We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing attention to detail...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Thong Nai Pan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Thong Nai Pan
North West London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Amazing attention to detail...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We are staying here right now for my 40th on Tuesday. The hotel is everything you could wish for with lovely little touches like the complimentary spirits and handmade local sweets at turndown. The private pool on our terrace is genius and is surrounded by lush trees and plants.

The staff are SO attentive and we have been spoken to by the general manager and bar manager every day since we arrived to make sure we are having a good time. We are a couple but but it's a good hotel for families and friends too.

Breakfast is fresh and tasty simple things like granola have a Thai/Anantara twist and taste devine. Iron Chef Chumpol is here for the week and his food has been full of TASTE and we have enjoyed all of it including dim sum and Thai vegetables for breakfast.

We have booked spa treatments for next week and are looking forward to the pampering as the surroundings are luscious.

You get what you pay for (we are regular people like most of the guest here which is nice as you don't get those looks from people thinking "did you win a free trip") we tried the restaurant next door and were very disappointed with the tasteless food and the price compared to Anantara was only £27 difference!

When we arrived we thought we wanted a room directly onto the beach however our pool suite is quiet secluded and perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the resort have more greenery and are quiet however the hotel in general is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    728
    157
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
102
666
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I travelled to this hotel in early September and stayed for 5 days. The hotel was stunning and we were upgraded from a garden pool suite to a Garden Pool Villa - amazing upgrade. Room was huge with possibly the largest bed I have ever seen. We had our own hammock and outdoor shower along with the private pool, which I loved but was a tad cold! Lovely place to sit and read a book.The free spirits in the room were an amazing bonus, but cheaper to buy mixers from the shop that from the minibar.
The hotel is very popular with honeymooners which I was a bit concerned that there would be overwelming PDAs and shinny wedding rings, although we were just on a very nice holiday but this is not something that was flaunted.
The speed boat overto the island was a bit of a wait, which we were not expecting but was great fun.
The resturants in the local village were lovely and a bargain. The hotel resturant although very nice was far more expencive than the local village.We ate there once, which was enough. If you were celebrating it would be perfect.
There is an amazing massage place called taraporn (interesting name!) in the village and renting a moped to see the island was well worth the £4 cost!
Both my other half and I have never stayed anywhere so beautiful and plush!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful location. Great beach.

We had a super room - with private daybed, jacuzzi bath, outdoor shower and our own little bit of beach. We had a powerful aircon unit, and a mosquito net over the comfortable bed, so all the boxes were ticked.

The staff are fantastic. Laid back and friendly, but they get the job done well.

The food in the restaurant is of a very high quality. In addition, there are other very good (and less expensive) dining options nearby, so you have plenty of choice. Betterthansex is a great little place in the village, and the beach club next door to the hotel wasn't bad.

A nice touch: The rooms have Apple TVs in them, so you can AirPlay music and movies from your iPad if the weather turns miserable.

Our only disappointment was the number of big stray dogs running around. Having them dig a hole in the sand and lie down next to us on the beach was a little annoying, but having them sit right at our table in the restaurant was downright unpleasant and certainly detracted from the "luxuriousness" of the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiefenbronn, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this hotel is for sure the best hotel I have ever been so far.
the location itself on Koh Phangan is great if you are looking for a real quite hotel just do nothing beside relaxing.
The bungalows are located directly at the beach (at least the one we had) and the beach is private area with only a few hotel guests using this area.

The bungalows interiour is great, using a lot of lokal stuff for the decoration and materials. The bed is using Seally mattress and we have had to force ourself to get up and enjoy the beach and the private pool each bungalow is providing.

Having breakfast directly on the beach putting your bare feet in the sand is a non-forgetable experience and also the breakfast offered by the always friendly team of Rasananda is very delicious.
We also have had diner twice in the hotel, which can be also recommended beside the price for the meals in comparison with the possibilities in the small village outside.

Overall I would be glad to come back again and would not hesitate any second to recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Seldom have we stayed so nice. Truly romantic and beautiful !!! The pool suite was to die for and the beach at thong Jai pan crystal clear with white sand. Service and dining is perfect.

The spa is also great! Try the hot stone massage and you are in for a treat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my new wife booked to stay here as part of our honeymoon last month. We stayed at the Banyan Tree in Koh Samui for 6 nights prior to moving across to Koh Phangan and Rasananda for a further 5 nights.

And if you want 5 star luxury, I would suggest you visit Banyan Tree instead. Now Rasananda was in a gorgeous location with picturesque views and a laid back environment, however it didn't compare to Banyan Tree when it came to food, service, friendliness, facilities or attention to detail.

The first day we arrived, we noticed the TV wasn't working properly, the complimentary mosquito repellant didn't work, there were no sun loungers on our decking areas as depicted on the website and one of the bath robes was missing its belt and so could not be fastened. Not major issues but not something you'd expect for paying 5 star prices for somewhere claiming to be 5 star.

We also were not informed about the welcome cocktail party that was hosted on the first evening of our stay. We also only found out on our last day that there was a drink-of-the-day offer we could of taken advantage of - my wife is a solicitor so she read the T's and C's believe me - but there was no information on this!

