We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsen

Prinsen
Mastersamuelsgatan 4, Stockholm, Sweden (Norrmalm)
08-611-13-31
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 2,283 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, Continental, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

One of the best Bouillabaisse and chateaubriand barneiase . Many restaurants wre close in July for renovations or vacations buet we found open this excellent restaurant . Good food and service .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    186
    51
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good quality Swedish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Service is OK. Food is very good and gives you a good idea of traditional swedish dishes. If you're only in Stockholm for one night, this would be a good restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Really nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A lovely dinner at this traditional Swedish restaurant, really great service and wine. I had a one course dinner here with fish which was really nice. Great ambience and atmosphere. Would definitely return! And the Danish waiter was brilliant, maybe because we understood each other.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious swedish meatballs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My daughter and I had dinner here our first night in Stockholm. We were looking for traditional Swedish meatballs and we found them here. Our dinner was delicious as we sat outside and enjoyed a beautiful evening café style. Our service was attentive, and the restaurant busy for a Monday evening. We enjoyed our traditional Swedish meal. When visiting relatives we mentioned we had been here, and they said it was a locals restaurant. We were happy our hotel recommended it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Tastiness off of the main drag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Second evening in Stockholm, question: Where do we eat tonight? We wandered off the main street, Birger Jarlsgatan, onto the side street, Master Samuelsgatan, to find this busy little restaurant, Prinsen. We asked for and got a table out on the patio, which may well have been the last available.

Our server was a pleasant young man who brought us the bottle of red Northern Spanish 2009 mas martinet priorat menut for an extortionate cost of SEK 685 (=US$101). I write 'extortionate' cost as the same wine is available in the USA for US $21. We later learned that there are less expensive wines, but also that if you simply ask for a glass or, in our case, two glasses of red wine, you get a generous glass of quite quaffable house wine for less than SEK 100 each. Four of those approximately are a litre, or a third more than a 750ml bottle!

My wife decided not to have a starter, but I chose the gazpacho, which was typically tomato-veggie flavourful and lightly spicy. As her main, my wife chose the grilled sea bass with mesclun salad and sundried tomatoes. The fish was delicate, fresh and tasty. My choice for main was steak tartare, which was flash grilled on each side, but was typically raw ground steak mostly, accompanied with roast beets, mustard, capers and onions, all in independent parts of a serving platter in order for the guest to select how much of each to choose for his or her preference. I asked for and got some Tabasco sauce to spice up the tartare.

All in all, it was a very good meal and we would thoroughly recommend Prinsen.

The cost, excluding wine, already mentioned, was: Gazpacho SEK 169; Sea Bass SEK 269; Steak Tartare SEK 245. We left a 10% tip on the total SEK 1438.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prinsen also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Prinsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.