We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, cosy restaurant in Gamla Stan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurang Kryp In

Restaurang Kryp In
Prastgatan 17, Stockholm 111 29, Sweden (Södermalm)
08-20 88 41
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,118 Restaurants in Stockholm
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Södermalm
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, cosy restaurant in Gamla Stan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We went there on a Saturday night and had a really nice dinner. We ate traditional Swedish meals, the reindeer was superb, service friendly, location very cute, in the middle of the old town. It's a bit pricey but totally worth it. Don't forget to reserve!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    199
    32
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I may have chosen badly but I really didn't have a good meal here having very much looked forward to it. Both the starter & main course were drowned in butter & frankly tasted of little more than butter. The starter had herring, prawn, crayfish egg, potato etc but only the herring could rise above the butter. The main course I really disliked. Again there were a number of ingredients but the heavy buttery sauce was the only taste. I very rarely leave food but this i couldn't eat. The dessert didn't taste of butter but was actually quite lacking in much taste at all - as it was mulled wine creme brûlée with gingerbread ice cream that was a surprise. An unspectacular Cotes du Rhone completed a disappointing meal. On a cold night many would perhaps welcome the heat of the restaurant but we found it oppressively hot. All in all, given all the great reviews, I found the evening very disappointing.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Must Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

One of the best meals in Scandinavia. We were able to walk in early in the evening (had to promise to eat quick) but would recommend making a reservation.
A very small and cute room in the heart of old town. We did the pre fix menu and not a single course disappointed. The reindeer was the star entree but everything was great. Also great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“All first class: food, service, ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I arrived close to the opening at 5:00 pm without a reservation, yet were accommodated graciously. We were give a cozy table in a small back room with only two other tables for two. The courses were perfectly prepared and timely delivered. We each had for entrée the leg of lamb braised in red wine, chévre crème (creamy white goat cheese,) pickled onion and chanterelles, thyme, red wine sauce, and pommes (potatoes) Anna, a delectably blended combination, accompanied as it were by a crisp and chilled South African vintage rosé . Dessert of the smoothest imaginable panna cotta with fresh raspberries and blackberries, augmented with mint leaves left the palate in heaven. A dark roast coffee and cream brought the gustatorily splendid evening through dénouement to a resolute finale. Bravo!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We decided to go to this restaurant after reading very good reviews here. While the interior is beautiful, with candles and relaxing decoration, the rest was not as good as expected. The food was too salty. The waiter was quite rude and seemed indifferent about our experience there. The music in the background was christmas songs..why would a client enjoy christmas carol during lunch time at the very beginning of november?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurang Kryp In also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Restaurang Kryp In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurang Kryp In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.