We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but extremely noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Archipelago Hostel Old Town

Save Saved
You added Archipelago Hostel Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Archipelago Hostel Old Town
Stora Nygatan 38, Stockholm 11128, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good location but extremely noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here four years ago and it was fine - there was a bit of noise but nothing untoward (probably as it was a quiet time of year). Returned in early August this year and checked out after one sleepless night. The rooms all face an Irish bar which is extremely loud - there was a concert until nearly one in the morning and continuing noise after that. The hostel itself is absolutely fine but something needs to be done about the noise at night from the bars around. It's a real shame These bars spoil the area and the atmosphere of a beautiful part of Stockholm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    5
    9
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
18
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

One of the best options to stay in Stockholm on a low budget! The hostel is small and it makes the atmosphere of the place. I had a dormitory with four beds. It was large enough to move. There were some chairs inside, as well as a mirror and hangs on a wall. You may use Internet for free in the hostel and there is also a kitchen for everyone - with a fridge and some pans to be used. Toilets and showers are outside the room.

Breakfast is not included and you need to pay extra for linen and towels (like in most hostels in the world). However, you may also pay by credit card.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is the first time I've stayed in a hostel and I thought it was a great place, I was there with myself and two other friends in a four bed dorm; the fourth bed was used by two people on different nights both of whom were friendly.

During our four night stay we paid around £100 each (slightly under I think) including the rental of sheets, I'm not sure if you're allowed to bring your own sheets or not but they didn't cost to much to rent. They are rented on a per visit stay rather than per night.

One of the recent posters said there were bed bugs but there were none in our room (room 10) and we heard no one complaining about them. The beds were very comfortable, much nicer than I expected and the rooms were nice and warm. I would say that that they don't have very big lockers but the room doors do have locks on them and we had no problems.

There seemed to be only one communal area which was the kitchen, which was a fair size although the cooking area wasn't that big and the seating area was not big enough to accommodate many of the people staying there. However we never really saw anyone in there except when they were warming meals up.

The staff were quite friendly and knowledge able about the area but I think the office hours were only 15:00 to 18:00 or something like that, I guess that's how the keep the costs down at such a great place.

Can't say much bad about it as it's in a nice location and if I visited that part of Stockholm again I'd certainly stay there.

Room Tip: Room 10 seemed good and had a window, although I'm sure the others are fine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

After being forced to try and cut down my travel budget , I've decided to try and book hostels instead of hotels. I must say I booked a single room ( shared bathroom ) and it was perfectly ok for my needs.

Pros

Cost ( approx £60 pn )
Very clean ( including shared showers / toilets )
Location - in the middle of gamla stan
Helpful staff


Cons

Check in at 3pm ( bit of a pain when you arrive on an early morning flight !!! )


Sheets & towels are extra ( surely if you book a private room they should include sheets !!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We found 2 bed bugs in our room (9) the morning of 10/15/11 and one of the travelers in our party is covered in bites. Be careful if you're staying here! We let the manager know but she was not responsive and first accused us of lying and then accused us of bringing them. We have never seen a bed bug in our lives.

Otherwise -- rooms are small and rather dingy. Showers are clean though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archipelago13, Owner at Archipelago Hostel Old Town, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
We have owned the hostel for 5 years and it has been around for 8 years
We have never had this problem

The day when you were checking out we found you in the stairwell and packed your bags, but none of you said something to us.
We asked several times why you were on the stairs because we thought it was strange (if we had not insisted, had you gone without and say something to us?so that other guests had been suffering) All you wanted was to hurry away
It was shocking and terrible, we would never be so unprofessional and say that a guest is lying

We asked three questions for you

1. If it was true
2. If you had been bitten
3. If you had been in another hostel before you came to us

These questions are normal because we care about our hostel, guests and our reputation

You stayed in the room in two days. We contacted those who lived in the room before you (they stay for 3 days) and they have not noticed anything

The question is rather who infested the room?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Me and my friends have enjoyed staying a night in this wonderful cosy hostel right in the middle of Old town in Stockholm. The bathroom was as clean as my own!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed in a private room at Archipelago. The price included free internet which was a bit off and on and there was a tv in the room with cable. The location was great on Gamla Stan, close to the metro and buses. A short walk to shops, cafes and restaurants. The staff were really friendly and made us feel welcome. The kitchen facilities were great but the kitchen is small so it was really hard to cook as there were lots of other guests. Our room had a great view of the streets below and was quite large. There are a few bars/hotels below so it was a bit noisy on the weekend, nothing major though. Would recommend Archipelago!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Archipelago Hostel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archipelago Hostel Old Town

Address: Stora Nygatan 38, Stockholm 11128, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 Specialty lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archipelago Hostel Old Town Stockholm is the ultimate place to stay during your visit in Stockholm. Most of the historical sites and attraction are within walking distance like Royal Palace, the Nobel Museum, the City Hall and the ferry to Djurgården/Skansen. Free Internet. Free wireless in all rooms. Free Stockholm MapGuest kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Archipelago Hostel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archipelago Hostel Old Town Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archipelago Hostel Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.