restaurant, just a few steps away from the Kid's pool. We tried going swimming after breakfast, and the water is too cold, and the wind is extremely strong. A better time to go to the swimming pool is in the afternoon time.

We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the restaurant too, Beyond the Sea. Meals prepared are wonderful, my only regret is that my son cannot let me enjoy my meal as he is too tired and bored after his meal. I had to feed him first before I can have my meal. Do try the satay grob, my fav. The risoto rice is rather hard for my taste. And for breakfast, we go for the normal omelette and pancake. One of the staff told us that we can actually order from the menu even for breakfast, and it's complimentary. The restaurant is far from our block, and at night we have to be very careful when walking down the winding staircase to the restaurant, its very dim and very windy. The morning staff is very attentive, they always gave my son children cutlery. The lunch and dinner staff did not do so thou.

We also took the complimentary shuttle to Lamai beach to go to Teso, do book with the reception.

This is also the first time that we had such a big suite with a well stocked kitchen and dining table. The washing machine and dryer is amazing, I regret not using it as my stay was rather short.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Dear Grace Hui,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some comments about your recent stay at ShaSa Resort and Residences. It is indeed pleasing to read that you thought the overall experience was exceptional and your remarks regarding our F&B Service staff at breakfast area will gladly be shared with the entire team here. Your details regarding the areas to be improved are both welcomed and appreciated as it is with constructive comments such as yours that we are able to fine tune our services.

Grace Hui., thank you for choosing us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you once again for your next holiday to Koh Samui.

Warmest Regards,
Chawalit Rungsirinatee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed in Shasa for 8 nights on our honeymoon. And i must tell, we had a great time. The suites are very nicely decorated, beautifully designed and the view from balcony is just mesmerizing!!!! Staff is super cool and friendly. They did everything to ensure a totally memorable stay. A perfect place to chill out. People who look for beaches n parties might have to travel a lil bit as shasa is on quite a distance from the lamai beach. But once u stay there, that distance wont matter as you can take a scooter and enjoy the ride :) Overall Amazing Place!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Tia S.,

Thank you for sparing your valued time and writing a wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had a great time at the resort and we were able to exceed your expectation. I am very proud of the team here and the effort they put in to ensure our guest have wonderful stay with us.

I will be sure to pass your comments along to our entire team as recognition of their professionalism and dedication. I hope we have the opportunity to look after you all once again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Chawalit Rungsirinatee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Our family went last year in August and we loved it so much that we are going back this month. Havent booked yet though. The staff is super friendly, specially with kids.
This is a perfect hotel to relax with your family in a quiet atmosphere without all the tourist that there are in the bigger beaches.
Make sure you take the cooking lessons with the chef. Amazing!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Cariar ,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to offer your comments regarding your experience. We are delighted to hear that you found our resort was perfect place for families. We are pleased also to know that our team was able to surpass your expectations. I have already passed along your gracious comments to our entire team and it is comment such as yours that serve an inspiration for our team to continually deliver high standards that you experienced.

Cariar, thank you once again for your stay with us and I would be honoured to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next holiday.

Warmest Regards,
Chawalit Rungsirinatee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We recently stayed here (4 adults and 2 children) - we had the best time. The apartment had 3 bedrooms (all en suite) which was more than big enough, the kitchen was well-equipped and the laundry room proved invaluable. The staff were fantastic and the atmosphere was very informal with high standards - all of the staff were extremely professional and couldn't do enough to make our stay wonderful. The restaurant was great - they more than catered for all our needs (I am an extremely fussy eater). We stayed for 13 days and were not ready to go home. The beach was small but to be honest I'm not great with sand anyway so it completely suited us! The fact that the resort is away from Chaweng and Lamai gave us the peace and quiet we were looking for but the transport provided by the resort meant we could access these places when required. The children's facilities were outstanding and my 2 boys are very sporty and took full advantage of the kayaks, Thai boxing, children's room, DVD's and books.

All in all, a fantastic time was had by all and we really weren't ready to leave. We will go back and have no hesitation in rating the resort as 'Excellent'.

Room Tip: There are only 30 suites and all have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear DCH64.

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to offer your comments regarding your experience. It was wonderful to know that you did have a great time at our resort. I am pleased also to know that you were delighted with our staff, restaurant, facilities and found our three bed-room suite is fantastic as well as all suites are seaview, well equipped kitchen, spacious living/dining room and big balcony. I am particularly delighted to read that you found our Kids Club & Children activities were beyond your expectations! Many thank for your kind words.

DCH64., thank you very much again for staying with us and we do wish to welcome you back in the future and hopefully your trip to Thailand is one of your memorable experiences.

Warmest Regards,
Chawalit Rungsirinatee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We (2 adults & 2 kids) stayed for 5 nights over christmas in a presidential suite - very grand name! For 1200 USD per night I expected a really nice room - and we got it. The room was huge - with 3 good size bedrooms, a lovely lounge, diner / kitchen and huge balcony. The resort is at the southern most tip of Koh Samui - away from the tacky parts of town and really in a quiet area. Everything is quite a slow pace which was just right for us but if you are used to a big resort with lots going on then this is not for you. There is just one restaurant with quite a limited menu - although we had room service most nights which was great - the Thai food is fantastic!! The service in the resort is friendly but lacks professionalism - little things like no maitre die in the restaurant (which lead to us being accused of cutting the line by a rude lady at breakfast in the morning...which we did not) and no visible management on the front desk. To be frank - for the price and based on the reviews I expected more from a service point of view. If management is reading this review - please don`t blame your staff but have a look at yourself - I got the impression the staff members were doing their utmost best but after 5 days in a resort to not once see the manager speaks volumes for the level of involvement.

The weather was not so good when we were there so we could not swim in the sea at the back of the resort - it appears that the beach at Chaweng is better if you want time on the sand.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Peter Nand Family,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for choosing ShaSa Resort for your recent holiday. I am pleased that we were able to find the perfect presidential suite to meet the expectations you had upon arrival, that’s the main reason that all suites are seaview, well-equipped with kitchen facilities, spacious living/dining room and big balcony.

On the other hand, please allow me to express our apologies for the inconveniences you had while having breakfast at our restaurant “Beyond the Sea”. We are sorry that our service did not meet your expectations although we are fully aware that the employee’s impoliteness is inexcusable and that on this particular person our service was not up to the standards of this property.

At ShaSa Resort, a member of Preferred Hotel Group, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Of course we are taking the appropriate measures to address all matters brought up by our guests and prevent any future occurrences.

I remain at your disposal for any further comment you would like to make and for any further query shall you wish to travel again to Samui. I will be more than happy to give you my personal attention on that occasion

Warmest Regards,
Chawalit Rungsirinatee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We only stayed three nights and really did spend a great deal of time at the resort but the suite was very luxurious and had everything in it that would make a self- catering holiday with family a real pleasure.
Although we were not able to swim in the sea straight out from the hotel, you could swim a bit further down the beach and the infinity pools in the resort really made up for it.
If you opt to eat out you probably need to take a taxi. It's no problem and the hotel staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear JF3000.,

Thank you for taking the time to write comments about your recent stay with us. It is indeed pleasing to read that you thought the overall experience was exceptional especially our sea view suite which you found it were beyond your expectations.

JF3000., thank you very much again for staying with us and we do wish to welcome you back in the future and hopefully your trip to Thailand is one of your memorable experiences.

Warmest Regards,
Chawalit Rungsirinatee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui

Address: 116/1 Moo 2, Tambon Maret, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic chic destination with natural surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shasa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Shasa Resort And Residences, Koh Samui
Shasa Hotel Koh Samui
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.