We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Hostel Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Best Hostel Old Town to your Saves list
Best Hostel Old Town
Trangsund 12 | Gamla Stan, Stockholm 11129, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Noumea, New Caledonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Really good hostel ! cheap, in the old town, with lots of travelers and a excelent commun area !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    60
    32
    24
    22
See reviews for
11
35
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hostel is very central, in a great location. Very clean and a great price for the stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

the price is reasonable. only thing i may complain about is the cleanliness of the baths. they were not in enough numbers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I just wanted to share with you our last stay at Best Hostel Old Town. The only good thing about it is the price. Other than that, I would never recommend a stay at this hostel. The rooms are small and have old furniture, but the walls are sooooo thin you can hear the other guests snoring, talking and moving around. So, we didn't get enough sleep. It's a shame given that its location is perfect.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We slept here for 2 nights and were very disappointed with hostel, staff and our room.

We booked double ensuit room and guy at the reception was very pleasant (that's only positive thing). When we entered the hostel we found that elevator is out of order and had to carry our 22kg luggage with us on the 2. floor using narrow round stairs. When we received our keys we had to go back to ground floor through the labyrinth. It's almost impossible to found the room for the first time. That's very unpleasant when carrying bags with you all the time. When we finally found the room and opened the door we were very disappointed. Very, very small room with dirty small bathroom. Bed was not the double sized at all. It was for the person and a half. Window was very hard to open and I had a feeling that it will break apart if I open it one more time. We also had a cleaning mop for the floor and it was few years old :) It was useless.

Staff was very unprofessional. When we were eating the dinner in the kitchen cleaning girl was cleaning the floor all around us, around our legs and was moving us all the time. Also, in the morning, during the breakfast one guy was staying there all the time moving around us. I had the feeling that he's looking what and how much we were eating.

This hostel is extremely overpriced. We pay 820SEK for 2 nights and get terrible room and service.

One final thing which was very disturbing: unprotected electrical wires were protruding from the wall on the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was going to stay in Stockholm for less than 12 hours so I didn't want to bother with an expensive location so I chose this one just by the pictures and because it was in Gamla Stan, but it was disappointing. I paid nearly 70 euro (enough for a 3-4 star hotel in Asia) and I got a room in a basement, smelling like mold, and it was around 6 sq/m (suitable for a single bed of 60-70cms wide, a table from a doll house with its tiny seats and a bathroom where you couldn't move). They give you the bed without being prepared and the sheets and blanket are really worn, I wasn't able to use them and I covered myself with my jackets during the night. The bathroom was not really clean, with a shower that could make a flood and the basin was wide enough to wash only one hand at a time. The recepcionist was not friendly at all and the guy with whom i made the check out seem not to care who was I or anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We got off in the Central Bus Station and went by foot to the hostel. It was a pleasant 15 minute walk. We passed by some emblematic buildings such as the parliament and the royal palace (the biggest in sweeden). We chose a bedroom without ensuite bathroom which represented no problem as there were many common bathrooms with shower in the same floor. It had 3 kitchens where we could cook, it even had free pasta, coffee and tea. Our room had 2 separat beds but theres one double bed room, very near to the kitchen (can be a bit noisy). The hostel is near to many atractions by day and night,which we can visit by foot or taking the tube (T). We will be back thee if we get back there. For Shure!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Hostel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Hostel Old Town

Address: Trangsund 12 | Gamla Stan, Stockholm 11129, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Best Hostel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Hostel Old Town Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Hostel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.