We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, inattentive staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandhamn Yacht Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stockholm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandhamn Yacht Hotel
Sandhamn | Sandhamn, Stockholm SE 130 39, Sweden (Formerly Seglarhotellet i Sandhamn AB) (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, inattentive staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Me and my girlfriend went there for a night to try the spa. The food was alright and the room was ok though the ventilation whined a bit. Spa felt a little "cheap", water was a bit too cold and felt like any ordinary indoor swimming pool. They charged around 65 SEK for a bottle of beer. Even though you've paid for it all they made you rent a bath robe for 50. You needed a ten kronor coin to lock the closet in the changing room. Why would you want to bring your wallet down to the spa? The staff was generally not that attentive either I have to say, and I don't regard myself as high maintenance kind of customer. Lots of tiny details like that made us put off.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    16
    13
    10
See reviews for
13
24
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We booked 2 nights in one of the apartments as a mini-break whilst visiting some friends in Stockholm. Then we read the previous reviews of the hotel and were concerned whether we had made the right choice!

All our worries were unfounded. The hotel is in a perfect location in Sandhamn, just a few minutes walk from the ferry and right on the waterfront. We found the staff to be very friendly and efficient. The apartment was basic but very clean and comfortable. The restaurant was superb and the facilities in the hotel very good, especially the indoor pool.

We were visiting outside of the peak summer period and we didn't experience the rooms in the main hotel building, but we didn't encounter any of the problems mentioned by other reviewers. I understand from our Swedish friends that the hotel has recently changed ownership and been improved so possibly some of the issues have been addressed.

It is expensive, but then so are most things in Sweden. Sandhamn is well worth a visit and we would definately recommend the Seglarhotell.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Went with my wife to Sandhamn had booked 1 night in a suite at a price level higher than downtown London. At time of booking we also reserved a window table in the restaurant and I called the hotel twice before our arrival to ensure that table in the restaurant and they confirmed.
Once arriving to the hotel we had to wait until 4 pm before the room was ready and once in the restaurant there was no table reservation at all and the staff could not have cared less. Needless to say the quality of the breakfast buffet was a disaster…
Overall this is one of my worst hotel experiences when it comes to staff attitude, value for money, cleanliness of facilities and overall quality...stay away..This is a complete rip off.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The first thing that met us when entering this hotel was the smell of old beer and a faint smell of cigarettes and we soon realised this smell (of old drunk) was going to follow us all over the place (except in the rooms). For a 4-star hotel the room was very very simple. No mini-bar. Only soap available was in a bottle on the wall in the shower which smelled of sewage. The room was extremely stuffy, warm and there was no ventilation at all. We asked in the reception and they said the hotel had no air conditioning but it seemed like it had no ventilation at all. I woke up soaked from the humidity and heat in the room. And the walls are paper thin and everytime someone closed their door (even on other floors) it made a loud bang and the bed shook!!! You could hear every word that was spoken outside the room.
The staff didn't seem to care very much about the guests. And they had no idea what was included for conference guests.
The food in the restaurant was very tasty at all times. And the treatment in the spa was great. But the pool area felt dirty and smelly as the rest of the common spaces in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

The Stockholm archipelago is an absolute marvel anytime but... We were invited by friends to celebrate my aniversary. The "ads" had been massive. It started at the reception, my friend, who payed the bill found that nothing with the booking was according to what they agreed beforhand, wrong rooms, not cleaned etc at 1600 hours ?
The much talked about spa was wellinhabited to say the least, people everywhere, i.e. no place for relaxing at all. You had to rent bathrobes !
One thing, though: The food and service in the restaurant, including the winelist was top notch.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed in the hotel as a nice and relaxing start to a stag party. We were only 4 persons as we were meeting the rest of the participants the day after in central Stockholm. The plan was to use the spa, have a nice dinner and get to bed reasonably early as we were getting up at 6 to take the first boat out the morning after.

