We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Anniversary trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stureplan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stureplan to your Saves list
Hotel Stureplan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Birger Jarlsgatan 24, Stockholm 11434, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Anniversary trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We reserved a room with a balcony and believe we must have had one of the best rooms in the hotel. We loved the view from the balcony and the light from the huge windows. Nice large room with a big bathroom. We enjoyed the breakfast which had good service. Nicely located for touring the city on foot. Excellent stay.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are very nice for a couple. Have previously stayed in a Loft room which was nice but v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    209
    58
    18
    9
See reviews for
52
311
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice old style hotel .Highly recommended.Friendly and helpfull staff,good breakfast.Internet connection without problems.Bathroom clean .The size of room was ok for Stocholm centre but it could be alittle bigger.

Room Tip: try to get room at higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The reception was warm and welcoming and they are always happy to help day and night - they are always present! They'll help with maps and recommendations and other useful information. You do not always find this in Stockholm hotels.

The hotel is renovated - it must be recently because everything was super well done.
The room was not huge, but enough. The beds including sheets were the very best, so comfortable! You cannot possibly find better anywhere! And the breakfast was super!
One minus was that the breakfast room is too small to have room for all guests. Well, but the personnel are attentive to find seats for you, to take away your plates. We were very well looked after!

This hotel has an arrangement with "Blå Tåget", a super train which could be compared to the Orient Express. We enjoyed the train, the dinner, the piano bar SO much, so it's a pity I cannot write a review for TA! I don't know who arranged a (chilled) Champagne bottle to other room (the train company or the hotel), but that did not make our wonderful experience less memorable. The train happened to be four ours delayed while travelling- and we appreciated this SO much. We could have paid extra for these four hours!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Located in a fashionable district, this hotel was a great choice for a short stay in Stockholm. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to be back in the future. Here are some details:

Room: If you need A/C be sure to indicate this when making your reservation. We were in Sweden in the summer and it was unusually hot. Having A/C was a blessing but only certain rooms have air con. Our room was adorable, large, and very clean. No complaints!

Breakfast: Nice selection which many healthy options. Fresh fruit, cheese, breads, nuts, etc. as well as bacon and eggs.

Location: On a main street and very close to shopping and walking distance to most sightseeing spots. We walked everywhere but there is plenty of public transit available if needed. Many restaurants, bars, etc. within a 10 min walk.

Staff: Very friendly and helpful. No complaints. Check-in was a breeze and they stored our luggage for a few hours the day we checked-out.

Restaurant: I can't comment on the food as we only had a small appetizer with coffee one day but the service was fine. The restaurant closes relatively early so if you are used to eating your main meal later in the evening like we are you are going to have to go elsewhere.

Overall: A very positive experience and I would stay here again the next time I am in Stockholm.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I was a bit stunned walking into the reception, which feels like entering a cramped 3 star establishment. It all changed after getting my room: a massive 1900s place, with a very peculiar feeling of Swedish design sensibilities meeting old tradition. There is something funky (in a good way) about the whole place, although the breakfast could've been better. Location is also nice, although Stureplan is more the traditionally trendy than the hip place to be.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Located not too far from the Old Town, this hotel offers beautiful design of the rooms, delicious breakfast and nice service. The concierge is there whenever you need him and is always happy to help. Finally, you have access to maps of the city, recommendations on where to go, umbrellas and everything else you need to enjoy your stay in the city.

There are just 2 things, that need improvement:
1. The Internet is quite week in some places (for example in our room - 419)
2. The lift (elevator) system has a huge disadvantage - in case somebody forgets to close the big metal door, the cabin simply won't move to any other floor.

Room Tip: We lived in room №409 - it's a nice, spacious room with beautiful old-fashioned interior. The vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Elegant hotel, tidy , attic room was nice and quiet,breakfast sortiment and quality good, friendly staff. Central location made visiting attractions easy. Staff was young and helpful. Lobby was small and some feel of crowdiness there but Swedish relaxed atmosphere created cosy feeling.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stureplan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stureplan

Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 24, Stockholm 11434, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#15 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stureplan 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Stureplan in Stockholm! A unique boutique hotel located in the heart of Stockholm. Hotel Stureplan is perfect for business- and leisure travellers. Everything that Stockholm has to offer is right on the doorstep, and there are plenty to discover while visiting Stockholm; museums, theatres, bars, shopping galleries, interior design stores not to mention the famous archipelago. Hotel Stureplan is a small, intimate hotel located in an elegant 19th century building in the heart of Stockholm. Amongst our 101 rooms we have a wide selection of accommodation with different interior designs; Classic rooms, in a gustavian style, with stucco features, generous high ceilings and glittering chandeliers and modern contemporary loft rooms. All rooms with handmade furnitures. Not two rooms are alike. Hotel Stureplan offers Boardroom Lily for 12 delegates, dedicated Concierge service, a charming living room and library area named Stureplan Living. Welcome to a hotel with highest service as lowest standard. Hotel Stureplan also provides restaurant Ostra Matsal and Bar. The ambition is to make you experience the feeling of the perfect match between food, beverage and hospitality from the moment you walk into our restaurant, to the moment you leave. The menu is composed for you and we hope it will appeal to you as much as it does to us. Welcome to book your clients into their own residence in Stockholm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stureplan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stureplan Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stureplan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.