We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and lovely room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stureplan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stureplan to your Saves list
Hotel Stureplan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Birger Jarlsgatan 24, Stockholm 11434, Sweden (Östermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
County Cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location and lovely room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Lovely stay here, the location is excellent for sightseeing, old town, river, shopping, bars and restaurants. Hotel does not have a lounge/bar and has a very small reception area, but there are plenty round and about. Our room was beautiful, clean and spacious. Breakfast very good, but the cooked option is behind the counter off to the right and you can miss it easily! The staff could not have been more accommodating or helpful, Overall a pleasant change from the multinationals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStureplan, Owner at Hotel Stureplan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Taraof Cork,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we’re all very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Stureplan. We hope that you will come and stay with us soon again.

Best regards,

Jörgen Björnstad
CEO/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    209
    58
    18
    9
See reviews for
52
313
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Stureplan for a long weekend in May. The hotel is beautiful, with traditional design and it is a pleasant change from all the chains. Overall we had a great time, and the hotel served its purpose.

The good:
- Location. This hotel is in a perfect location. Everything in Stockholm was more or less within walking distance, water is only a couple of blocks away, and there are plenty of bars and restaurants around
- Breakfast. Breakfast was delicious, and plentiful. It was a bit annoying that you had to pay extra for "premium" coffees but whatever

The bad:
-Rooms: Rooms were tiny (just enough room to walk around the bed), and there is no way to control temperature in your room. Bed was uncomfortable for our taste (way too soft)
- Amenities. With hotel of this status we expected some amenities - but there was nothing - no sauna, no pool, no nothing.

All in all nice hotel, and if they update their beds it would be a great place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStureplan, Owner at Hotel Stureplan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear atomic1111,

Thank you for your contribution. All forms of feedback is important to us, whether it be positive or less so, as this is the best means of knowing how our guest perceive us and how we can improve our product.

Although it was a mixed bag for you, we’re all very happy to hear that most of your stay was pleasant and we hope that you will come and stay at Hotel Stureplan soon again.

Best regards,

Jörgen Björnstad
CEO/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The location of the hotell was excellent. We had a small loftroom at the sixth floor. It was called "superior" , however this was related to the price only. The room was small, we hit our heads to the roof. Dark room, tiny window. The bed was dreadful, far too soft and suffered from back-ache. It was not possible to get another room all rooms were taken. It was said that all rooms were the same and all other guests liked the beds. Wanted to put the matrass on the floor, but the room is too small. We were charged for items from the minibar which we did not have. Maybe the other rooms on the lower floors were ok, but we cannot recommend the hotel based on this experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStureplan, Owner at Hotel Stureplan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Yoke E,

Thank you for your contribution. All forms of feedback is important to us, whether it be positive or less so, as this is the best means of knowing how our guest perceive us and how we can improve our product.

In your case I saddened to hear that we did not live up to your expectations or standards that we strive to have. I can assure you we continuously work to maintain a high level of service and standards, so I’m very sorry to hear that we failed you. But I hope that you will choose Hotel Stureplan during your next visit to Stockholm, so we can show how great we really are.

Best regards,

Jörgen Björnstad
CEO/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I always stay here when in Stockholm on business. Nice change for Scandic/Radison Blu/Best Western chain-hotels. Rooms are nice and cosy with lots of character. Staff is friendly. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 315 is a very small room with double bed, but if you are after balcony (i.e. smoker) this is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStureplan, Owner at Hotel Stureplan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear drg313,

Thank you for your contribution. All forms of feedback is important to us, whether it be positive or less so, as this is the best means of knowing how our guest perceive us and how we can improve our product.
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will choose Hotel Stureplan as your residence during your next stay in Stockholm.

Best regards,
Jörgen Björnstad
CEO/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pretty and stylish hotel in the centre of the city. Very comfortable rooms, good breakfast choice and very nice service. The building seems to be two old apartment blocks with original cage lift and much marble and original features.
Very close to tourist attractions, Metro and restaurants but still in a more 'local' area of the city

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStureplan, Owner at Hotel Stureplan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear ohnonotagain42,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we’re all very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Stureplan. We hope that you will come and stay with us soon again.

Best regards,
Jörgen Björnstad
CEO/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The entrance hall makes you unsure of your hotel choice, and the unfriendly reception too.
But the room and room floor with living room (I was on the 4th) was a real nice surprised. Good size, good bed, good shower, quiet.
The breakfast was good if not really exciting. No bar or lounge for the evening but a place beside.
A business hotel for me as a bit too "cold" in the common areas, but again a surprising very nice room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStureplan, Owner at Hotel Stureplan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear NathiOslo,

Thank you for your contribution. All forms of feedback is important to us, whether it be positive or less so, as this is the best means of knowing how our guest perceive us and how we can improve our product.

In your case we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will choose Hotel Stureplan as your residence during your next stay in Stockholm.

Best regards,
Jörgen Björnstad
CEO/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Great location, rooms are comfortable with nice decor. We had a street facing room, but double glazed windows meant we slept soundly. Breakfast room crowded and had to wait each morning for a table but not a huge issue. Selection at breakfast was good, eggs could improve & perhaps an additional toaster to reduce the crowd.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStureplan, Owner at Hotel Stureplan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear jesso79,

Thank you ever so much for sharing your experiences during your stay at Hotel Stureplan. I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jörgen Björnstad
CEO/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stureplan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stureplan

Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 24, Stockholm 11434, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Östermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#14 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stureplan 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Stureplan in Stockholm! A unique boutique hotel located in the heart of Stockholm. Hotel Stureplan is perfect for business- and leisure travellers. Everything that Stockholm has to offer is right on the doorstep, and there are plenty to discover while visiting Stockholm; museums, theatres, bars, shopping galleries, interior design stores not to mention the famous archipelago. Hotel Stureplan is a small, intimate hotel located in an elegant 19th century building in the heart of Stockholm. Amongst our 101 rooms we have a wide selection of accommodation with different interior designs; Classic rooms, in a gustavian style, with stucco features, generous high ceilings and glittering chandeliers and modern contemporary loft rooms. All rooms with handmade furnitures. Not two rooms are alike. Hotel Stureplan offers Boardroom Lily for 12 delegates, dedicated Concierge service, a charming living room and library area named Stureplan Living. Welcome to a hotel with highest service as lowest standard. Hotel Stureplan also provides restaurant Ostra Matsal and Bar. The ambition is to make you experience the feeling of the perfect match between food, beverage and hospitality from the moment you walk into our restaurant, to the moment you leave. The menu is composed for you and we hope it will appeal to you as much as it does to us. Welcome to book your clients into their own residence in Stockholm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stureplan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stureplan Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stureplan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.