We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a beach bar......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cais da Praia

Cais da Praia
Avenida do mar - Foz do Arelho | 2500-896, Foz do Arelho 2500-896, Portugal
966528533
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“More than a beach bar......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We ate here three times during our stay in Foz do Arelho. Each time the food was very good indeed. As a bar/restaurant right on the beach it felt a bit like a nice beach bar, which it was, but it certainly punched above its weight as a restaurant as we enjoyed our food on each visit and considered it decent value for money too. The views were outstanding and particularly in the evening as the sun set. We couldn't fault the service in any way. The staff were always friendly and very helpful. The atmosphere was lively and there was always a good buzz about the place. We would certainly return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brit in oz
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

6 adults and 2 children visited the restaurant
Very nice food with very large servings, the waiter spoke and understood English
Would visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Service!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and my 3 friends went here after hearing it was a nice place. So we went in one day and said we wanted to eat so the waiter pointed to where to sit. We sat down and then he came over and said they don't start serving food till 7pm. (So he knew we were there to eat, but didn't stop us before we chose a table!) So we agreed to come back another day. The next day we went for dinner at 7, again we sat down and a waiter was sitting behind us eating dinner. A waitress came over to ask what we wanted to drink, so she asked the 3 people on our table and then turned away and walked off completely ignoring me! When she finally came back she brought the wrong drink to my friend and I finally was able to order. After we recieved our drinks, she walked off again even though we were ready to order food. This went on for about 45 minutes of her walking past not even asking if we needed help or drinks or food. People who turned up after us recieved food before we even was asked what we wanted. So in the end we asked for the bill and left. Absolutely poor service from this "great fish resturant"!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bartenderMinez, Proprietário at Cais da Praia, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Earlier in the summer we are often forced to recruit people for our epoch seasonal, and at an early stage things do not always go as we like, which does not excuse your dissatisfaction!
And exactly this situation happened with a person who is not currently working in our restaurant just for poor service.
Squeamish to ask our apologies for this whole situation, and emphasize that it was not ignored, and only with this type of observations allows us to improve the service!
A thank you and turn one day changed their opinion certainly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The place has an amazing view and the food is good. Very nice drinks and cocktails.
People that work there are very nice and they work fast.
Very nice place to take a coffee and see the great view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab fab fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great view, and great service. Food is freshly repaired - English, French and Portugese menus. Try the Ocputus it is out of the world. Free wi-fi

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cais da Praia also viewed

Foz do Arelho, Leiria District
Foz do Arelho, Leiria District
 
Foz do Arelho, Leiria District
Foz do Arelho, Leiria District
 

Been to Cais da Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cais da Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.