We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort if your just looking to chill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longtail Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thong Nai Pan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longtail Beach Resort
Moo 5 Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Thong Nai Pan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Thong Nai Pan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great resort if your just looking to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just 2 nights on a quick stop between tao n samui

The hotel was very reasonable for around £20 for a beach bungalow with aircon

The rooms are clean but be prepared to get bit as you are in the jungle part

The hotel is located in a very quite bay and if your after nightlife then I would avoid as its quite by 11 but great if you have kids as beach is quite

Not much in way of shopping etc but a few nice restaurants n the food in the hotel is great

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    44
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
103
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good accommodation at very reasonable prices, Thailand as it should be! Stayed in an air con bungalow set back off the beach, basic but perfect, hammock on the veranda, clean but snug room. Beach setting is perfect, easy enough to get too, food was speedy and delicious, some of the best we had! Would absolutely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at Longtail for 5 nights in August 2013 when backpacking around Thailand. I cannot recommend this resort enough. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We stayed in bungalow C7 and although it was the most basic, it had everything we could have needed (and as my sister pointed out why pay extra for air con and a hot shower when a cold shower and a fan did the same for a lot cheaper!). The resort itself is at the end of the beach, tucked away so as to be far away from the noise and peaceful yet it is still easy to walk into the town and down the beach to other restaurants. In addition to offering exceptional value for money accommodation, the restaurant at Longtail was fantastic. We experimented with other restaurants along the beach but quickly came to realise that Longtail was not only the best value for money but their food is some of the best I've tasted in all of Thailand. Would particularly recommend their glass noodle seafood salad and the red seafood curry with poached bananas in coconut milk for desert!

Overall a wonderful 6 days in paradise!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Longtail Beach Resort and I only wish it had been longer. I was a bit apprenhensive about how basic the bungalows would be, and they were pretty basic, but I loved it. The room had just a bed in it, with a bathroom attached at one side. Bed was comfortable and had a mosquito net over it. When I booked, the room was a fan only room, but when we turned up, they had had air conditioning installed in our bungalow which was a bonus. We used it, for a slightly higher price than the original fan only price, and it was the quietest air cond we came across on our trip. It was great.

The location is beautiful, right on Thong Nai Pan Yai beach. The water is flat calm and blue and the beach is sandy and clean.

The restaurant at Longtail is also fantastic. Reasonable prices and a great selection of dishes. We tried lots of different things at breakfast and lunch, and all were delicious.

Longtail really is the best value for money in my opinion. We hope to return next year, for a longer stay - already looking forward to it!! Thanks for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: We had one of the most basic rooms and it was just fine, all you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Longtail beach resort is a must! The simple life at its best! Me & my husband spent three glorious days here whilst travelling on our honeymoon. Before your stay drop them an email & ask for hut 1, it's by far the best spot right on the beach! Take a good book & relax in the hammock whist watching the day go by! Thangnai beach is beautiful! Paradise with a capital P! If your lucky the manager will even swing by with a free coconut drink freshly picked from the trees! For the price longtail really is excellent!

Room Tip: Beach hut one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Do not be afraid of the booking system. The lack of deposit or payment doesn't mean you will arrive to find your room is occupied. The staff are friendly. The thai food at the restaurant is good the western was a bit lacking. The rooms were good and clean and we really enjoyed our stay here. The only thing is it was very far and quite expensive for us to get to haad rin so think twice if that is why you're visiting koh Phangan

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Long tail is a wonderful place to stay. It's a small resort so all bungalows are near the beach and their restaurant is really cozy with great chill out area whether you want to stay out of rain or shine. The staff are friendly and helpful. They offer good value of transport to and from Thongsala. The food is great especially their amazing fruit salad for breakfast with or without musli and yoghurt.

The beach is in my view the best beach on the island with beautiful smooth sand and you can swim year round compared to the west coast where it's too shallow to swim parts of the year. The beach is not that long so although longtail is at one end of the beach you are never far away from the other restaurants and bars. It is clean and quiet and the best value place on the beach and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Longtail Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longtail Beach Resort

Address: Moo 5 Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Thong Nai Pan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Thong Nai Pan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Thong Nai Pan
Also Known As:
Longtail Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Longtail Beach Resort Ko Phangan, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longtail Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Longtail Beach Resort to your Saves list