We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, very slow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Da Peppe Ristorante

Da Peppe Ristorante
Storkyrkobrinken 16, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Södermalm)
08103100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 1,969 restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Södermalm
Halden, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special, very slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Really slow to serve, 1 hour to get food
Then they grab the plates from you almost before you're finished
Really unpleasant

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    33
    21
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sistranda, Norway
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quick and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good, albeit a bit salty pasta, excellent pizza. Friendly waiters. Near the castle and good for a quick meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An evening to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This cozy, welcoming restaurant is situated in the Old Town of Stockholm. It is a genuine Italian with authentic Italian flavours on the menu. Fresh baked bread served with the main meals. I had the classic dish Carpaccio Caligola as a starter. Many Italian restaurants make the mistake of serving the thin slices of meet fridge cold (as the meat is sliced thinly from frozen). No such misstakes here. It was mouthwateringly good! As a main I had Scampi in Padella - absolutely gorgeous. We had help with choosing the wine which complemented our food beautifully.

All in all I would say that this restaurant is perfect for a romantic dinner as well as celebratory dinner. The staff are friendly and knowledgeble and passionate about what they serve. For two persons: 2 starters, 2 mains, a bottle of red and 1 dessert we paid just over GBP 100. Wort every penny!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, good no nonsense Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We, a family of 4, enjoyed a lovely Pizza meal at Da Peppe whilst visiting Stockholm. The food was wonderful, the atmosphere fantastically friendly, relaxed and just Italian, and the welcome and service great. We had 4 pizzas, some garlic bread starters, beer and some wine all for about SEK700, not bad at all for Stockholm. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winslow, ME
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than most places in Old Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We fell upon this fine ristorante quite by accident. In the middle of the afternoon, the dining room was quite empty, and we feared being turned away. This was not the case, and we were warmly greeted by professional server. On this occassion, we ate lite meals of salads and wine. Salads were plentifull, nicely presented, tasty and satisfying. Next day, we found ourselves in the neighborhood and very hungry, again in mid afternoon. Again we were cheerfully greeted. On this occassion, we again had salads, wine and pasta. We ordered things that were not on the menu, and found our needs happily met. Once our orders went into the kitchen, we noticed the kitchen staff peering out the window at us, to see who would be ordering such food. No, nothing exrordinary, just some basic pasta dishes taylored to suit our tastes. The menu is just fine the way it is, but it was early, and neither of us felt like eating any meat or heavy cheese dishes. My linguini was el dente, and tossed with chilli peppers and marinara. Add a dash of their grated cheese. Oh boy! A word about their cheese: All fresh, all creamy, all zesty...or not, depending. You get the idea. Happy cows in Sweden, I guess. In genereal, the small things make this place a must do in Stockholm. For instance, the everything arrives piping hot, or ice cold, as it should be. Everything is prepared with the utmost care. Portions are quite satisfying. And their bread, unlike in Italy, is crispy on top, and soft in the middle. I found not one slice of bread in Florance to be of this quality. So, put it on your list. Take it from a retired chef, these guys know what they are doing, they are proud of it, and want to do it for you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Peppe Ristorante also viewed

Stockholm, Sweden
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Stockholm, Sweden
 

Been to Da Peppe Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Peppe Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.