We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip hotel, but let down by service and other niggles” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Sign to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Sign
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ostra Jarnvagsgatan 35, Stockholm 101 26, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% OFF Room rate
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hip hotel, but let down by service and other niggles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a hip hotel with a real buzz about in the bar area from the early evening. Food was good, and the internet dining table was a great idea, but service let the hotel down badly. Slow in the restaurnat/bar, slow at check in and reception, took ages to get through to the recption over the phone (and had an annoying habit of dropping the call after 30 seconds) and as I have already conveyed to the manager, the rooms are minimalist hip, but so minimal that they really must do something about the irons and ironing boards.

Room Tip: Take your own iron and ironing board!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello

Thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. I am truly sorry that you had to wait for service. I'm also so sorry for the problem with the phone during your stay with us.
We are very grateful for you pointing out what we could have done better. We value your feedback highly.
I understand you have already spoken to a manager. But if you would like you are much welcome to contact me and I would love to email a personal thank you and give you a more detailed answer about our improvements we have made since you stayed with us. nadia.fagerdin@choice.se

Thank you for your kind words about the food and the bar area, it is dearly appreciated.

I do hope to hear from you soon. I wish you a wonderful day

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    481
    197
    57
    23
See reviews for
165
330
53
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlskrona, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hotel is very nice located 250 m from Arlanda express in central station and close to tourist attractions. But honestly it was first time that I saw such huge difference in crew at reception. The ladies at reception are very helpful, kind and do all their best to help you. But OMG of the boys. At checkin the guy skipped welcome and directly jumped to payment, and shortly just gave the key and few sentence of breakfast time. Fine. But the day of checkout, the other guy asked me if I booked and paid with the same card and I didn't remember , when I was thinking" Mmm I hope so", he rudely repeated back : "you hope so?" !! Honestly, I never saw such a rude behavior in any hotel and I am afraid I never select clarion if they can not chose professional staff with respect. Oh forgot to tell that at breakfast the waiter took my plate in front of me without asking me if I finished( food still in plate) so I have to tell him I haven't finished yet. So don't sit and relax while you're having breakfast cause they are in hurry!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Lilly

Words can not express how sorry I am for the experience you had upon your stay. I have contacted both our front office manager and breakfast manager about this, so they can take

I would be most thankful to be in contact with you about this, I would very much like to giva a personal apology to you and your family. If you have the time I would be much grateful if you please would consider to email me: nadia.fagerdin@choice.se

Thank you for your kind words about our clean rooms and good location.

I truly hope to hear from you soon

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We arrived early but got into a room. It was the pokiest on our two week trip around Scandinavia, no reading lamps, no safe. View of a roof top and backs of apartments. Rooms poorly services - no towels on arrival, we had to keep asking for toiletries.

Walking from the station the ramp is at the far end of the hotel - clearly coach parties are priority over travellers from the station !

Reception staff were helpful, weather forecasts for the Mid summer festival proved accurate, as was good advice about where to celebrate.

Breakfast buffet good, the American theme bar made a pleasant area to eat in. Black toilet paper in the bar loo made a change but we don't think it will catch on !

Room Tip: Front and higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Amy

Thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. I am truly sorry for us not living up to expectation during your stay.
Thank you very much for pointing out for us what we could have done better. We appreciate it dearly, it helps us to take action and improve ourselves.

I'm very glad that you liked our breakfast and the food in the bar. Thank you for your kind words about the reception staff, I will make sure to pass them on to the staff.

I you would like you are much welcome to contact me about your stay. nadia.fagerdin@choice.se

I wish you a wonderful day

Warm Regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercorin
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very conveniently located: 200m from airport express train, 300m from main train station, has own underground parking, 15' walk from castle/old town. Reception staff is very efficient and stays friendly despite big tourbus groups (I wonder how they do this!). Rooms are not very big but efficiency-oriented. Shower is in bath-tub and one has to be careful not to splash too much on the floor. Bathroom and toilet share the same glass door with big hole to open. This means that you can enjoy the sights and sounds of your mate's bathroom routines. The architect who designed this arrangement definitely didn't use his brain or was high on something. The only way to have intimacy in the bathroom is to ask your mate to go talk a walk...
Breakfast is buffet style and on request, you can obtain espresso.
The hotel seems to be a favourite with tour operators so it can get very crowded in the breakfast room early in the morning and at check-in/check-out. We stayed 3 nights and tried to time our breakfast to avoid the big crowds but were unlucky any time we tried. Individual travellers were a rare species during our sojourn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. You can sleep with an open window and it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Eric

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are all very happy that you had a good stay with us.

I am very sorry you were given a room who have a glass door to the bathroom. I truly hope you will stay with us again, if so I would be very happy to be in contact with you via email. And I'll make sure you get a room with a wooden door instead. nadia.fagerdin@choice.se

The reception staff asked me to thank you for your very kind words about them. Thank you, it really made their day.

I do hope we will be in touch. I wish you a sunny day.

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Clarion Sign is a very short walk from the main railway station. It is clean with a very modern look and feel. The rooms are quite small, but clean and comfortable. I found it to be a bit noisy, even on the fifth floor. The lobby is a very busy place and they play rather loud music that is fun but starts to wear on you. Breakfast was included with a nice selection, although once again it was quite busy and a bit loud. Very convenient to downtown and surrounded by some nice architecture. I will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and write such detailed and good feedback. We value it very highly.
It makes us very happy to learn that you would consider to stay with us again. We hope you will be able to visit us soon.
If you would like to contact me, you are much welcome to do so: nadia.fagerdin@choice.se

Hope you are well

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

It's a great, modern and fresh venue, very spacious with friendly and helpful staff, especially at the reception and the American table. Pretty impressive are the lifts, with different music stile and a bit of "wow".
The clarion will be my first choice, when staying in Stockholm ever again. Love it!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Monika

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor!
It makes us very happy that you had an enjoyable experience and that Clarion Sign will be your first choice in Stockholm. We hope to have you as our guest here soon again.

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

When we visited Stockholm Sweden we stayed in the Clarion Hotel Sign. It's a OK hotel, it has small rooms, the room it's self was quiet but the Hotel is noisy! They play loud music and there are tons of people, tour groups that go in and out. Not enough seating for dinner - if you plan on eating at the hotel make a reservation and don't plan on eating there on the weekend, the restaurant is closed and you have to eat at the bar. Their breakfast is a typical Swedish breakfast which is ok, you will find something you like. They always have lots of different breads and the worst powered eggs I have ever eaten. Every place we stayed in Sweden had the same powered scrambled eggs and they were all terrible! On my next visit I plan on trying a different Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Dee M

I'm truly sorry to learn your experience with us could have been better. I'm also very sorry that the restaurant was closed during midsummer, I'm afraid it is a major holiday in Sweden.

If you have the time, I would truly appreciate to recive an email about your stay. If I may, I would love to give you an proper apology.
I do hope to hear from you.

I wish you a wonderful day

Warm Regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Address: Ostra Jarnvagsgatan 35, Stockholm 101 26, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#15 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#26 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Sign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.