We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pre-drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marie Laveau

Marie Laveau
Hornsgatan 66, Stockholm 118 21, Sweden (Södermalm)
+46 (0)8 668 85 00
Improve this listing
Ranked #671 of 2,283 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $0 - $147
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Södermalm
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“pre-drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

cool place for some food and drinks before moving on. apparently it is really busy on the weekend. we went on a Thursday and there were still lots of people to talk to, the club downstairs was closed though. cocktails around £14.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice bar, good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a good lively bar with a buzzing atmosphere. Lots of people coming and going. We had some food from the bar menu- both meals were really good. The sides were quite big so definitely 1 between 2 is plenty. My partner (a self appointed burger expert) says the patty was very good and in a nice brioche bun. I think this place is more of a trendy informal meal out, as it's not cheap enough to be an everyday place. Or a cheap meal for a tourist.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Horrible place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A friend was there to eat, first the waiters were discussing the person, next they came over and told him to leave, since they disliked his political views. They refused to serve du to political views, insane.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun neighbourhood pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Once the sticker shock subsided, I was able to appreciate a delicious meal at Marie Laveau, a trendy and fun neighbourhood pub frequented by hipster Swedes... For 714 SEK or approximately $120 CDN, we had delicious and perfectly grilled smoked sausage, home fries, crispy onion rings, homemade sauerkraut and pickled okra... accompanied by OmniPollo's Leon beer, a perfect dinner on a cold winter night!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“good place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was invited to a dinner there the only evening I had in Stockholm. Average interior, nice atmosphere, good music, food was good, but we had to wait for it for about 30-40 minutes! I was surprised to see they served fast-food as well (french fries with hamburgers) but it was kind of home-made fast food. Bar area was overcrowded so i guess the place is more popular for its drinks and cocktails. But I bet there are better restaurants in Stockholm.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie Laveau also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Marie Laveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marie Laveau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.