We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here ever time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Operakallarens bakficka

Operakallarens bakficka
Jakobs Torg 10, Stockholm, Sweden (Norrmalm)
08-6765809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 2,117 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $0 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eat here ever time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Love the food. Fresh herring and best meatballs and mashed potatoes in town. Reasonably priced and great location

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    103
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

On our final night in Stockholm we treated ourselves to a traditional Swedish meal. We shared the crayfish toast, I had the gravlax with dill creamed potatoes and my husband had meatballs with lingonberries. All were delicious and well-prepared and presented. However, there was a very long wait between the appetizer and the main course being served (at least 40 minutes). Fortunately we were on the terrace and enjoyed the view, the fresh air and the passersby attending Stockholm Fashion Week. Service was rather chilly but this seems to be the norm in Stockholm. For a more casual traditional meal, this is a good pick.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

a very nice way to have a meal in a theatrical atmosphere, more French than Swedish. it is small and cosy with good food. Often crowdy. The same building as the Opera. Not so expensive

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best meatballs in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I ate at Operakallarens bakficka for lunch on our first day in Stockholm. We both ordered the Swedish meatballs with the mashed potatoes. The meatballs were by far the best we've ever had (sorry grandma.) We loved our lunch so much, we decided to go back one more time for more meatballs before our flight back to Chicago. Service was great too! Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great meatballs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I wondered how good meatballs could be. How could Swedish meatballs be different from the rest of the world? Having read Bakfickan was the place to try them tempted me and I'm glad I did.

I don't eat meatballs regularly. In fact this is the only Swedish type I have had. But they are very different to the usual. The meat is delicate and almost creamy in texture. I'm not sure how they do it - I can only assume the meat is minced so finely the grain and texture becomes smooth. The berries and pickled cucumber that come with it provides great contrast.

The complementary bread is tasty too, if that matters to you. Price is decent compared to what is around here.

Try the meatballs here - what else can I say...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Operakallarens bakficka also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Operakallarens bakficka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Operakallarens bakficka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.