We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can only have one dinner in Stockholm, this is the place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gondolen

Gondolen
Stadsgarden 6, Stockholm 104 65, Sweden
08-641 70 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 1,969 restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $0 - $161
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Eriks Gondolen in Södermalm floats between the sky and the sea with a breathtaking view over Lake Mälaren and the beginnings of the archipelago in Saltsjön. A restaurant with 320 covers, a gem since 1935, comprised of the Dining Room, the Kitchen, the Bar and the Banqueting Rooms ?Kungarummet? and ?Redarsalen?. In the summer the Grill Bar on the roof terrace is open. Restaurang Gondolen is no less than a modern classic in Sweden's gastronomic world. A place to see and to be seen. At lunch classic homely fare is served such as veal in dill sauce, homemade black pudding or steamed haddock with prawns and horseradish. On the dinner menu are dishes such as a platter of pickled and Baltic herring, seafood cocktail with Norway lobster au gratin, gremolata baked angler fish with ratatouille or roast fillet of veal with a cep confit.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you can only have one dinner in Stockholm, this is the place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

You can never get a better view than this place. Watching Stockholm skyline at sunset was stunning (ask for the seating on the west to enjoy the sunset). The seafood was excellent. The seafood platter was awesome, especially the Irish crab. We never had steamed Irish crabs before, but it was so good that we had to order home for the next night. The crab was big, firm and full of roes. And its only 33 USD! Overall, we really enjoyed the food here, and would come back.

Be careful about the entrance, and the lift. The restaurant is extremely visible, but getting the right passage and lift can be tricky.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    175
    164
    64
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

One of the best dinners I've had in a long time. The restaurant ambiance is more on the romantic side; however, the waiter did a wonderful job of making us feel welcome and comfortable despite the fact that we were there for a business dinner. In addition to making us feel welcome, h was attentive, had great recommendations, joked at appropriate times, and was knowledgeable about everything he was asked.
With respect to food, I had the steak and it was melt in your mouth tender, in addition to being very flavourful without lots of sauces and spices. The sides that accompanied it were equally as flavourful yet were light and did not leave one with a stuffed feeling. They all perfectly complimented each other. While I wasn’t drinking there was a substantial wine menu as well as cocktails and beer.
The view from the restaurant is very pretty looking out over the water, especially if you are looking toward the af Chapman on a clear evening. Looking forward to having an opportunity to return to Stockholm and Gondolen.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Stunning views, impeccable service but food surprisingly poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The service in this restaurant is by far the best of the whole experience, even better than the stunning views. :) The waitresses seem to be a special breed, never have I had better service (and that says a lot if you knew of my previous restaurant sprees!)

The food is a bit of a disappointment though. I had the half lobster as starter. It was good in the sense that it was quite meaty, but it was a bit too cold for my taste. The mayonnaise that accompanied the dish was quite tasteless. We had a bottle of Albariño which is by far one of my favourite Spanish white wines. Gorgeous. My guy had the mini hamburger which he said had tiny amount of meat and was not worth the price. I had veal as main course with a risotto base and sweet veggies: I do not at all understand this dish; The risotto wasn't the least bit salty which made it bland and quite tasteless. The veggies had a boring taste and the veil was difficult to cut through. You'd expect more from this place. If they would have just separated the risotto, put it in a nice bowl and sprinkled some fresh herbs while leaving the veil nicely laid out on a separate plate.....lots of improvements can be made here. The chocolate dessert was good but my guy who had it said the pineapple pieces ruined an already nice dish. Try the 5 grape baskets sweet wine from Hungary, was truly gorgeous.

I am tempted to give the restaurant a solid three due to the poor food, but the scenery, the staff and the views pushes this one up to a four. Also surprisingly enough it is not as expensive here as you would've imagined.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was able to unwind after a long work day at this place. It has an awesome view of the Stockholm city! Great atmosphere! If you are with a significant other or just one other friend take the 2-people lift, it’s cool. Eat in the kitchen!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In the hart of Stockholm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Delicious and fresh food, friendly service( blond waitresses) and the most amazing view of the city.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gondolen also viewed

Stockholm, Sweden
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Stockholm, Sweden
 

Been to Gondolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gondolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.