We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candle Hut Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thong Nai Pan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candle Hut Resort
Thong Nai Pan Yai (South Beach), Thong Nai Pan, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Kristinehamn
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We came here with high expectations, after staying here last year. We brought our friends to show them how to spend a vacation.
The place wasn´t near as good as last year. The first evening my spouse stepped through the floor at our porch and fell. Our friends also had a broken porch. Lights didn´t work in our bungalow, the same for our friends.
The door to the otherwise lovely outdoor shower rested on one hinge.
They let dogs crap as close as by the breakfast table, without taking care of it.
One person in the staff was downright rude. The food was as last year excellent, but half the menu was "no have".
Both the poolbar and the regular pool needs cleaning. Maintenance overall needs to be better.
The beach is lovely! But, in its current state, this place is now overpriced, and we will not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    10
    13
    9
See reviews for
21
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This resort is trying to be something it simply is not! Packaged as up market on first glance but simply is not. Managers are indifferent bordering rude. Pool was very dirty and the overall description of the service and accomodation is shabby. Too much money for what it is! Try the other end of the beach. Better value for money and more atmosphere! The place has potential but needs a make over and personality change to make it what it could and should be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Bali
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is unfortunate to have such a beautiful property and not taking care of it properly!
We only spent three nights at Candle Hut. I must admit that I slept well, the place is quiet at night and the mattress and pillows are fine. The but is with the maintenance and cleanness of the bungalow, seems like there are no TLC at all, dirty windows, shower, table and chairs outside, all need attention. Breakfast is included, but not the best, again, it is like who cares! We did enjoy that beach and this is what we were there for! Next time.. we'll try somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 5days the room was nice and the aircon worked, we had breakfast inculded but wasnt very nice we tryed most things on menu and all were average we were not temped to try lunch or dinner there, it is not worth spending the extra money on getting a nice looking room there i would rather stayed at dreamland..

Room Tip: sea view villa at the corner end are quite and can see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we have booked 8 nights in advanced during the high season and expected a nice relaxing vacation. Since the moment we checked in, our stay at the candle hut was simply awful. Considering the rates (around 150$ a night!!) we expected to receive a top level hospitality service but it was the absolute opposite. The rooms were not clean, the towels were dirty, WIFI was breaking frequently (which was specifically important to us)and the pool was filthy.The rooms are quit big, but sealed so all kinds of gecko's tend to have a walk in the room along with other creatures.
The worst was the little beach which belongs to the hotel was absolutly filthy and the management did not bother to clean it. When I came to talk to the manager asking to find a solution and get at least a discount he said "i think you should checkout" . so we did.

There are amazing places in thong nai pan beach, which offer ten times better service in a similar or even lower price.

Room Tip: simple - don't book a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited all hotels on Yai beach and this had the best rooms. The concrete bungalows facing the beach are 5 star, beautiful and super clean. In my opinion they are a better option then some of the 4-5* hotels on Noi beach. We actually stayed in the concrete family rooms which had 2 bedrooms, they were new and clean but not as nice as the other rooms. However they are the best option for a family of 4-5 people on this beach. Other hotels have one large room with 2 beds so not so much privacy. The wooden huts in this hotel are not as nice as the concrete huts. The resturant was great, best on the beach. The staff at the resturant - Mia and Kaoo are really nice and love children. They made us feel really welcome.

The pool was large and beautiful, beach wide with fine sand. Sea was not so calm in Dec. but is better then Noi. If you are looking for flat, clear water you won't find it on this side of Phangan.

Room Tip: Concrete huts on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked a family room for three nights. The first room really smelled awful of moth balls. moving into the secound room, there was a huge spider near on the wall. of course it disappeared, but neither of out two children would sleep in their own beds. We ended up "sleeping" four persons in one double bed.... The next night we fond spiders and roaches in the childrens room. After there nights we were really happy to leave. The staff was quite sweet, but breakfast was disappointing. Large pool that was fun to play in - especially when it was raining :) Not staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candle Hut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Hut Resort

Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai (South Beach), Thong Nai Pan, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Thong Nai Pan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thong Nai Pan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Candle Hut Hotel Koh Phangan
Candle Hut Resort Ko Phangan, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candle Hut Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Candle Hut Resort to your Saves list