We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipsters choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rolfs Kok

Rolfs Kok
Tegnergatan 41, Stockholm 11161, Sweden
+46 8101696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 2,118 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $77 - $77
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hipsters choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Busy friendly restaurant with excellent food. Booking is a must but is worth a visit if you don't want to hit a Michelin star restaurant. This one is just a tiny nodge below!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    131
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My fiancé and I opted for this place on the basis of the trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

The restaurant itself is busy, and fairly cramped, but this doesn't take away from the experience. We were sat in a window seat away from the central hustle.

Each starter and main course had a pairing wine which, I found, worked very well. A lovely, sweet wine with the foie gras on warm lettuce and a dark tempranillo with the melt-in-the-mouth ox cheek. Our water was friendly and available without being officious. He was clearly knowledgeable and made good recommendations.

The meal itself was expensive but a perfect end to a day and a great experience that I will talk about for a long time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We went here during a weekend break in Stockholm. Based on the reviews in TripAdvisor, I'd booked a table a few weeks in advance. I'm glad I did because the restaurant was packed. We got a table in a raised platform by the window, which you could get to by climbing up a small ladder.

The menu and food were outstanding. I had scallops to start and wolffish for main, along with the recommended pairing wines. Both courses were just right - full of flavour, not too big and not too small. For dessert I had the Charlotte Russe - which I'm still fantasising about eating again.

Price wise, its certainly an expensive restaurant. For two three course meals with wine, it was definitely above average in terms of price. However, it cost less than some houses... so...

Anyway, I highly recommend this restaurant, and I will definitely go again next time I'm in Stockholm

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Seriously overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Nice starters but overpriced: asparagus with very little fish roe. Mains without finesse: sweetbreads thickly coated with bread crumbs, deep fried and swimming in a kind of mayo, fish on overcooked pasta in marinara sauce, all overly salted. Depressing desserts. OK, they got a bib on the Michelin at some point some time ago and then what? They started to relax....
Not worth the price and any mention in Michelin totally misleading.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great find and well deserved bib gourmand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Found this in the Michelin Guide and within walking distance of our hotel. We walked in on a Monday and the place was full, so unfortunately a place at the bar instead of a table. No problem, it was immediately clear this was worth it.
The service was great and we were started off with a couple of beers and an intriguing menu. We decided on the specials instead as they sourced a calf and we chose the Vitello Tonnato with lovely veal and raw tuna, beautiful, followed by roasted veal with mince, roasted vegetables and an amazing jus.
The wine choices are tempting, but you'd struggle to find a wine under 500kr. The Italian we settled on was perfect for the occasion and we finished the bottle just in time to select a vintage port with our cheeses.

This was amazing and one of the best meals I have had In a long time. Hope I can go to Stockholm again soon!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rolfs Kok also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Rolfs Kok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rolfs Kok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.