We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Hostel Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Best Hostel Old Town to your Saves list
Best Hostel Old Town
Trangsund 12 | Gamla Stan, Stockholm 11129, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hostel is perfectly situated in the centre of the Old Town - walking distance to a grocery store, money exchange, restaurants and many shops of all kinds. We had a nice twin room on the ground floor. My reservation would be that the walls are not sound-proof at all and it felt very noisy at night. We could hear other people talking in the rooms next door and also there were people in the corridors late at night that were very loud (laughing, talking loud to each other, running up and down the stairs...). In that regard it would be definitely better to have some reception staff staying overnight (as the reception closes at 5pm) who would make sure the guests keep it down at night (pity the people are not considerate enough themselves without a supervision... :-( ). Also the kitchen is very tiny - it said on the website it can fit 10 people but I can imagine a maximum of 6...But apart from that it was an enjoyable stay. The receptionist Bjorn was very nice and helpful. The Wi-Fi was working in our room although I read many comemnts about that it wasn't for many people. Perhaps it's only working on the ground-floor, I don't know. I will try another hostel on my next trip but was overal happy with my experience in this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    32
    24
    21
See reviews for
11
34
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the dormatory where I stayed my whole laggage was stolen (a bag of about 13 kilos), including laptop, chargers, clothes and cosmetics for a week. This were definitely not those who shared the room with me as their stuff was stolen as well. The video cameras in hostel are not working. So any outsider can come in and take the whole bag, go out and no one will care. This is a really cheap place but very very insecure. The personel of the hostel refused to do any refunds for the laggage or the complete reimburment of the stay. So please never stay in this place.

Room Tip: Never room 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I've stayed at this hostel. The first time was fine but a strange girl in our room made sleeping tricky as she paced up and down the room muttering to herself half the night.

This time I stayed with 2 lovely, considerate people in a 4 bed dorm. The room was big and had a TV. The beds and sheets were clean. Even though my dorm was opposite the kitchen and right by the entrance to the hostel, there was not a lot of noise from rowdy people coming home late or talking loudly in the kitchen. In the summer it might be different.

Bathrooms were often busy in the mornings. They are pretty basic but have consistent hot water so can't really complain. The one staff member I met was pleasant and helpful.

I think this hostel is good value for money and I'd recommend it as it's in a great location in the centre of Gamla Stan and the rooms are clean. The quality of sleep you'll get will depend on who you share your room with so I'd bring ear plugs just in case or buy some at the hostel. If you're just looking for a place to sleep in between being out sightseeing etc in the day then this is perfect. Just remember it's not a hotel so don't expect breakfast or a nice place to sit and relax.

Room Tip: Obviously, rooms with fewer beds are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Considerint the very cheap price, this place was ok. Very friendly and helpful staff! The room was very small same the bathroom. But, we did not come here to stay in the hotell/hostel, but to explore the city! Breakfast was a joke! Just white bread and jam with some corn flakes...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We spent a couple of nights here on a weekend trip and as sleeping options go it's not bad if you're young and a good sleeper. The 24 bed room is pretty tight, don't think you're going to have a ton of space for roaming or keeping your bags. The kitchen is pretty dinky as well, there's not much space for chilling. Really this is a great place to stay if you plan on doing a lot of sightseeing, but probably not for relaxing. Also if you are a tall person WATCH OUT! I'm only 5'7" (about 169cm in new money), and I found it a bit tight sitting up in the bunk beds, but the free standing beds have plenty of head room. The check in was really easy, as was getting in when we arrived late, and the price was pretty reasonable for Scandinavia.

Location wise this is pretty great, ~15 minute walk from central station and the city centre, in the middle of the pretty and touristy old town, and maybe a 20 minute walk from the centre of Sodermalm, the so called "hipster zone" with lots of bars, you have to walk quite a way in, don't stop at the first bar you see, if you keep going you'll definitely find some more.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The location of the hostel couldn't be better, right in the heart of Old Town, less than 5 minutes from the Royal Palace and major attractions. It doesn't have an actual kitchen which disappointed my group because we were going to try and save money by making our own food versus eating at cafés and bistros. The wifi doesn't work well in the upper floor, but there is wifi available. The bathrooms could have been cleaner, but they weren't terrible. The walls are really thin and we had really noisy neighbors, so if you are a light sleeper, I would say earplugs would be a good idea. The cost was not bad at all either for being in Old Town.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Barhrooms are so dirty (flooding on the floor) and small. Rooms were ok although a lot of people in the same dorm.

Breakfast was right and personal of reception correct but could be more helpful with guests.

The worst was a disco just downstairs of hostel. So, there were a lot of noise and people shouting until late.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Hostel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Hostel Old Town

Address: Trangsund 12 | Gamla Stan, Stockholm 11129, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Best Hostel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Hostel Old Town Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Hostel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.