We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HTL is a chic and cheap place to stay in Stockholm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HTL Kungsgatan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HTL Kungsgatan to your Saves list
HTL Kungsgatan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kungsgatan 53, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HTL is a chic and cheap place to stay in Stockholm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for two nights while in Stockholm. It was the perfect hotel. The location is right off Drottninggaten- the main shopping street in Stockholm. Beyond Vintage and il cafe are on this street and just five minutes away. There is also a cinema that is close by.

The one factor that I am always looking for in a hotel is cleanliness. This place was spotless. The room was pretty small, fitting a queen size bed, but that was just about all we needed.

Even though things are compact, the shower is huge compared to some other hotels I've been in. Water pressure is good. There is shampoo, shower gel, and hand soap in the room. A pretty decent hair dryer is also provided.

There is a tv in the room with something very similar to chrome cast set up. We had the Netflix app on one of our phones and watched a movie from that one of the nights. The quality was excellent, it felt like we were watching off of HBO. There is also basic cable, with channels in Swedish and in English.

The bar was very nice, with friendly and helpful bartenders. The bar food was truly tasty- must try the chicken spring rolls!

The last thing worth mentioning about HTL is the front desk. When you check in, it is through a computer and you can do it yourself. So if you do not like human interaction or are perfectly capable of carrying out this small task alone, you can go ahead and do that. However, if the employee on duty sees that you are having some confusion, they are there instantly to help. Maybe we were really lucky, but all of the employees that were working that week were just amazing. They provided great advice about the area and where to go. And they recognize you every time you walk in and go out and greet you with a smile.

I highly recommend staying at HTL while in Stockholm. It is clean, cool, and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    167
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
208
31
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have stayed in lots of hotels in Stockholm and this was one of the best. Nicely designed, late check out and clean, cool and contemporary feel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and this was really appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great concept for city trips. Small rooms but modern and clean and Wifi. New idea for breakfast. The bar is always a place to meet. Direct located to the city centre, most attractions in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Booked because hotel is brand new, stayed twice 2 nights within 5 weeks of each other. First time we had a nice reasonable size room on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard, it was drizzly so not many people in the bar which made it nice and quiet. Second time we got a tiny room with a very low ceiling on the 3rd floor, this room was also quiet but would have been better as a sgl room. And what about that blue light, it is sooooooooooooooo bright.... Breakfast was limited but very good and fresh. Staff are great, all smiling and friendly. Over all the hotel was very very clean and of course the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms towards Kungsgatan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Pros: I've been traveling for over two months straight now, staying in a variety of hotels. This is the best place I've been to yet. It's very clean. Very quiet. Centrally located. Faster wifi than in my own home. Super friendly staff. Great outdoor lounge and bar. Great indoor lounge. Easy check in. Close to middle of the city and close to everything.

Negatives: room lacks a dining table, but there's plenty of space in the lobby lounge to sit and eat.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

After traveling through Australia and even some hotels in Africa, HTL Kungsgatan is a much needed reintroduction to civilization. The location was easy to find and central. No concerns of safety here and it's within walking distance to Drottninggatan St where you can shop to your heart's content. Also, it's close to Central Terminal where Flygbussarna's drop off location is. Our room wasn't ready for us, so they upgraded our room to a larger one with a window. The room smelled like Ikea...and is every bit as well thought out. The singular furnishing in the room was the bed unit with built in end tables and storage. Knobs around the room allow you to hang your clothing. I really enjoyed the simple efficiency of it all. The shower has strong pressure and ready hot water. However, it is not separated from the toilet area, so you're probably going to get the entire bathroom wet when you shower. Beds are incredibly comfortable and WiFi is strong enough to easily stream videos. I highly recommend staying here for anyone who does require luxury.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at HTL Stockholm. It's located right in the centre and the rooms and hotel are absolutely well designed and clean. Our next stays in Stockholm will always be at HTL from now on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HTL Kungsgatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HTL Kungsgatan

Address: Kungsgatan 53, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HTL Kungsgatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HTL Kungsgatan is the smart and affordable option compared to traditional hotels in Stockholm. HTL gives you a boutique hotel experience at an affordable price. Our rooms are filled with quality and smartness. By paying attention to every detail, we pack lots of quality into our rooms. This means you pay less for a great experience. If you want to wake up with some extra cash book HTL Sleeper Room without window. The vibe at HTL is always fun, and always inclusive, never snobbish. There's so much to see and do nearby HTL Kungsgatan, including the best shopping, dining, and nightclubbing in Stockholm. You're welcome to check into your room from 2 PM. If you need to arrive early, our lounge offers breakfast and lunch, coffee, drinks, and a nice place to relax or work. It's all waiting for you at HTL Kungsgatan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your HTL Kungsgatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HTL Kungsgatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.