We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, small, not for the business traveler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Sign to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Sign
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ostra Jarnvagsgatan 35, Stockholm 101 26, Sweden   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% OFF Room rate
Ranked #30 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Portland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Clean, small, not for the business traveler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Rooms are clean but. Not much room to work at small desk that doubles as iron board for table top sized iron board and small iron. Bed was comfortable. Window opened for fresh air, included breakfast was good but frenzied, there was always a queue at the lobby counter. Great proximity downtown, three minuted walk from Arlanda Airport Express. Endless food options in a 1-10 min walk. Easy to catch a taxi. Seems like a place for tourists not business.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback from you stay at Clarion Hotel Sign.

Great to read that you found the bed to be comfortable and that you found the room to be neat and clean!.

We apologize for the queues you experienced during your stay and this is something that we always try to minimize. During your stay there was acually a big schoolbreak in Sweden, "Höstlov" and during this time many familes stayed at the hotel.

During normal weeks, we both have business and leisure travellers at the hotel, during the weeks the majority are actually business travellers.
We do also have normal size ironing boards that you can use without having to use the desk to free up space. Next time ask the housekeeping and they will be happy to help you with this!

We hope to see you back at our hotel again in the near future.

Have a nice day!

Best Regards
Charlotte Andersson, Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    575
    238
    70
    29
See reviews for
204
427
64
479
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel very new and superior design. Fairly central, train station is at a walking distance. The staff is friendly and helpful.
The rooms are spacious and equipped with every comfort. The hotel has a beautiful SPA with outdoor terrace, but is not included in the hotel facilities. Huge and very diverse breakfast. Convenient Stockholm City Bikes parking spot just under the hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for the kind words and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Clarion Hotel Sign.

We hope to see you as a guest in our hotel in the near future.

Have a great day!

Best regards
Charlotte Andersson, Clarion Hotel Sígn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The rooms are clean and nice, but the design triumphed over common sense so there is little room for clothes.

The lobby and breakfast area are way overcrowded, but the staff is friendly.

We stayed in a "Superior Room", witch is way overpriced at this hotel (ie. nothing special, but still pricy).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feeback with regards to your stay at Clarion Hotel Sign,

Your comments will be taken under consideration for the future and we appreciate that you have taken your time to give us your feedback.

Have a nice day!

Best Regards
Charlotte Andersson, Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As said in previous reviews, the location near the City Centre attractions and with easy access to ARN airport is fabulous. Friendly check-in if crowded at times. Make sure you get a room that faces the square-the view is quite nice. When Sign was opened, it was hailed as a welcome youthful yet high quality addition to Stockholm´s rather staid upper end hotel scene. The rooms, each floor being based on furniture by different iconic Nordic designers, are nice, at least not too cluttered. Bring proper nightgowns though if visiting in autumn,winter or spring, especially the larger rooms can be chilly. I had to ask for a heating fan in order not to freeze in the night. The other criticism goes to room service who seemingly tried to poison me with thoroughly undercooked fish-avoid it!!! The restaurant, Marcus Samuelsson-branded American Table is quite nice, why can´t room service food hold the same standard???

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Norra Bantorget Square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

Nice to read that you experienced the check in as friendy
Happy to read that you like our restaurant American Table and we do apologize for the problems you had with the room service.

We hope to see you as a guest here in the hotel again and that you will give our room service a second chance.

Have a great day!

Best Regards
Charlotte Andersson, Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I loved almost everything about this lively hotel. It was clearly popular and the foyer and bar were frequently packed out with happy looking people!
My room was excellent, with great facilities and a fab view over a park / square. The breakfast in the restaurant was also wonderful, with a huge choice of lovely food. It was busy though and not easy to have a quiet breakfast! We had one evening meal, which was tasty, but not as expected - but we put this down to a lack of communication. (This was a conference meal and only one course arrived which we thought was a starter, but that was it...)
The lifts were great - what a fun idea to be able to sing and dance your way to your room! Also the staff were very helpful.
The main reason this doesn't have 5 stars is because when I arrived there was nowhere to get anything to eat! (Apart from v limited and expensive room service). I would have expected a huge hotel like this to have an all day restaurant or cafe.
I would definitely return though. Very nice!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the square in front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Marketing coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Clarion Hotel Sign and that you liked everyting from the themed elevators to the room you stayed in! We are also happy to hear that you would like to return to our hotel and we look forward to see you at your next visit!

With regards to your expecations on the all day restaurant service, we are sorry that we could not live up to your expectations and I will take this matter further to the manager in charge for this department.


Best Regards
Charlotte Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

You can't really fault the location of this hotel - you can pretty much roll off the airport train and through the front door, which is great.

Room was decorated OK, a bit sparse but that's fine - and it was really quiet which was brilliant, don't think I actually heard any noise at all, but then I was on a high floor and at the end of a corridor. I didn't really mind the window straight into the bathroom or that the door was a frosted pane with no frame, so no soundproofing as I was by myself - but if I had someone with me, particularly if it was a friend not partner, I might feel very differently about it!

I think my main problem with this hotel was the volume of people - firstly when checking in, which took quite a while. But in general every time I went in or out, I had to fight my way across the lobby and queue for lifts (though the lifts are great and I really liked the themes!). Once in particular I guess a coach trip had just arrived, but the lobby wasn't actually big enough to fit everyone in, and it took me a fair few minutes and a lot of "excuse me! Sorry!" and squeezing through to get the not many metres to the front door. Breakfast was an absolute scrum both mornings I had it - the cooked food really wasn't very good either, but mostly again you had to search around the dining room for a free table, then either leave a jacket on to hold it - first day I tried this and by the time I'd picked up juice and coffee (I think it was the worst coffee I'd ever had in Stockholm), someone was sitting on it anyway, or wander about waiting with a plate for someone to vacate.

Possibly because I was on a quick business trip with almost no time at the hotel and was really busy, but I would stay somewhere with a bit more peace and quiet next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay at Clarion Hotel Sign. We always strive for customer satisfaction and your feedback has been forwarded to the head of departments and been taken under consideration for future improvements.

We would like to wish you a lovely evening.

Best Regards
Charlotte Andersson, Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here at a friend in september 2013. We'd heard that it was a barscene at the ground floor but we we were not expecting that kind of a crowd checking in Friday late afternoon. The rooms were Nice and the location of the hotel is great. The breakfast felt crowdy and a bit messy and dirty actually since there was a lot of People and different Places to get Your Food. The Food was great though. When we checked in we registered an open bottel of beer in the mini-bar - that's not good. We also told them to get more soap for the shower since it was empty - that never happened - were they too busy?!?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi,

thank you for you review of Clarion Hotel Sign. I will take your opinion with me to each department manager to make our service at the hotel even better.

We hope to see you as a guest of the hotel soon again and we wish you a nice day!

Best regards,
Charlotte Andersson, Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Address: Ostra Jarnvagsgatan 35, Stockholm 101 26, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Sign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.