We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience of outdoor dining.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berns Bistro & Bar

Berns Bistro & Bar
Berzelii Park, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden (Norrmalm)
+46856632515
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Berns Bistro & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #420 of 2,283 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $46
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Description: Berns French dining hall opened up in 1944 under a blue-white-red striped marquee in Berns's concert hall. Fernand Gitton, aided by his eight chefs, provided the high quality cuisine. Gitton was known from distinguished restaurants such as Hôtel George V in Paris and Hermitage in La Baule, Bretagne. Bistro Berns opened up autumn 2006, in line with the French tradition. The highly acclaimed bistro delivers high quality food, beverages and service. The pavillion is a natural meeting place throughout the day characterised by its uncomplicated atmosphere and situated in central Stockholm's Berzelii Park. Here they serve French homely cooking with inspiration from all of France. Their succinct wine list represents all of France's classical regions. Bienvenue!
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice experience of outdoor dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

To get a table in the summertime one probably needs to book in advance. The location is second to none. I was taken here by a Swedish friend who explained that the adjacent club has been landmark for Stockholm society over a century. The food and service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    58
    23
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“brassiere in a park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Away from the bustle and the marching band , we found berns by accident , a perfect treat to end our visit and how lovely to be able to get a table outside . the staff were maybe a little cool and disinterested [ rest of Stockholm service been 10 out 10 ] and they did struggle to translate the specials menu . I would say look around and have what the locals are eating , as I chose a white flat [ kings ] fish , simply grilled with capers and onions and it was a delight . My partners steak off the main menu was more disappointing and not of a quality reflected in the price . I would definitely recommend the chips with aioli . Yes the drinks are ridiculous , but this is prime location Stockholm . Just a tip for here and all lunch time dining , stockholmers eat very early lunch around 11.30 to 12 and they are sitting down to eat , so it gets a little quiet later on but then also the staff are busy clearing and preparing for the evening .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

having been to the bistro of Berns hotel we enjoyed a great diner in a charming/romantic environment. Nice place to sit/eat and enjoy an warm summer evening.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Top Contributor
668 reviews 668 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
564 helpful votes 564 helpful votes
“Very good food to reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were lcuky to get an outside table as we came in very early so we could enjoy the location in the small park just close to Strandvejen. Perfectly located and even though the main street is pretty close you hera not that much at all.

The food we had was very tasty, nothing too spectacular, but very well prepared. Both the lamb and the veal just fell off the bones and with just one portion of aioli fries we were more than full. The menu is not too big but gives enough choices. There are plenty of wine options but keep one thing in mind, this is Stockholm and so the prices are by no means low.

The waiter was friendly, he made a mistake but came up to confess and offered som coffee so in the end that was a good point.

All in all a very nice place to sit outside and have a very good meal for a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Yes, the weather was perfect and we could sit in the wonderful garden under sun shades. That may have helped...but we were there on two seperate occasions and I can honestly say that both times I was totally happy! The food (amongst us we tried 3 different dishes) were delicious and beautifully presented. One had the feeeling of dipping into the best of Swedish (food-) culture. Service was very good. The whole experience was extremely relaxed and enjoyable. I will definitely visit again on my next trip to Stockholm!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berns Bistro & Bar also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Berns Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berns Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.