Let's just say that the staff in general are very nonchalant. There is an overall lack of service and attention as they are getting by very well as a party centre in the summertime and I guess as a conference resort in the wintertime. There is no lack of guests which might explain why they simply don't care about you.

The bad things dominated but there were good things such as the food and spa area.
Our bad experience started at dinner where my friend getting married had to wear a silly mask while we waited, in line outside of the restaurant, for our table (which took 20 min in a less than half full restaurant). The idea was to have him remove the mask when we sat down. The maitre d' ended up commenting on it but instead of asking us to remove it he made several remarks in a very arrogant way. Naturally, we removed the mask when we sat down but I had a word with him telling him that there are both good and bad ways to handle something like that. He didn't say he was sorry but simply tried to stare me down and when I didn't budge he said that he would "make a mental note of that" for the future. I know for a fact that people regularly have stag parties there so they should have some sort of experience of it. In this case we were much calmer than the tables next to us as we wanted a nice start to the weekend with only the closest friends.

We all had one beer each for dinner and was asked by a very rude waitress if we wanted a refill. All of us declined and asked for a shot for my friend before paying the bill. The waitress tried to pretend she didn't hear me two times but when I asked her what the problem was she said that "she" normally don't service shots for dinner. We questioned that remarkable comment and then ended up getting a range of strange replies such as one of you has had too much to drink (not the case but still why offer us 4 new beers then), there is more alcohol in one shot than 4 large beers etc. She also left in the middle of our conversation two times and gave some lame explanation about misunderstanding. We went to the reception and asked for the person in charge which ended up being the person responsible for the kitchen. Not surprisingly he wasn't interested in talking to us. The reception staff then said that someone in charge would meet us in the reception early the morning after to clear things up. Of course no one was there, only the same staff as the night before. Then they said that someone was going to contact us the same day but naturally no one did.

I travel around 2-3 days a week in my line of work and very often stay at hotels. I have never met the type of arrogance and nonchalance that I did at Seglarhotellet. When you are working in a service profession the client should always be treated with respect. It is so easy to just say you are sorry and offer a complimentary breakfast or coffee instead of arguing with your customers, being extremely rude, ignoring them, promising to contact them but not doing it etc. Really a disgrace.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
512 helpful votes 512 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Spent three nights in the end of August att his hotel. Sandhamn is the hub for sailing and boat life in the Stockholm archipelago but in the end of August it is much more quiet there as the boat season is ending. The hotel crowd conists of couples for extended weekends and conference groups.
The hotel is ok but not more. 4 star? Hardly. The rooms are quite small, most have no minibar or safe, the beds are very soft.
There were plenty of staff when we where there but somehow the logistic seemed to be failing: ex: We had four waiters that served us dinner one evening but had to wait for ages for the dishes, we used a separate entrance as we travelled with our dog. Very incoherent if someone answered the door bell and let us in, the room was one day cleaned at 4 pm and another day at 10.00,
T he SPA area seldom had someone working there during the three days we visited the facilities. The SPA area is also used by day guests from sailboats in the port and it can become very lively with a lot of children playing there. That ment that none saw if towels were missing, if the changing rooms needed cleaning ( they often did).
But to be fair there were also here and there staff that where very friendly and enthusiastic when you you had the luck to meet them.
The dining area is very charming and the maritime setting is magnificant. the food is quite pricy so look for weekend packages where meals are included.
A big plus for a dog owner is that Seglarhotellet is a pet friendly hotel.
The nature is just around the corner and it is an experience to explore the archipelago and although this hotel not is fantastic there are not so many other options in Sandhamn and especially if you want to go off season,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sandhamn Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandhamn Yacht Hotel

Address: Sandhamn | Sandhamn, Stockholm SE 130 39, Sweden (Formerly Seglarhotellet i Sandhamn AB)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stockholm
Also Known As:
Seglarhotellet i Sandhamn Ab Hotel Stockholm
Seglarhotellet i Sandhamn Ab Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandhamn Yacht Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Sandhamn Yacht Hotel to your Saves list