We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toast skagen (Toast with the original shrimp salad created at Riche)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riche

Riche
Birger Jarlsgatan 4, Stockholm 114 34, Sweden (Östermalm)
08-679-68-40
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 2,117 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: European, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Östermalm
Gotland, Sweden
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Toast skagen (Toast with the original shrimp salad created at Riche)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I saw a video clip of their famous dish on their website and also read about how it all came to be created and famous. This is a translation of what they have on their website. The english version does not write about this so here you can read about it.

The Toast skagen is very popular among the Swedes but the very first Toast Skagen was made at the Riche during Tore Wretman's time. The legendary Karin Chädström, created this dish at the Riche around year 1952-61) It has now become our most well-known and popular dish. This dish is served at all times at the Riche. The moment we open and until we close. We would like to thank Oriel Danielson for making a film on our famous dish.

I took some important guests from the US to have them try this dish and they really loved it. I don't know about the other dishes but this dish is really their thing. So I can really recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    122
    40
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“typical Stokholm downtown eatery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I recently had dinner at Riche Restaurant in Stokholm, Sweden. The food was good not very good or excellent, and likewise the service. The atmosphere was also typical Stokholm, an odd mix between causal and the expectation of formality-in other words people in jenas and tee shirts acting as if they were at the Ritz in a three-piece suit...an odd experience for those not accustomed to Scandinavia. The service was adequate but not attentive and the bill was, well--astronomical for the food and service provided in true Swedish fashion.
I suppose one must travel to Sweden sometimes, and when there one must eat. However the laws and taxes make any but the smallest and most modest quality alcoholic drink nearly unaffordable, and a bottle of decent wine is prohibitive to all but the most wealthy of us. If one finds oneself in Central Stokholm this is as good a place as any to dine but be prepared for a true egalitarian Swedish experience in every way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cool, central, perfect for giving you an understanding of what the "Stockholm metrosexual" is all about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Perfect location on the Stureplan. Great food, we chose what the waiter recommended and weren't disappointed to say the least. Good service. GREAT for people watching. This place is quite cool and means you'll be able to really study the Stockholm folks - boy there is a huge variety :) Enjoy! Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bad night?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is clearly a popular venue and came highly recommended from the knowledgeable folks at our hotel, but yikes! When a place is Scandinavia expensive, it better deliver and Riche simply did not. The evening started on a bad note when our table wasn't ready when we reserved it - not the end of the world, of course, but it appeared that the host gave the table to a walk-in just ahead of us in the check-in queue. Unlike nearly every other nicer restaurant in Stockholm, the lighting here is bright and harsh, so it didn't have me in a very convivial mood by the time they seated us! By 8:30 p.m., the day's specials were sold out (a hopeful sign that others' experiences were better!) and we needed to choose something else. I ordered a poached cod that was served somewhere between cold and Luke warm. My partner ordered a local specialty which was a plate of bacon in a creamy onion sauce. It would have made a great side dish, but as an entree, it should carry a warning for foreigners. On a positive note, the place had a marvelous by-the-glass champagne list and I really enjoyed a couple glasses of vintage Pol Roger. The place was packed on a Tuesday night, so it must be better normally. I wouldn't return, however.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Östermalm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful decorated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you are 20 and some + /not use to older building/from a smaller city then you will be impressed, otherwise don't bother. Stay away from their fish/seafood, but enjoy their drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riche also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Riche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.