We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative vegetarian food. Convivial setting with views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermans

Hermans
Fjallgatan 23, Stockholm 11628, Sweden (Södermalm)
08-643 94 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,969 restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Södermalm
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Imaginative vegetarian food. Convivial setting with views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This restaurant is in trendy Sodermalm high up on the cliff overlooking the water and has great views if you can manage to get a table inside the conservatory at the front. (The restaurant can also be approached by the flight of stairs on the opposite side of the gallery Fotografiska.) It is very popular and not just with vegetarians but omnivores like ourselves. Groups of people dining - families, couples, people celebrating, locals and tourists. It was very busy even at 5.00pm in the afternoon. We opted for the extensive buffet for around £18 each, like most people; breads, pastry dishes, piping hot dishes such as kormas and lasagne using great combinations, pulses, salads, etc., all laid out within the well of a large table indoors. The spread was being constantly replenished and was superb. The atmosphere although busy was convivial with people savouring the food and choosing to linger over conversation. A recipe book was also on sale. Does anyone know of a similar restaurant in the UK? It was fabulous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    168
    157
    56
    23
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Any vegetarian visiting Stockholm would be making a serious mistake by not experiencing lunch at Herman's. Set on a rocky outcrop, their sheltered terrace offers an outstanding "postcard quality" view overlooking Stockholm. This casual restaurant has become an institution in Stockholm, not only among vegetarians but for anyone seeking value: very reasonable prices (120 SEK per person), a wide range of hot and cold dishes and fresh baked breads. Desserts are extra and while I never have room, they certainly look scrumptious. Counter service, buffet line (can be long on weekends), several seating options (inside or outside) are all very casual so kids are most welcome. If you are part of a large group (more than 4 people) you should probably reserve in advance, especially weekends. Not to be missed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent veggie food with beautiful view in the summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A vegetarian restaurant with healthy, excellent and tasty dishes as well as delicious cakes and cookies! Beautiful location on the south island and if you sit outside in the garden you will have a nice view of Stockholm - the city on water - in front of you (the Old Town, Djurgården etc.). If you go there in the late afternoon, evening you might see a breath taking sunset over the city. The only drawback is that it's sometimes difficult to find seats in the nice garden and even inside can be fairly fully booked at times - perhaps come late for lunch and early for dinner to avoid the biggest crowds. Njoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
“Outstanding food with an equally impressive view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We've stopped by Hermans on our two most recent trips to Stockholm, and we can't wait to go back. The food is absolutely delicious and reasonably priced. There's a variety of items to choose from, and in my experience, the staff replenishes dishes often. I'd especially recommend the hummus.

If you can, grab a seat overlooking the water. It's such a relaxing way to enjoy a meal. Be aware -- the restaurant can get very busy during peak times. If possible, I'd recommend making a reservation. That said, on our last visit, we stopped in around 2pm and it wasn't too terribly crowded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Since that restaurant seemed to be highly recommended and we had read many positive comments about "Hermans", we were looking forward to a nice evening with delicous veggie dishes.

The dissapointment started when we arrived. Even though it was just after 6 pm, the restaurant was already overchrowded. It was difficult to find a table, since there are too many tables in the restaurant (even around the buffet), leaving no space to move. It was hard to find the end of the queue for the buffet. Most of the food was ok, but nothing more. The main part of the buffet are different salads, in my opinion nothing interesting, nothing you couldn't make at home yourself in about half an hour. There were only two hot dishes and some warm side dishes - again nothing special. Apart from that, the hot dishes were not hot any more after managing to find the way back to your table through this crowded place.

We were also dissapointed that there were no starters, they could have prepared at least one soup. Some desserts (cakes) were available but you had to pay extra, which we found a little ridiculous sice we already paid quite a lot money for a small choice of average food.

There's also no service, which means you have to put your dirty plates in a plastic bowl.... not a big problem, but again for the price we paid, I would expect a little bit more.

Maybe the problem is, that I'm a vegetarian myself and I love cooking, so I know that there's so much more you can do when it comes to veggie food. If your used to eating fast food and ready made meals, Hermans might be attractive for you, otherwise not.

Big plus: the view! If the weather is nice and you can sit outside and enjoy the view over Stockholm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermans also viewed

Stockholm, Sweden
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Stockholm, Sweden
Stockholm, Sweden
 

Been to Hermans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.