Now everything we experienced here was good, however it was not 5 star like Banyan Tree was. The breakfast buffet/beach restaurant was good, however the open aired restaurant resulted in countless flies buzzing around in the morning and mosquito's attacking you at night.

The bedroom was fully air-con'd (albeit very noisy when trying to get to sleep) and the bed was extremely comfortable, clean and spacious. However the open-plan bathroom wasn't our style. No air con in the bathroom meant you had to get ready in the bedroom to avoid sweating away! As the lighting was dimmer in the bedroom and the wardrobes were in the bathroom area, making getting ready more of an effort than it should of been. This also meant that the bedroom door had to be opened and closed continuously, allowing mosquito's into the room and a cockroach on one occasion (in which the staff did clear away when asked).

We stayed in an Ocean Pool Villa (number 9) however the decking area immediately outside our bedroom was overlooked by palm trees so we couldn't sunbath on the terrace. This seems insignificant however the Villa next to ours (the same type of Villa costing the same amount) had a much larger decking area with much more open space. So check which room you have prior to arrival as ours wasn't representative of the brochure pictures.

The beach was awesome, soft sand and our private sun loungers immediately outside our Villa. However there were stray dogs on the beach which although well behaved, this is not what I expected in a 5 star resort.

So all in all a nice experience however it was not a patch on Banyan Tree, Koh Samui

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Rasananda, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear kevin b

Thank you very much for sharing this feedback. Without making excuses we apologize wholeheartedly for the shortcomings you experienced. It is indeed the attention to detail but more importantly consistency which makes a hotel great and it is clear we let you down. We have taken note of all the points raised and will work hard to correct them.

Thank you again and please know that should you chose to return, we would welcome you back generously and I can be contacted directly in order to assist with anything in future

Best Regards

Mark Eletr
General Manager Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneAustralia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Firstly my apologies for the lateness of this review. We stayed there back in June in an Ocean Pool Villa for 6 great nights. From the time we arrived at the waiting area in Samui for the transfer over to Rasananda we could not fault anything. The crossing over in the resorts boat was quite rough with choppy seas but not once did we feel insecure during the crossing. The person in control masterfully powered on and off to get through the chop and make the trip as comfortable as possible.

Staff were waiting on the beach to greet us soon as we arrived and we were handled fairly quickly and transferred to our room. I have read other reviews about some rooms having lack of sun to their pool but the villa were in was great and had plenty of sunshine. The room was well presented and all features were explained. I remember that the second day we were there we had a problem with an internal door that locked and could unlock it. Within 10 minutes of a call to reception we had a maintenance person down to fix.

Reserved lounges on the beach were a nice touch as was the cocktail drinks one night with the management team. The breakfasts were good with a combination of buffet and a la carte eggs etc also loved the coffee from the coffee machine at breakfast so good to be able to get a larte or cappuccino. We mixed our dinners between a couple of restaurants in the nearby village and dinners at the resort. I have read elsewhere those who have said in their reviews that the resort is over priced for dinner, but have to disagree. Yes it is more than in the village, but the quality and service is excellent.

Beach is fantastic with soft sand and loved the happy hour round the pool bar in the afternoon. We were approached a number of times by food and beverage managers seeking feedback, taking a very proactive approach. Before we left Australia there were a few reports on staff turnover and new staff not trained properly. I went to the gym upstairs most days and when on the treadmill I usually saw staff meetings taking place across in the next building upstairs or staff training being done. It is apparent that they are investing in staff to make sure that they achieve the right level of training. The gym although small was well equipped with a fridge with cold water in after the work out.

There was a wedding there during our stay and the detail that they went to and communication to guests was very good.

We used she spa when we were there and the attention provided by the staff and ambience of the resorts spa was very good.

The checkout process was well handled and the labeling of luggage to our next point of stay back in Samui was well done. Hardest part was waving goodbye as our boat departed.

Mark thank you to you and your team , sorry that I took so long to do a review, I thought that I had done one when I did one for the Anantara Bophut, but recently realised that I hadn't

We loved the place so much am about to make a booking to go back next June so only about 240 days to go................can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa

Address: 5/5 Moo 5, Tong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Thong Nai Pan, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Rasananda Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Thong Nai Pan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Thong Nai Pan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked discreetly at the base of a lush mountain, amongst towering coconut palms and just steps from the powdery sands of Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, 64 private pool suites and villas in seven distinctive layouts face the turquoise sea. Comprising indoor and outdoor living spaces ranging from 100 to 250 square metres, each sanctuary reflects its own charming character. In natural harmony with the exotic surrounds, wood and stone features provide a striking backdrop to rich hand woven silks. Luxury comforts inside range from a “blissful dreams” mattress adorned with 500 thread count linens, to a 32 inch flat screen TV with home theatre entertainment, and outside to an indulgent private plunge pool.Guests keep in touch with complimentary WiFi throughout the resort, accompanied by an extensive library with PCs alongside international magazines and newspapers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Hotel Koh Phangan
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort And Spa
Rasananda Hotel Ko Phangan
Rasananda Resort Ko Phangan
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa Ko Phangan, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villa Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.